Boy Alone: A Brother's Memoir

3.72 avg rating
( 390 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061136672: Boy Alone: A Brother's Memoir

“Extraordinary... Greenfeld details what it is like to grow up next to a ‘beautiful’ boy with whom he can never play and never connect and who never returns his love, but who, nonetheless, is the most important fact of his life.”
— Michael Thompson, Ph.D., co-author of Raising Cain

“Beautiful and powerful .... A masterpiece of literature and memory.”
— Walter Isaacson, author of Einstein: His Life and Universe

“Gripping.”
Washington Post

A WASHINGTON POST BOOK WORLD BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR

In this literary tour de force, Karl Taro Greenfield, the acclaimed journalist and author of China Syndrome, tells the story of his life growing up with his brother, chronicling the hopes, dreams, and realities of life with an autistic sibling. Fans of Joan Didion’s The Year of Magical Thinking and David Sheff’s Beautiful Boy will find many poignant, moving moments in Boy Alone.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

Karl Taro Greenfeld knew from an early age that his little brother, Noah, was not like other children. He was unable to communicate verbally or tie his shoes, and despite his angelic demeanor was prone to violent outbursts. No doctor, social worker, or specialist could pinpoint what was wrong with Noah beyond a general diagnosis: autism. The boys' parents dedicated their lives to caring for their younger son—a challenging, often painful experience that their father detailed in a bestselling trilogy of books.

Boy Alone is Karl Taro Greenfeld's unforgettable memoir of growing up in Noah's shadow, revealing the complex mix of rage, confusion, and love that defined the author's childhood—a beautiful, haunting, and wholly original exploration of what it means to be a family, a brother, a person.

About the Author:

Karl Taro Greenfeld is the author of seven previous books, including the novel Triburbia and the acclaimed memoir Boy Alone. His award-winning writing has appeared in Harper's Magazine, The Atlantic, The Paris Review, Best American Short Stories 2009 and 2013, and The PEN/O. Henry Prize Stories 2012. Born in Kobe, Japan, he has lived in Paris, Hong Kong, and Tokyo, and currently lives in Pacific Palisades, California, with his wife, Silka, and their daughters, Esmee and Lola.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Greenfeld, Karl Taro
Published by Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0061136670 ISBN 13: 9780061136672
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0061136670. Bookseller Inventory # Z0061136670ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.87
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Greenfeld, Karl Taro
Published by Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0061136670 ISBN 13: 9780061136672
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Vital Products COM LLC
(southampton, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0061136670. Bookseller Inventory # Z0061136670ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.87
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Greenfeld, Karl Taro
Published by Harper Perennial 2010-04-27 (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061136670 ISBN 13: 9780061136672
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Ebooksweb COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial 2010-04-27, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 1. 0061136670. Bookseller Inventory # Z0061136670ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Greenfeld, Karl Taro
Published by Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0061136670 ISBN 13: 9780061136672
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0061136670. Bookseller Inventory # Z0061136670ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Greenfeld, Karl Taro
Published by Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0061136670 ISBN 13: 9780061136672
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0061136670. Bookseller Inventory # Z0061136670ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.51
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Greenfeld, Karl Taro
Published by Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0061136670 ISBN 13: 9780061136672
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0061136670. Bookseller Inventory # Z0061136670ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.51
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Karl Taro Greenfeld
ISBN 10: 0061136670 ISBN 13: 9780061136672
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800611366720000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Karl Taro Greenfeld
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061136670 ISBN 13: 9780061136672
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Extraordinary. Greenfeld details what it is like to grow up next to a `beautiful boy with whom he can never play and never connect and who never returns his love, but who, nonetheless, is the most important fact of his life. - Michael Thompson, Ph.D., co-author of Raising Cain Beautiful and powerful . A masterpiece of literature and memory. - Walter Isaacson, author of Einstein: His Life and Universe Gripping. - Washington Post A WASHINGTON POST BOOK WORLD BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR In this literary tour de force, Karl Taro Greenfield, the acclaimed journalist and author of China Syndrome, tells the story of his life growing up with his brother, chronicling the hopes, dreams, and realities of life with an autistic sibling. Fans of Joan Didion s The Year of Magical Thinking and David Sheff s Beautiful Boy will find many poignant, moving moments in Boy Alone. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780061136672

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Greenfeld, Karl Taro
ISBN 10: 0061136670 ISBN 13: 9780061136672
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2010. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780061136672

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.05
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Karl Taro Greenfeld
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061136670 ISBN 13: 9780061136672
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Extraordinary. Greenfeld details what it is like to grow up next to a `beautiful boy with whom he can never play and never connect and who never returns his love, but who, nonetheless, is the most important fact of his life. - Michael Thompson, Ph.D., co-author of Raising Cain Beautiful and powerful . A masterpiece of literature and memory. - Walter Isaacson, author of Einstein: His Life and Universe Gripping. - Washington Post A WASHINGTON POST BOOK WORLD BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR In this literary tour de force, Karl Taro Greenfield, the acclaimed journalist and author of China Syndrome, tells the story of his life growing up with his brother, chronicling the hopes, dreams, and realities of life with an autistic sibling. Fans of Joan Didion s The Year of Magical Thinking and David Sheff s Beautiful Boy will find many poignant, moving moments in Boy Alone. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780061136672

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book