Boy Alone: A Brother's Memoir

3.7 avg rating
( 382 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780061136672: Boy Alone: A Brother's Memoir

“Extraordinary… Greenfeld details what it is like to grow up next to a ‘beautiful’ boy with whom he can never play and never connect and who never returns his love, but who, nonetheless, is the most important fact of his life.”
— Michael Thompson, Ph.D., co-author of Raising Cain

“Beautiful and powerful …. A masterpiece of literature and memory.”
— Walter Isaacson, author of Einstein: His Life and Universe

“Gripping.”
Washington Post

A WASHINGTON POST BOOK WORLD BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR

In this literary tour de force, Karl Taro Greenfield, the acclaimed journalist and author of China Syndrome, tells the story of his life growing up with his brother, chronicling the hopes, dreams, and realities of life with an autistic sibling. Fans of Joan Didion’s The Year of Magical Thinking and David Sheff’s Beautiful Boy will find many poignant, moving moments in Boy Alone.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

“Gripping.” (Suki Casanave, Washington Post)

From the Back Cover:

Karl Taro Greenfeld knew from an early age that his little brother, Noah, was not like other children. He was unable to communicate verbally or tie his shoes, and despite his angelic demeanor was prone to violent outbursts. No doctor, social worker, or specialist could pinpoint what was wrong with Noah beyond a general diagnosis: autism. The boys' parents dedicated their lives to caring for their younger son—a challenging, often painful experience that their father detailed in a bestselling trilogy of books.

Boy Alone is Karl Taro Greenfeld's unforgettable memoir of growing up in Noah's shadow, revealing the complex mix of rage, confusion, and love that defined the author's childhood—a beautiful, haunting, and wholly original exploration of what it means to be a family, a brother, a person.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Greenfeld, Karl Taro
ISBN 10: 0061136670 ISBN 13: 9780061136672
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800611366720000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.06
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Karl Taro Greenfeld
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061136670 ISBN 13: 9780061136672
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, 2010. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780061136672

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.80
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Karl Taro Greenfeld
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061136670 ISBN 13: 9780061136672
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 198 x 132 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Karl Taro Greenfeld knew from an early age that his little brother, Noah, was not like other children. He couldn t crawl, and he had trouble making eye contact or interacting with his family. As Noah grew older, his differences became even more pronounced-he was unable to communicate verbally, use the toilet, or tie his shoes, and despite his angelic demeanor, he often had violent outbursts. No doctor, social worker, or specialist could pinpoint what was wrong with Noah beyond a general diagnosis: autism. The boys parents, Josh and Foumi, dedicated their lives to caring for their younger son with myriad approaches-a challenging, often painful experience that the devoted father detailed in a bestselling trilogy of books. Now, for the first time, acclaimed journalist Karl Taro Greenfeld speaks out about growing up in the shadow of his autistic brother, revealing the complex mix of rage, confusion, and love that defined his childhood. Boy Alone is his brutally honest memoir of the hopes, dreams, and realities of life with a mentally disabled sibling. Seamlessly weaving together the social history of autism and autism research - as the Greenfelds lived through it in seeking treatment for Noah - with the deeply affecting story of two very different boys growing up side by side, this book raises crucial philosophical questions: Can relationships exist without language? How should aging parents care for a nonverbal, violent child, and then a grown man who is not self-sufficient? Is there anything that can be done to help an extremely autistic child or adult become a member of mainstream society? Haunting, tragic, and unforgettable, this chronicle of autism is a beautiful, wholly original exploration of what it means to be a family, a brother, and a person. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780061136672

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Karl Taro Greenfeld
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061136670 ISBN 13: 9780061136672
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 198 x 132 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Karl Taro Greenfeld knew from an early age that his little brother, Noah, was not like other children. He couldn t crawl, and he had trouble making eye contact or interacting with his family. As Noah grew older, his differences became even more pronounced-he was unable to communicate verbally, use the toilet, or tie his shoes, and despite his angelic demeanor, he often had violent outbursts. No doctor, social worker, or specialist could pinpoint what was wrong with Noah beyond a general diagnosis: autism. The boys parents, Josh and Foumi, dedicated their lives to caring for their younger son with myriad approaches-a challenging, often painful experience that the devoted father detailed in a bestselling trilogy of books. Now, for the first time, acclaimed journalist Karl Taro Greenfeld speaks out about growing up in the shadow of his autistic brother, revealing the complex mix of rage, confusion, and love that defined his childhood. Boy Alone is his brutally honest memoir of the hopes, dreams, and realities of life with a mentally disabled sibling. Seamlessly weaving together the social history of autism and autism research - as the Greenfelds lived through it in seeking treatment for Noah - with the deeply affecting story of two very different boys growing up side by side, this book raises crucial philosophical questions: Can relationships exist without language? How should aging parents care for a nonverbal, violent child, and then a grown man who is not self-sufficient? Is there anything that can be done to help an extremely autistic child or adult become a member of mainstream society? Haunting, tragic, and unforgettable, this chronicle of autism is a beautiful, wholly original exploration of what it means to be a family, a brother, and a person. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780061136672

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.69
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Greenfeld, Karl Taro
ISBN 10: 0061136670 ISBN 13: 9780061136672
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatched within 2 working days from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-ING-00277407

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.29
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.49
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Karl Taro Greenfeld
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc 2010-05-15, New York (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061136670 ISBN 13: 9780061136672
New paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc 2010-05-15, New York, 2010. paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780061136672

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Greenfeld, Karl Taro
Published by Harper Perennial 2010-04-27 (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061136670 ISBN 13: 9780061136672
New Paperback Quantity Available: 6
Seller
Ebooksweb COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial 2010-04-27, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 1. 0061136670. Bookseller Inventory # Z0061136670ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.77
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Greenfeld, Karl Taro
Published by Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0061136670 ISBN 13: 9780061136672
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0061136670. Bookseller Inventory # Z0061136670ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.77
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Greenfeld, Karl Taro
Published by Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0061136670 ISBN 13: 9780061136672
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0061136670. Bookseller Inventory # Z0061136670ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.77
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

GREENFELD K T
Published by HCP US (PG UK) (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061136670 ISBN 13: 9780061136672
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Herb Tandree Philosophy Books
(Stroud, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HCP US (PG UK), 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: NEW. 9780061136672 This listing is a new book, a title currently in-print which we order directly and immediately from the publisher. Bookseller Inventory # HTANDREE0980057

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.75
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book