River Town: Two Years on the Yangtze

4.18 avg rating
( 8,514 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780060953744: River Town: Two Years on the Yangtze

When Peter Hessler went to China in the late 1990s, he expected to spend a couple of peaceful years teaching English in the town of Fuling on the Yangtze River. But what he experienced -- the natural beauty, cultural tension, and complex process of understanding that takes place when one is thrust into a radically different society -- surpassed anything he could have imagined. Hessler observes firsthand how major events such as the death of Deng Xiaoping, the return of Hong Kong to the mainland, and the controversial construction of the Three Gorges Dam have affected even the people of a remote town like Fuling.

Poignant, thoughtful and utterly compelling, 'River Town' is an unforgettable portrait of a place caught mid-river in time, much like China itself -- a country seeking to understand both what it was and what it will one day become.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

I wish it were twice as long...I am not the only China-watcher who will wish they had written this book ( Jonathan Mirsky)

Book Description:

An account of Peter Hessler's time in the town of Fuling on the Yangtze River during the late Nineties. He observes the natural beauty, cultural tensions and how major events such as the return of Hong Kong to the mainland have affected the people of Fuling.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Hessler, Peter
Published by Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0060953748 ISBN 13: 9780060953744
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Orion Tech
(Grand Prairie, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0060953748 . Bookseller Inventory # GHT5445ABAC081116H0013P

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
1.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.38
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Hessler, Peter
ISBN 10: 0060953748 ISBN 13: 9780060953744
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800609537441.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.18
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.22
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Hessler, Peter
Published by Harper Perennial (2002)
ISBN 10: 0060953748 ISBN 13: 9780060953744
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial, 2002. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: In the tradition of "Iron & Silk" comes a powerful memoir about a young American teacher in the Peace Corps living in the small Chinese city of Fuling as it navigates increasing waves of cultural and social upheaval. Maps. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0060953748

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Hessler, Peter
Published by Harper Perennial (2001)
ISBN 10: 0060953748 ISBN 13: 9780060953744
New Paperback First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial, 2001. Paperback. Book Condition: New. First Edition. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0060953748

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.10
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.22
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Hessler, Peter
ISBN 10: 0060953748 ISBN 13: 9780060953744
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
AMAZINGBOOKDEALS
(IRVING, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: BRAND NEW. BRAND NEW. Fast Shipping. Prompt Customer Service. Satisfaction guaranteed. Bookseller Inventory # 0060953748BNA

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.22
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Hessler, Peter
Published by Harper Perennial (2002)
ISBN 10: 0060953748 ISBN 13: 9780060953744
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial, 2002. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0060953748

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
17.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Hessler, Peter
Published by Harper Perennial (2002)
ISBN 10: 0060953748 ISBN 13: 9780060953744
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial, 2002. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110060953748

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
33.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.42
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds