Stardust

4.07 avg rating
( 275,026 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780060934712: Stardust

In the tranquil fields and meadows of long-ago England, there is a small hamlet that has stood on a jut of granite for 600 years. Just to the east stands a high stone wall, for which the village is named. Here, in the hamlet of Wall, young Tristran Thorn has lost his heart to the hauntingly beautiful Victoria Forester. And here, one crisp October eve, Tristran makes his love a promise -- an impetuous vow that will send him through the only breach in the wall, across the pasture...and into the most exhilarating adventure of his life.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Stardust is an utterly charming fairy tale in the tradition of The Princess Bride and The Neverending Story. Neil Gaiman, creator of the darkly elegant Sandman comics and author of The Day I Swapped My Dad for Two Goldfish, tells the story of young Tristran Thorn and his adventures in the land of Faerie. One fateful night, Tristran promises his beloved that he will retrieve a fallen star for her from beyond the Wall that stands between their rural English town (called, appropriately, Wall) and the Faerie realm. No one ever ventures beyond the Wall except to attend an enchanted flea market that is held every nine years (and during which, unbeknownst to him, Tristran was conceived). But Tristran bravely sets out to fetch the fallen star and thus win the hand of his love. His adventures in the magical land will keep you turning pages as fast as you can--he and the star escape evil old witches, deadly clutching trees, goblin press-gangs, and the scheming sons of the dead Lord of Stormhold. The story is by turns thrillingly scary and very funny. You'll love goofy, earnest Tristran and the talking animals, gnomes, magic trees, and other irresistible denizens of Faerie that he encounters in his travels. Stardust is a perfect read-aloud book, a brand-new fairy tale you'll want to share with a kid, or maybe hoard for yourself. (If you read it to kids, watch out for a couple of spicy sex bits and one epithet.) --Therese Littleton

From the Publisher:

American Library Award Winner
Mythopoeic Award Winner
World Fantasy Award Winner - Best Artist

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Gaiman, Neil
Published by Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0060934719 ISBN 13: 9780060934712
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Monky Business: briansmonky
(Worcester, MA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0060934719 Ask about discounted shipping available when multiple items are purchased at the same time. FAST, RELIABLE, GUARANTEED and happily SHIPPED WITHIN 1 BUSINESS DAY!. Bookseller Inventory # BX17-2117

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.59
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Gaiman, Neil
Published by Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0060934719 ISBN 13: 9780060934712
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0060934719 Ships promptly. Bookseller Inventory # GOC3264AZGG022717H0979A

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.72
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Gaiman, Neil
Published by Harper Perennial (2001)
ISBN 10: 0060934719 ISBN 13: 9780060934712
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Superlative Selections
(franklin, TN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial, 2001. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New In-Stock Ships Same Day We Ship 7 Days A Week. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000256114

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.05
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Gaiman, Neil
Published by Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0060934719 ISBN 13: 9780060934712
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ohmsoft LLC
(Lake Forest, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial. Book Condition: Brand New. Ships from USA. FREE domestic shipping. Bookseller Inventory # 0060934719

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
14.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Neil Gaiman
ISBN 10: 0060934719 ISBN 13: 9780060934712
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800609347121.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.04
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Neil Gaiman
Published by Harper Perennial (2001)
ISBN 10: 0060934719 ISBN 13: 9780060934712
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial, 2001. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0060934719

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
16.53
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.04
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Gaiman, Neil
Published by Harper Perennial 2001-06-19 (2001)
ISBN 10: 0060934719 ISBN 13: 9780060934712
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial 2001-06-19, 2001. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 0060934719 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # TM-0060934719

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
17.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.04
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Gaiman, Neil
Published by Harper Perennial (2001)
ISBN 10: 0060934719 ISBN 13: 9780060934712
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial, 2001. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110060934719

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
24.52
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.28
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Neil Gaiman
Published by Harper Perennial (2001)
ISBN 10: 0060934719 ISBN 13: 9780060934712
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial, 2001. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0060934719

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
29.06
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Gaiman, Neil
Published by Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0060934719 ISBN 13: 9780060934712
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0060934719 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW6.0017435

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
47.12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.81
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds