Passions Between Women: British Lesbian Culture 1668-1801

3.74 avg rating
( 94 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780060926809: Passions Between Women: British Lesbian Culture 1668-1801

Passions Between Women looks at stories of lesbian desires, acts and identities from the Restoration to the beginning of the nineteenth century. Far from being invisible, the figure of the woman who felt passion for women in this period was a subject of confusion and contradiction: she could be put in a freak show as a 'hermaphrodite', denounced as a 'tribade' or 'lesbian', revered as a 'romantic friend', jailed as a 'female husband' or gossiped about as a 'woman-lover', 'tommy' or 'Sapphist'. Through an examination of a wealth of new medical, legal and erotic source material, together with re-readings of classics of English literature, Emma Donoghue uncovers the astonishing range of lesbian and bisexual identities described in British texts between 1668 and 1801. Female pirates and spiritual mentors, chambermaids and queens, poets and prostitutes, country idylls and whipping clubs all take their place in an intriguing panorama of lesbian lives and loves. 'Controversial, erotic and radical, Emma Donoghue's lesbian voyage of exploration outlines an astonishing spectrum of gender rebellion which creates a new map of eighteenth-century sexual territories and identities.' Patricia Duncker

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

The author of the witty novel Stir Fry here turns her attention to lesbians during the late 17th and 18th centuries when wit ruled salons, . Donoghue's copious research of the legal, medical, and literary texts of the period find a lesbian culture almost as broad as our own, from working class "female husbands" to aristocratic "play-fellows" and "romantic friends." Reading this book will imbue the costume changes in Restoration drama with a whole new meaning.

From the Publisher:

In the tradition of Lillian Faderman's Surpassing the Love of Men and John Boswell's Same-Sex Unions in Premodern Europe--a groundbreaking work of lesbian scholarship that presents a revisionist and frankly sexual look at 18th-century lesbian culture.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Donoghue, Emma
Published by Perennial (1996)
ISBN 10: 0060926805 ISBN 13: 9780060926809
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Perennial, 1996. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P110060926805

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
98.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.51
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds