River Town: Two Years on the Yangtze (P.S.)

4.18 avg rating
( 8,494 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780060855024: River Town: Two Years on the Yangtze (P.S.)

When Peter Hessler went to China in the late 1990s, he expected to spend a couple of peaceful years teaching English in the town of Fuling on the Yangtze River. But what he experienced -- the natural beauty, cultural tension, and complex process of understanding that takes place when one is thrust into a radically different society -- surpassed anything he could have imagined. Hessler observes firsthand how major events such as the death of Deng Xiaoping, the return of Hong Kong to the mainland, and the controversial construction of the Three Gorges Dam have affected even the people of a remote town like Fuling.

Poignant, thoughtful and utterly compelling, 'River Town' is an unforgettable portrait of a place caught mid-river in time, much like China itself -- a country seeking to understand both what it was and what it will one day become.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

I wish it were twice as long...I am not the only China-watcher who will wish they had written this book ( Jonathan Mirsky)

Book Description:

An account of Peter Hessler's time in the town of Fuling on the Yangtze River during the late Nineties. He observes the natural beauty, cultural tensions and how major events such as the return of Hong Kong to the mainland have affected the people of Fuling.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Hessler, Peter
ISBN 10: 0060855029 ISBN 13: 9780060855024
New Paperback Quantity Available: 9
Seller
Big River Books
(Powder Springs, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand New! We ship daily Monday - Friday!. Bookseller Inventory # 1EYDQW0021G7

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
2.51
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.85
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Hessler, Peter
ISBN 10: 0060855029 ISBN 13: 9780060855024
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800608550240000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Hessler, Peter
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0060855029 ISBN 13: 9780060855024
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0060855029

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.86
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Hessler, Peter
Published by PERENNIAL (2006)
ISBN 10: 0060855029 ISBN 13: 9780060855024
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller
PBShop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description PERENNIAL, 2006. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780060855024

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.66
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.25
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Hessler, Peter
Published by Harper Perennial (2006)
ISBN 10: 0060855029 ISBN 13: 9780060855024
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial, 2006. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: In the tradition of "Iron & Silk" comes a powerful memoir about a young American teacher in the Peace Corps living in the small Chinese city of Fuling as it navigates increasing waves of cultural and social upheaval. Maps. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0060855029

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Hessler, Peter
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2011)
ISBN 10: 0060855029 ISBN 13: 9780060855024
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 200 x 134 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. A New York Times Notable BookWinner of the Kiriyama Book PrizeIn the heart of China s Sichuan province, amid the terraced hills of the Yangtze River valley, lies the remote town of Fuling. Like many other small cities in this ever-evolving country, Fuling is heading down a new path of change and growth, which came into remarkably sharp focus when Peter Hessler arrived as a Peace Corps volunteer, marking the first time in more than half a century that the city had an American resident. Hessler taught English and American literature at the local college, but it was his students who taught him about the complex processes of understanding that take place when one is immersed in a radically different society.Poignant, thoughtful, funny, and enormously compelling, River Town is an unforgettable portrait of a city that is seeking to understand both what it was and what it someday will be. Bookseller Inventory # KNV9780060855024

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Hessler, Peter
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2011)
ISBN 10: 0060855029 ISBN 13: 9780060855024
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 200 x 134 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. A New York Times Notable BookWinner of the Kiriyama Book PrizeIn the heart of China s Sichuan province, amid the terraced hills of the Yangtze River valley, lies the remote town of Fuling. Like many other small cities in this ever-evolving country, Fuling is heading down a new path of change and growth, which came into remarkably sharp focus when Peter Hessler arrived as a Peace Corps volunteer, marking the first time in more than half a century that the city had an American resident. Hessler taught English and American literature at the local college, but it was his students who taught him about the complex processes of understanding that take place when one is immersed in a radically different society.Poignant, thoughtful, funny, and enormously compelling, River Town is an unforgettable portrait of a city that is seeking to understand both what it was and what it someday will be. Bookseller Inventory # KNV9780060855024

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Hessler, Peter
ISBN 10: 0060855029 ISBN 13: 9780060855024
New Softcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
VNHM SHOP
(Pompano Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Softcover. Book Condition: New. New. This item is new unopened, never used and still in its original manufacturer condition. Tracking number will be provided to you so that you may track your order (for all USA orders). Bookseller Inventory # 9025815

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.27
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Hessler, Peter
Published by Harper Perennial 2006-05 (2006)
ISBN 10: 0060855029 ISBN 13: 9780060855024
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial 2006-05, 2006. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatched within 2 working days from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-ING-00275268

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Hessler, Peter
Published by Harper Perennial (2006)
ISBN 10: 0060855029 ISBN 13: 9780060855024
New Paperback Quantity Available: 4
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial, 2006. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 0060855029

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.20
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.44
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book