Monastery: Prayer, Work, Community

4 avg rating
( 1 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780060664954: Monastery: Prayer, Work, Community

From dust jacket notes: "In the tradition of Saint Francis of Assisi and Mother of God, this lavish, full-color book combines revealing text, exquisite reproductions of traditional art, and striking contemporary photographs in an unparalleled glimpse behind monastic walls. Monastery provides an informative, fascinating account of the ancient roots of the monastic way of life; its flowering during the Middle Ages, when the principles and elements of spirituality scattered through the works of the Church Fathers were gathered together by the first great founders; and a compelling look at the continuing traditions and realities of cloistered life today....Monastery does not stop with mere surface appreciation of ancient and modern monasteries throughout the world: author and photographer deeply explore the experience of life in these communities. Monastery introduces us to the monks and sisters within the walls and shows us how they live and why they have chosen this life. Pennington and Sapieha make exceptional guides for an insider's look at the monasteries, convents, and hermitages, both cloistered and open, that comprise a rich but largely unknown world....Monastery also includes selections of key writings from the monastic traditions and a chronology of monasticism's most important moments."

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

M. Basil Pennington
Published by Scala/Harper & Row (1983)
ISBN 10: 0060664959 ISBN 13: 9780060664954
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Scala/Harper & Row, 1983. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P110060664959

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
31.25
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.51
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Pennington, M. Basil
Published by Scala/Harper & Row
ISBN 10: 0060664959 ISBN 13: 9780060664954
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Scala/Harper & Row. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0060664959 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW7.0950240

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
46.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.79
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Pennington, M. Basil
Published by Scala/Harper & Row 1983-10-01 (1983)
ISBN 10: 0060664959 ISBN 13: 9780060664954
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Scala/Harper & Row 1983-10-01, 1983. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1st. 0060664959 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # TM-0060664959

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
76.41
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.03
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

M. Basil Pennington, Nicolas Sapieha (Photographer)
Published by Scala/Harper & Row (1983)
ISBN 10: 0060664959 ISBN 13: 9780060664954
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Scala/Harper & Row, 1983. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0060664959

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
80.27
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.03
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds