The Legend of Holly Claus (Julie Andrews Collection)

4.25 avg rating
( 1,647 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780060585143: The Legend of Holly Claus (Julie Andrews Collection)

Santa Claus is the King of Forever, Land of the Immortals. When one special boy writes to Santa asking what no other child has ever asked -- what he wants for Christmas -- a miracle occurs: Santa and his wife are blessed with a daughter. But the birth of Holly Claus also brings about a terrible curse -- from an evil soul named Herrikhan. Holly's heart is frozen, and the gates to Forever are locked, barring exit or entry.

Now grown into a beautiful and selfless young woman, Holly becomes consumed with the desire to break the spell that holds her people hostage. Accompanied by four faithful and magical animal friends, she escapes to the wondrous world of Victorian New York and embarks on a series of dangerous and life-changing adventures.

With fanciful characters, rich language, and evocative imagery, The Legend of Holly Claus pays tribute to the great fairy tales and myths of our time. This epic novel filled with mystery, magic, and wonder is destined to take its place as a Christmas classic.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Brittney Ryan is a native of Portland, Oregon, where she attended the University of Portland's School of Dramatic Arts and Music. She has performed in over thirty musicals and was voted Most Outstanding Young Woman in America by the National Press Club. As well as being an author, she is an accomplished composer, singer, dancer, and storyteller. She is the author of the New York Times bestselling novel The Legend of Holly Claus. She lives in California.

From School Library Journal:

Grade 4-7–A letter written in 1878 to Santa Claus by a 10-year-old boy asking not for presents but to know what Santa himself wishes for allows the gent (aka Nicholas, King of Forever) and his wife to realize their greatest dream, the birth of a daughter named Holly. She is, however, cursed by an evil sorcerer, Herrikhan, who surrounds her infant heart with ice and promises to return to collect it one day. Holly grows up happy but lonely in the Land of the Immortals, and when she becomes a young woman, she takes a daring and possibly deadly trip to Victorian New York City, where she is determined to do good deeds. There she has adventures, brings joy to the hearts of young and old, and manages to foil Herrikhan with the shining purity of her love. The writing is acceptable, if a little precious, and the descriptions of Nicholas and his household are a pleasure to read, but the whole Herrikhan plot is jarring, inconsistent, and unnecessary; there are more than enough characters and subplots swirling through this novel already without the addition of a leering, black-tongued sorcerer. The drawings scattered throughout are detailed and a touch old-fashioned, a good match for the sentimental tone of the text. Fans of Alcott, Spyri, and Burnett may enjoy this long and convoluted tale.–Eva Mitnick, Los Angeles Public Library
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Ryan, Brittney
Published by Julie Andrews Collection (2004)
ISBN 10: 0060585145 ISBN 13: 9780060585143
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Julie Andrews Collection, 2004. Library Binding. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110060585145

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
34.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.29
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Brittney Ryan, Laurel Long (Illustrator)
Published by Julie Andrews Collection (2004)
ISBN 10: 0060585145 ISBN 13: 9780060585143
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Julie Andrews Collection, 2004. Library Binding. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0060585145

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
54.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.06
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds