Eels: An Exploration, from New Zealand to the Sargasso, of the World's Most Mysterious Fish

3.84 avg rating
( 559 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780060566128: Eels: An Exploration, from New Zealand to the Sargasso, of the World's Most Mysterious Fish

“This is a delightful work with the urgency of a good detective story.” —Thomas McGuane

“I loved it! A beautiful adventure story of one of the most wide-spread and least-known but ecologically important fish.” —Bernd Heinrich, author of Summer World

Famous for his deeply informed, compulsively readable books on trout, writer-painter James Prosek (whom the New York Times has called “the Audubon of the fishing world”) takes on nature’s quirkiest and most enigmatic fish: the eel. Fans of Mark Kurlansky’s Cod and The Big Oyster or Trevor Corson’s The Secret Life of Lobsters will love Prosek’s probing exploration of the hidden deep-water dwellers. With characteristically captivating prose and lavish illustrations, Prosek demystifies the eel’s unique biology and bizarre mating routines, and illuminates the animal’s varied roles in the folklore, cuisine, and commerce of a variety of cultures.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

They spawn in the middle of the ocean but spend their adult lives in freshwater. They can overcome seemingly insurmountable obstacles and even cross over land. They are revered as guardians and monster-seducers by New Zealand’s Maori, yet are often viewed with disgust in the West. They are a multibillion-dollar business in the Asian food market. They are often mistaken for snakes. They are eels—one of the world’s most amazing and least understood fish. (Yes, fish.)

James Prosek offers a fascinating tour through the life history and cultural associations of the freshwater eel, exploring its biology, its myth and lore, its mystery and beauty. Eels is a mesmerizing biography of an intriguing and mysterious creature, as well as a telling look at humanity, the will to persist, and the ever-changing relationship between man and the natural world.

About the Author:

James Prosek is a writer and artist. Dubbed “the Audubon of the fishing world” by the New York Times, his books include Trout, The Complete Angler, and Fly-Fishing the 41st. He lives in Easton, Connecticut.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Prosek, James
Published by Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0060566124 ISBN 13: 9780060566128
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
P-Town Book Sales
(Petaluma, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0060566124 New Condition. Crisp pages and tight binding. Slight shelf wear on cover. Bookseller Inventory # 7MQ-W6T3-9973

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.10
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.04
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

James Prosek
ISBN 10: 0060566124 ISBN 13: 9780060566128
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800605661280000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Prosek, James
ISBN 10: 0060566124 ISBN 13: 9780060566128
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2011. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780060566128

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.04
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

James Prosek
Published by HARPER PERENNIAL, United States (2011)
ISBN 10: 0060566124 ISBN 13: 9780060566128
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER PERENNIAL, United States, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. This is a delightful work with the urgency of a good detective story. --Thomas McGuane I loved it! A beautiful adventure story of one of the most wide-spread and least-known but ecologically important fish. --Bernd Heinrich, author of Summer World Famous for his deeply informed, compulsively readable books on trout, writer-painter James Prosek (whom the New York Times has called the Audubon of the fishing world ) takes on nature s quirkiest and most enigmatic fish: the eel. Fans of Mark Kurlansky s Cod and The Big Oyster or Trevor Corson s The Secret Life of Lobsters will love Prosek s probing exploration of the hidden deep-water dwellers. With characteristically captivating prose and lavish illustrations, Prosek demystifies the eel s unique biology and bizarre mating routines, and illuminates the animal s varied roles in the folklore, cuisine, and commerce of a variety of cultures. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780060566128

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

James Prosek
Published by HARPER PERENNIAL, United States (2011)
ISBN 10: 0060566124 ISBN 13: 9780060566128
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER PERENNIAL, United States, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. This is a delightful work with the urgency of a good detective story. --Thomas McGuane I loved it! A beautiful adventure story of one of the most wide-spread and least-known but ecologically important fish. --Bernd Heinrich, author of Summer World Famous for his deeply informed, compulsively readable books on trout, writer-painter James Prosek (whom the New York Times has called the Audubon of the fishing world ) takes on nature s quirkiest and most enigmatic fish: the eel. Fans of Mark Kurlansky s Cod and The Big Oyster or Trevor Corson s The Secret Life of Lobsters will love Prosek s probing exploration of the hidden deep-water dwellers. With characteristically captivating prose and lavish illustrations, Prosek demystifies the eel s unique biology and bizarre mating routines, and illuminates the animal s varied roles in the folklore, cuisine, and commerce of a variety of cultures. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780060566128

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Prosek, James
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0060566124 ISBN 13: 9780060566128
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0060566124

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.67
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

James Prosek
Published by HARPER PERENNIAL, United States (2011)
ISBN 10: 0060566124 ISBN 13: 9780060566128
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER PERENNIAL, United States, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. This is a delightful work with the urgency of a good detective story. --Thomas McGuane I loved it! A beautiful adventure story of one of the most wide-spread and least-known but ecologically important fish. --Bernd Heinrich, author of Summer World Famous for his deeply informed, compulsively readable books on trout, writer-painter James Prosek (whom the New York Times has called the Audubon of the fishing world ) takes on nature s quirkiest and most enigmatic fish: the eel. Fans of Mark Kurlansky s Cod and The Big Oyster or Trevor Corson s The Secret Life of Lobsters will love Prosek s probing exploration of the hidden deep-water dwellers. With characteristically captivating prose and lavish illustrations, Prosek demystifies the eel s unique biology and bizarre mating routines, and illuminates the animal s varied roles in the folklore, cuisine, and commerce of a variety of cultures. Bookseller Inventory # BZE9780060566128

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Prosek, James
ISBN 10: 0060566124 ISBN 13: 9780060566128
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2011. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780060566128

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.04
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Prosek, James
Published by Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0060566124 ISBN 13: 9780060566128
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0060566124 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # SWATI2132259851

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.04
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Prosek, James
Published by Harper Perennial (2011)
ISBN 10: 0060566124 ISBN 13: 9780060566128
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 0060566124

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.58
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.28
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book