Why I'm Like This: True Stories

3.53 avg rating
( 2,560 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780060512613: Why I'm Like This: True Stories

Cynthia Kaplan takes us on a hilarious and sometimes heartbreaking journey through her unique, uncensored world--her bungled romantic encounters and unsung theatrical experiences; her gadget-obsessed father, her pill-popping therapist, and her eccentric grandmothers; her fearless husband, whom she engages in an ongoing battle over which of them is the most popular person in their apartment; and, of course, her vengeful, power-hungry one-year-old son.

Kaplan's voice is a lot like the one in our heads--the one that most of us are only willing to listen to late at night . . . maybe while locked in a closet. What a relief it is that someone finally admits that she is afraid of nearly everything; that she is jealous even of people whose lives are on the verge of collapse; and that she has, at times, tried to pass for a gentile.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"A fresh voice with a bright future." -- Kirkus Reviews

"When Kaplan is funny, she's very funny.Well worth reading." -- New Orleans Times-Picayune

"Knee-slapping hilarious.Fans of David Sedaris or Anne Lamott will appreciate (Kaplan's) quirky way of looking at life's intricacies." -- USA Today

"When Kaplan is funny, she's very funny...Well worth reading."--New Orleans Times-Picayune

"WHY I'M LIKE THIS is an impressive debut and Kaplan has a wonderfully natural comedic style."--Detroit Free Press

"Quick-witted, neatly written and unapologetically grandiose...in the spirit of Dorothy Parker...[Kaplan] renders weird and rowdy scenarios with style."--New York Times Book Review

"Knee-slapping hilarious...Fans of David Sedaris or Anne Lamott will appreciate (Kaplan's) quirky way of looking at life's intricacies."--USA Today

"Kaplan consistently amuses while cutting surprisingly deep."--Booklist

"A fresh voice with a bright future."--Kirkus Reviews

"One of downtown's coolest actors . . . you'll laugh until you can't breathe."--Time Out New York

"This is a charming collection of essays in the spirit of David Sedaris..."--John Searles, The Early Show on CBS

"Cynthia Kaplan is very funny. These piece are very, very funny."--Laura Zigman, author of Animal Husbandry and Her

"WHY I'M LIKE THIS is a collection of personal essays that are as funny as they are poignant."--Paper Magazine

"Funny, sweet, weirdly life-affirming and painfully true..."--Jerry Stahl, author of PERMANENT MIDNIGHT and PLAINCLOTHES NAKED

"Cynthia Kaplan's gift is her ability to take on life's absurdities and come out a winner."--Debra Ginsberg, author of WAITING and RAISING BLAZE

Quick witted, neatly written and unapologetically grandiose in the spirit of Dorothy Parker [Kaplan] renders weird and rowdy scenarios with style. --New York Times Book Review"

This is a charming collection of essays in the spirit of David Sedaris --John Searles, The Early Show on CBS"

A fresh voice with a bright future. --Kirkus Reviews"

Knee-slapping hilarious Fans of David Sedaris or Anne Lamott will appreciate (Kaplan s) quirky way of looking at life s intricacies. --USA Today"

Funny, sweet, weirdly life-affirming and painfully true --Jerry Stahl, author of PERMANENT MIDNIGHT and PLAINCLOTHES NAKED"

Cynthia Kaplan s gift is her ability to take on life s absurdities and come out a winner. --Debra Ginsberg, author of WAITING and RAISING BLAZE"

Kaplan consistently amuses while cutting surprisingly deep. --Booklist"

When Kaplan is funny, she s very funny Well worth reading. --New Orleans Times-Picayune"

One of downtown s coolest actors . . . you ll laugh until you can t breathe. --Time Out New York"

Cynthia Kaplan is very funny. These piece are very, very funny. --Laura Zigman, author of Animal Husbandry and Her"

WHY I M LIKE THIS is an impressive debut and Kaplan has a wonderfully natural comedic style. --Detroit Free Press"

WHY I M LIKE THIS is a collection of personal essays that are as funny as they are poignant. --Paper Magazine"

About the Author:

Writer and actress Cynthia Kaplan's essays have been published in many newspapers, magazines, and anthologies, and she is the author of the collection Why I'm Like This. She has appeared in clubs, theaters, and on film, but never on Law & Order. She lives in New York City with her husband and children.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Kaplan, Cynthia
Published by HarpPeren
ISBN 10: 006051261X ISBN 13: 9780060512613
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Brats Bargain Books
(Waresboro, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarpPeren. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 006051261X Never Read-may have wear due to shelf life or handling-publishers mark-price sticker on cover-Good Copy- I ship FAST!. Bookseller Inventory # SKU05057

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
1.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.53
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Kaplan, Cynthia
Published by HarpPeren
ISBN 10: 006051261X ISBN 13: 9780060512613
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Brats Bargain Books
(Waresboro, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarpPeren. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 006051261X Never Read-may have light shelf or handling wear including smudges on the page ends-publishers mark- Good Copy- I ship FAST! ~THOUSANDS OF SATISFIED CUSTOMERS~. Bookseller Inventory # SKU5355

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
1.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.53
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Cynthia Kaplan
Published by Harper Perennial (2003)
ISBN 10: 006051261X ISBN 13: 9780060512613
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial, 2003. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX006051261X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Cynthia Kaplan
ISBN 10: 006051261X ISBN 13: 9780060512613
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800605126131.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Kaplan, Cynthia
Published by HarpPeren (2003)
ISBN 10: 006051261X ISBN 13: 9780060512613
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarpPeren, 2003. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 006051261X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Kaplan, Cynthia
Published by HarpPeren (2003)
ISBN 10: 006051261X ISBN 13: 9780060512613
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Booked Again
(Summit, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarpPeren, 2003. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New item. Bookseller Inventory # QX-002-X1-9260009

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
20.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.70
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds