Stop Pretending: What Happened When My Big Sister Went Crazy

3.89 avg rating
( 4,224 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780060283872: Stop Pretending: What Happened When My Big Sister Went Crazy

It happens just like that, in the blink of an eye. An older sister has a mental breakdown and has to be hospitalized. A younger sister is left behind to cope with a family torn apart by grief and friends who turn their backs on her. But worst of all is the loss of her big sister, her confidante, her best friend, who has gone someplace no one can reach.

In the tradition of The Bell Jar, I Never Promised You a Rose Garden, and Lisa, Bright and Dark comes this haunting first book told in poems, and based on the true story of the author's life.

Notable Children's Trade Books in the Field of Social Studies 2001, National Council for SS & Child. Book Council and 2000 Best Books for Young Adults (ALA)

2000 Best Books for Young Adults (ALA)2000 Quick Picks for Young Adults (Recomm. Books for Reluctant Young Readers)

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

The subtitle of Stop Pretending says it all: "What Happened When My Big Sister Went Crazy." In a sequence of short, intense poems based on the author's own experiences, a 13-year-old girl suffers through her shifting feelings about her sibling's mental illness. She recalls the terror of the Christmas Eve when Sister was suddenly transformed into a stranger; the horror of visiting Sister in the hospital and finding her rocking on all fours; the fear that her friends will find out; her own worry that she, too, may lose her mind; and her wistful memories of Sister as she was before. More complex emotions are also explored, such as her irrational suspicion that Sister may be deliberately acting crazy, as poignantly expressed in the title poem: "Stop pretending./ Right this minute./ Don't you tell me/ you don't know me./ Stop this crazy act/ and show me/ that you haven't changed./ Stop pretending/ you're deranged." Gradually, as Sister begins to recover, the girl is able to find hope and again take pleasure in her own life. Blank verse is perfect for a story with such heightened emotion, and is a format that has been used with great success in other fine novels for teens, notably the Newbery-award winning Out of the Dust, by Karen Hesse, and Robert Cormier's boyhood memoir, Frenchtown Summer. Teen readers may even be so inspired as to try their own hand at this challenging but satisfying form. (Ages 10 and older) --Patty Campbell

About the Author:

As a teenager Sonya Sones spent hours pouring her private thoughts and feelings into journals.Her passion for writing, drawing, and photography led her to begin making animated films when she was seventeen.She studied filmmaking in college, and went on to teach animation, make films for public television, and edit movies in Hollywood.She lives with her husband and two children near the beach in California.Stop Pretending is her first book.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Sonya Sones
Published by HarperTeen (1999)
ISBN 10: 0060283874 ISBN 13: 9780060283872
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperTeen, 1999. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0060283874

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.02
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Sonya Sones
Published by HarperTeen (1999)
ISBN 10: 0060283874 ISBN 13: 9780060283872
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperTeen, 1999. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M0060283874

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
16.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Sones, Sonya
Published by HarperTeen (1999)
ISBN 10: 0060283874 ISBN 13: 9780060283872
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperTeen, 1999. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P110060283874

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
24.14
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.51
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds