Passions Between Women: British Lesbian Culture 1668-1801

3.78 avg rating
( 92 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780060172619: Passions Between Women: British Lesbian Culture 1668-1801

A frank examination of eighteenth-century lesbian culture reveals a widespread range of previously overlooked lesbian identities in Britain and covers such topics as group sex, sadomasochism, and hermaphrodites. Tour.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

The author of the witty novel Stir Fry here turns her attention to lesbians during the late 17th and 18th centuries when wit ruled salons, . Donoghue's copious research of the legal, medical, and literary texts of the period find a lesbian culture almost as broad as our own, from working class "female husbands" to aristocratic "play-fellows" and "romantic friends." Reading this book will imbue the costume changes in Restoration drama with a whole new meaning.

From the Publisher:

In the tradition of Lillian Faderman's Surpassing the Love of Men and John Boswell's Same-Sex Unions in Premodern Europe--a groundbreaking work of lesbian scholarship that presents a revisionist and frankly sexual look at 18th-century lesbian culture.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Donoghue, Emma
Published by Harpercollins
ISBN 10: 0060172614 ISBN 13: 9780060172619
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0060172614 Ships promptly. Bookseller Inventory # GHT5776JMAC020215H0545

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Emma Donoghue
Published by Harpercollins (1995)
ISBN 10: 0060172614 ISBN 13: 9780060172619
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins, 1995. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0060172614

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.70
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Emma Donoghue
ISBN 10: 0060172614 ISBN 13: 9780060172619
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800601726191.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
18.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Emma Donoghue
Published by Harpercollins (1995)
ISBN 10: 0060172614 ISBN 13: 9780060172619
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins, 1995. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0060172614

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
25.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Donoghue, Emma
Published by Harpercollins (1995)
ISBN 10: 0060172614 ISBN 13: 9780060172619
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins, 1995. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110060172614

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
28.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.30
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Donoghue, Emma
Published by Harpercollins
ISBN 10: 0060172614 ISBN 13: 9780060172619
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0060172614 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW6.1017403

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
47.52
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.84
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds