Sheltering Rain

3.46 avg rating
( 6,657 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780060012885: Sheltering Rain

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Me Before You, the basis for the major motion picture, comes the touching, unforgettable story of three generations of Irish women faced with the fundamental truths of love, duty, and the unbreakable bond that unites mothers and daughters.

Estranged from her mother since she ran away from her rural Irish home as a young woman, Kate swore a future oath that she’d always be a friend to her daughter, Sabine. But history has a way of repeating itself, and Kate now faces an ever-widening chasm between herself and her daughter. With Sabine about to make her own journey to Ireland to see the grandmother Kate abandoned, Kate is left wondering how they ever made it here, and what she can do to close the gap between them. 

For Joy, seeing her granddaughter is a dream come true. After the painful separation from Kate, she’s looking forward to having time with Sabine. Yet almost as soon as the young woman arrives, the lack of common ground between them deflates her enthusiasm. And when Sabine’s impetuous, inquisitive nature forces Joy to face long-buried secrets from her past, she realizes that perhaps it’s time to finally heal old wounds.

“This perceptive...novel does the mother-and-daughter thing in page-turning style.”--Elle

 

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

In the tradition of Maeve Binchy and Rosamunde Pilcher comes an evocative novel by a talented new writer.

At a celebration in honor of Queen Elizabeth II's coronation in 1953, the rebellious young Joy falls in love at first sight and marries the man of her dreams. Now, forty years later, Joy's fifteen-year-old granddaughter, Sabine, seeks shelter at her grandparents' house in Ireland, the very place from which her mother, Kate, ran years before. Suddenly, with an impetuous and inquisitive young woman in the house, Joy finds herself facing the secrets buried in her past.

Troubled by her worsening relationship with Sabine, Kate returns to Ireland. When the three women come together, they discover some fundamental truths about love, duty, and the relationships between mothers and daughters.

Jojo Moyes effortlessly weaves a rich and vivid tapestry of character, time, and place. The result is a heartwarming and believably real novel that sets the benchmark for a new generation of storytelling.

About the Author:

Jojo Moyes is a British novelist and journalist. She is one of only a few authors to have twice won the Romantic Novel of the Year Award by the Romantic Novelists' Association and has been translated into eleven different languages.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Moyes, Jojo
Published by William Morrow
ISBN 10: 0060012889 ISBN 13: 9780060012885
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0060012889 Ships promptly. Bookseller Inventory # HCI4866AOGG042617H0984A

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
16.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Jojo Moyes
ISBN 10: 0060012889 ISBN 13: 9780060012885
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
stressfreebooks
(Bay City, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. No dust jacket. Brand new copy. Ships fast secure, expedited available!. Bookseller Inventory # 3UBCFO0004S4

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
14.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.04
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Jojo Moyes
Published by William Morrow (2002)
ISBN 10: 0060012889 ISBN 13: 9780060012885
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, 2002. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0060012889

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
26.17
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Moyes, Jojo
Published by William Morrow (2002)
ISBN 10: 0060012889 ISBN 13: 9780060012885
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Nearfine Books
(Brooklyn, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, 2002. Book Condition: new. Shiny and new! Expect delivery in 20 days. Bookseller Inventory # 9780060012885-1

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
28.27
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.05
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Jojo Moyes
ISBN 10: 0060012889 ISBN 13: 9780060012885
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800600128851.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
31.87
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.04
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Jojo Moyes
ISBN 10: 0060012889 ISBN 13: 9780060012885
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
AMAZINGBOOKDEALS
(IRVING, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Book Condition: BRAND NEW. BRAND NEW. Fast Shipping. Prompt Customer Service. Satisfaction guaranteed. Bookseller Inventory # 0060012889BNA

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
32.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.04
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Moyes, Jojo
Published by William Morrow (2002)
ISBN 10: 0060012889 ISBN 13: 9780060012885
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, 2002. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110060012889

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
34.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.28
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Moyes, Jojo
Published by William Morrow
ISBN 10: 0060012889 ISBN 13: 9780060012885
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0060012889 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW6.0010910

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
47.12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.81
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Jojo Moyes
Published by William Morrow (2002)
ISBN 10: 0060012889 ISBN 13: 9780060012885
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, 2002. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0060012889

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
54.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.04
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds