The Great Mortality: An Intimate History of the Black Death, the Most Devastating Plague of All Time

3.89 avg rating
( 5,129 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780060006921: The Great Mortality: An Intimate History of the Black Death, the Most Devastating Plague of All Time

La moria grandissima began its terrible journey across the European and Asian continents in 1347, leaving unimaginable devastation in its wake. Five years later, twenty-five million people were dead, felled by the scourge that would come to be called the Black Death. The Great Mortality is the extraordinary epic account of the worst natural disaster in European history -- a drama of courage, cowardice, misery, madness, and sacrifice that brilliantly illuminates humankind's darkest days when an old world ended and a new world was born.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

plague, black death, 14th century, world history, epidemics

Review:

"A compelling and eminently readable portrait." -- Library Journal

"A compelling and bone-chilling account." -- Tampa Tribune

"A compellingly vivid account." -- The Guardian

."..accessible and engrossing..." -- Publishers Weekly

."..splendidly written..." -- Philadelphia Inquirer

"Rich and evocative.written in the tradition of Barbara Tuchman, I couldn't stop reading this work of brilliance and wisdom." -- Richard Preston, author of The Hot Zone

A compellingly vivid account. --The Guardian

...splendidly written... --Philadelphia Inquirer

"John Kelly gives the reader a ferocious, pictorial account of the horrific ravages of [The Black Death]."--Michiko Kakutani, New York Times

"Powerful, rich, moving, humane, and full of important lessons for an age when weapons of mass destruction are loose."--Richard Rhodes, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Making of the Atomic Bomb and John James Audubon: The Making of an American

"This sweeping, viscerally exciting book contributes to a literature of perpetual fascination."--Booklist (starred review)

"Written with a keen eye for the details of the past, it might also be a warning about our future."--Jack Weatherford, DeWitt Wallace Professor of Anthropology at Macalester College and author of Genghis Khan and the Making of the Modern World

"Rich and evocative...written in the tradition of Barbara Tuchman, I couldn't stop reading this work of brilliance and wisdom."--Richard Preston, author of The Hot Zone

"Stunning. The Great Mortality [is endowed with] the sheer immediacy ancient history yields to only a few."--Houston Chronicle

"A fascinating account of the plague. A frightening reminder of what could happen today."--Nelson DeMille, The Birmingham News

"THE GREAT MORTALITY skillfully draws on eyewitness accounts to construct a journal of the plague years."--New York Times Book Review

"A compelling and bone-chilling account."--Tampa Tribune

"Splendidly written. Kelly has written a popular history based on the best scholarship available, and written it very well indeed."--Detroit Free Press (**** 4 out of 4 stars)

"THE GREAT MORTALITY is a chilling account of a global siege, public pits, death-carts, silent villages and empty streets."--Charleston Post & Courier

"A compelling and eminently readable portrait."--Library Journal

."..accessible and engrossing..."--Publishers Weekly

"A ground-level illustration of how the plague ravaged Europe...putting a vivid, human face on an unimaginable nightmare."--Kirkus Reviews

."..splendidly written..."--Philadelphia Inquirer

"A compellingly vivid account."--The Guardian

..".splendidly written..."--Philadelphia Inquirer

..".accessible and engrossing..."--Publishers Weekly

John Kelly gives the reader a ferocious, pictorial account of the horrific ravages of [The Black Death]. --Michiko Kakutani, New York Times"

Splendidly written. Kelly has written a popular history based on the best scholarship available, and written it very well indeed. --Detroit Free Press (**** 4 out of 4 stars)"

A fascinating account of the plague. A frightening reminder of what could happen today. --Nelson DeMille, The Birmingham News"

Stunning. The Great Mortality [is endowed with] the sheer immediacy ancient history yields to only a few. --Houston Chronicle"

A compelling and bone-chilling account. --Tampa Tribune"

...splendidly written... --Philadelphia Inquirer"

This sweeping, viscerally exciting book contributes to a literature of perpetual fascination. --Booklist (starred review)"

A ground-level illustration of how the plague ravaged Europe putting a vivid, human face on an unimaginable nightmare. --Kirkus Reviews"

...accessible and engrossing... --Publishers Weekly"

A compellingly vivid account. --The Guardian"

THE GREAT MORTALITY skillfully draws on eyewitness accounts to construct a journal of the plague years. --New York Times Book Review"

THE GREAT MORTALITY is a chilling account of a global siege, public pits, death-carts, silent villages and empty streets. --Charleston Post & Courier"

A compelling and eminently readable portrait. --Library Journal"

Powerful, rich, moving, humane, and full of important lessons for an age when weapons of mass destruction are loose. --Richard Rhodes, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Making of the Atomic Bomb and John James Audubon: The Making of an American"

Written with a keen eye for the details of the past, it might also be a warning about our future. --Jack Weatherford, DeWitt Wallace Professor of Anthropology at Macalester College and author of Genghis Khan and the Making of the Modern World"

Rich and evocative written in the tradition of Barbara Tuchman, I couldn t stop reading this work of brilliance and wisdom. --Richard Preston, author of The Hot Zone"

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Kelly, John
Published by Harper (2005)
ISBN 10: 0060006927 ISBN 13: 9780060006921
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Barnes & Nooyen Books
(Spring, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2005. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. New Condition, Hardcover Book, Bookseller Inventory # 1703190132

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.16
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

John Kelly
ISBN 10: 0060006927 ISBN 13: 9780060006921
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
READERS PRIDE
(FREMONT, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Book Condition: BRAND NEW. NEW Book in Mint Condition -- Great DEAL !! Fast Shipping -- Friendly Customer Service -- Buy with Confidence!. Bookseller Inventory # RP0060006927BN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.16
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

John Kelly
Published by Harper (2005)
ISBN 10: 0060006927 ISBN 13: 9780060006921
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2005. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. First Edition. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0060006927

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.19
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

John Kelly
ISBN 10: 0060006927 ISBN 13: 9780060006921
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800600069211.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.19
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Kelly, John
Published by Harper 2005-02-01 (2005)
ISBN 10: 0060006927 ISBN 13: 9780060006921
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 2005-02-01, 2005. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. First Edition. 0060006927 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # TM-0060006927

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
17.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.19
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Kelly, John
Published by Harper (2005)
ISBN 10: 0060006927 ISBN 13: 9780060006921
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2005. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0060006927

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
22.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Kelly, John
Published by Harper (2005)
ISBN 10: 0060006927 ISBN 13: 9780060006921
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2005. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110060006927

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
24.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.39
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds