15.20 Obery Hendricks Living Water

ISBN 13: 9780060000882

Living Water

4.36 avg rating
( 45 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780060000882: Living Water

Sprung from the pages of The New Testament, Living Water is a gripping and lyrical portrayal of a young women's search for identity set against the strict social confines of the time. This extraordinary first novel brings to life one of the most mysterious and intriguing characters in the Bible – the woman at the well.

In a village torn apart by senseless violence, a young girl struggles to mute her passion for life to survive the harsh social restrictions of her people. Catapulted into a series of abusive marriages, she soon becomes a woman unrecognisable from the little girl she once was. After her fifth husband is found bloody and beaten, she emerges amid the scandal and accusations to try and reclaim her life. In the tradition of Their Eyes Are Watching God, The Color Purple and Paradise, Obery Hendricks uses both fine detail and broad strokes to crisply depict this period of early history. And in doing so, this sophisticated literary debut delivers a universal tale of liberation and reconciliation, love and faith.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

A former Wall Street investment executive, professional musician, and competitive martial artist, Obery Hendricks is the immediate past president of Payne Theological Seminary, the oldest African American seminary in the United States. He is currently a Visiting Scholar at Princeton Theological Seminary, and a Professor of Biblical Studies at New York Theological Seminary. This is his first novel.

From Publishers Weekly:

Inspired by the New Testament vignette about the woman at the well, first-time novelist Hendricks imagines the life story of a Samaritan woman who spreads the word of God after an encounter with Jesus Christ. Growing up, Maryam is viewed with suspicion in her village; neighbors derisively call her "gibora," meaning brave and bold-qualities that girls are not supposed to have. Since the humiliating day when the Roman soldiers stripped and beat the Samaritan men in front of their wives and children, the men have treated women as chattel. When she's 12, Maryam's father marries her to Jalon, a spoiled, dissipated youth, but Jalon divorces her under the law of erwat dabar, which allows husbands to cast aside wives virtually at will. Having no other means of support, Maryam remarries four more times to a sorry collection of men, two of whom commit suicide, before finding Yeshua, a gentle, like-minded husband. She meets Jesus at the well when he asks for a drink of water, promising in return "a spring of water welling up to eternal life." Maryam is surprised that he speaks to her, as Jews don't normally have dealings with Samaritans, let alone Samaritan women. At Jesus' bidding, Maryam brings Yeshua to meet him, and Jesus sends them out to preach the word that men and women are equal under God. Hendricks has his characters speak in Southern black vernacular ("Why men treat women like that?... Sumpin wrong with women?"), which, while slightly distracting at first, is surprisingly effective. The slow-moving action and inspirational tone will turn off some readers, but those interested in biblical history will appreciate this inventive variation.
Copyright 2003 Reed Business Information, Inc.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Hendricks, Obery
Published by HarperOne
ISBN 10: 0060000880 ISBN 13: 9780060000882
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Monky Business: briansmonky
(Worcester, MA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0060000880 Ask about discounted shipping available when multiple items are purchased at the same time. FAST, RELIABLE, GUARANTEED and happily SHIPPED WITHIN 1 BUSINESS DAY!. Bookseller Inventory # BX16-2927

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.58
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Hendricks, Obery
Published by HarperOne 2004-01-06 (2004)
ISBN 10: 0060000880 ISBN 13: 9780060000882
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Ebooksweb COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne 2004-01-06, 2004. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 0060000880. Bookseller Inventory # Z0060000880ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Hendricks, Obery
Published by HarperOne
ISBN 10: 0060000880 ISBN 13: 9780060000882
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0060000880. Bookseller Inventory # Z0060000880ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Hendricks, Obery
Published by HarperOne
ISBN 10: 0060000880 ISBN 13: 9780060000882
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0060000880. Bookseller Inventory # Z0060000880ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Hendricks, Obery
Published by HarperOne
ISBN 10: 0060000880 ISBN 13: 9780060000882
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0060000880. Bookseller Inventory # Z0060000880ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Hendricks, Obery
Published by HarperOne
ISBN 10: 0060000880 ISBN 13: 9780060000882
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Vital Products COM LLC
(Southampton, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0060000880. Bookseller Inventory # Z0060000880ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Hendricks, Obery
Published by HarperOne
ISBN 10: 0060000880 ISBN 13: 9780060000882
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0060000880. Bookseller Inventory # Z0060000880ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Obery Hendricks
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2004)
ISBN 10: 0060000880 ISBN 13: 9780060000882
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2004. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. Sprung from the pages of The New Testament, Living Water is a gripping and lyrical portrayal of a young women s search for identity set against the strict social confines of the time. This extraordinary first novel brings to life one of the most mysterious and intriguing characters in the Bible - the woman at the well. In a village torn apart by senseless violence, a young girl struggles to mute her passion for life to survive the harsh social restrictions of her people. Catapulted into a series of abusive marriages, she soon becomes a woman unrecognisable from the little girl she once was. After her fifth husband is found bloody and beaten, she emerges amid the scandal and accusations to try and reclaim her life. In the tradition of Their Eyes Are Watching God, The Color Purple and Paradise, Obery Hendricks uses both fine detail and broad strokes to crisply depict this period of early history. And in doing so, this sophisticated literary debut delivers a universal tale of liberation and reconciliation, love and faith. Bookseller Inventory # AAR9780060000882

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Obery Hendricks
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2004)
ISBN 10: 0060000880 ISBN 13: 9780060000882
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2004. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. Sprung from the pages of The New Testament, Living Water is a gripping and lyrical portrayal of a young women s search for identity set against the strict social confines of the time. This extraordinary first novel brings to life one of the most mysterious and intriguing characters in the Bible - the woman at the well. In a village torn apart by senseless violence, a young girl struggles to mute her passion for life to survive the harsh social restrictions of her people. Catapulted into a series of abusive marriages, she soon becomes a woman unrecognisable from the little girl she once was. After her fifth husband is found bloody and beaten, she emerges amid the scandal and accusations to try and reclaim her life. In the tradition of Their Eyes Are Watching God, The Color Purple and Paradise, Obery Hendricks uses both fine detail and broad strokes to crisply depict this period of early history. And in doing so, this sophisticated literary debut delivers a universal tale of liberation and reconciliation, love and faith. Bookseller Inventory # AAR9780060000882

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.07
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Hendricks, Obery
ISBN 10: 0060000880 ISBN 13: 9780060000882
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2004. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780060000882

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.03
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book