15.20 Obery Hendricks Living Water

ISBN 13: 9780060000882

Living Water

4.37 avg rating
( 43 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780060000882: Living Water

Paperback. Pub the Date: January. 2004 Pages: 384 in Publisher: HarperOne Sprung. from the pages of of The New Testament. Living Water is a gripping and lyrical portrayal of a withyoung women's search for identity the set against the strict withsocial confines of the time. This extraordinary first novel ings to life one of the most mysterious and intriguing characters in the Bible - the woman at the well. In a village torn apart by senseless violence. a young girl struggles to mute her passion for life to survive the harsh social restrictions of her people. Catapulted into a series of abusive marriages. she soon becomes a woman unrecognisable from the little girl she once was. After her fifth husband is found bloody and beaten. she emerges ...

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

Sprung from the pages of The New Testament, Living Water is a gripping and lyrical portrayal of a young women's search for identity set against the strict social confines of the time. This extraordinary first novel brings to life one of the most mysterious and intriguing characters in the Bible the woman at the well.

Review:

"Refreshing wit and enlightenment... you'll never read the Gospel story the same way again. A provocative novel"--Christian Science Monitor

"A divinely inspired bridge to a new level of self-awareness. A must read."--Iyanla Vanzant, best-selling author of Everyday I Pray and Up From Here

"It is hard to believe that this is Hendricks' first trip to the literary well."--Michael Eric Dyson, author of Making Malcolm: The Myth and Meaning of Malcolm X, Race Rules: Navigating the Color Line, and the forthcoming Why I Love Black Women

"Living Water is an exemplary novel for our times. Don't miss this book!"--Cornel West, author of Race Matters

It is hard to believe that this is Hendricks first trip to the literary well. --Michael Eric Dyson, author of Making Malcolm: The Myth and Meaning of Malcolm X, Race Rules: Navigating the Color Line, and the forthcoming Why I Love Black Women"

Living Water is an exemplary novel for our times. Don t miss this book! --Cornel West, author of Race Matters"

A divinely inspired bridge to a new level of self-awareness. A must read. --Iyanla Vanzant, best-selling author of Everyday I Pray and Up From Here"

Refreshing wit and enlightenment... you ll never read the Gospel story the same way again. A provocative novel --Christian Science Monitor"

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Hendricks, Obery
Published by HarperOne
ISBN 10: 0060000880 ISBN 13: 9780060000882
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Monky Business: briansmonky
(Worcester, MA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0060000880 Ask about discounted shipping available when multiple items are purchased at the same time. FAST, RELIABLE, GUARANTEED and happily SHIPPED WITHIN 1 BUSINESS DAY!. Bookseller Inventory # BX16-2927

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
1.59
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.62
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Hendricks, Obery
Published by HarperOne 2004-01-06 (2004)
ISBN 10: 0060000880 ISBN 13: 9780060000882
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Ebooksweb COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne 2004-01-06, 2004. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 0060000880. Bookseller Inventory # Z0060000880ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Hendricks, Obery
Published by HarperOne
ISBN 10: 0060000880 ISBN 13: 9780060000882
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0060000880. Bookseller Inventory # Z0060000880ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Hendricks, Obery
Published by HarperOne
ISBN 10: 0060000880 ISBN 13: 9780060000882
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0060000880. Bookseller Inventory # Z0060000880ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Hendricks, Obery
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0060000880 ISBN 13: 9780060000882
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0060000880

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.22
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.69
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Obery Hendricks
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2004)
ISBN 10: 0060000880 ISBN 13: 9780060000882
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2004. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 198 x 135 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Sprung from the pages of The New Testament, Living Water is a gripping and lyrical portrayal of a young women s search for identity set against the strict social confines of the time. This extraordinary first novel brings to life one of the most mysterious and intriguing characters in the Bible - the woman at the well. In a village torn apart by senseless violence, a young girl struggles to mute her passion for life to survive the harsh social restrictions of her people. Catapulted into a series of abusive marriages, she soon becomes a woman unrecognisable from the little girl she once was. After her fifth husband is found bloody and beaten, she emerges amid the scandal and accusations to try and reclaim her life. In the tradition of Their Eyes Are Watching God, The Color Purple and Paradise, Obery Hendricks uses both fine detail and broad strokes to crisply depict this period of early history. And in doing so, this sophisticated literary debut delivers a universal tale of liberation and reconciliation, love and faith. Bookseller Inventory # AAR9780060000882

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.06
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Obery Hendricks
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2004)
ISBN 10: 0060000880 ISBN 13: 9780060000882
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2004. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 198 x 135 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Sprung from the pages of The New Testament, Living Water is a gripping and lyrical portrayal of a young women s search for identity set against the strict social confines of the time. This extraordinary first novel brings to life one of the most mysterious and intriguing characters in the Bible - the woman at the well. In a village torn apart by senseless violence, a young girl struggles to mute her passion for life to survive the harsh social restrictions of her people. Catapulted into a series of abusive marriages, she soon becomes a woman unrecognisable from the little girl she once was. After her fifth husband is found bloody and beaten, she emerges amid the scandal and accusations to try and reclaim her life. In the tradition of Their Eyes Are Watching God, The Color Purple and Paradise, Obery Hendricks uses both fine detail and broad strokes to crisply depict this period of early history. And in doing so, this sophisticated literary debut delivers a universal tale of liberation and reconciliation, love and faith. Bookseller Inventory # AAR9780060000882

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Hendricks, Obery
ISBN 10: 0060000880 ISBN 13: 9780060000882
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2004. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780060000882

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Hendricks, Obery
ISBN 10: 0060000880 ISBN 13: 9780060000882
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2004. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780060000882

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Hendricks, Obery
ISBN 10: 0060000880 ISBN 13: 9780060000882
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 951908

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book