The River That Flows Uphill: A Journey from the Big Bang to the Big Brain

4.44 avg rating
( 91 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780025209206: The River That Flows Uphill: A Journey from the Big Bang to the Big Brain

Written in the form of a scientists diary of a two-week float trip down the Colorado River through the Grand Canyon. There we find rocks of great age, fossils, dwellings of Stone Age peoples, and experience the land much as our ancestors did during all those untold generations in the dimly remembered world from which we somehow took flight.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

William H. Calvin is a theoretical neurophysiologist at the University of Washington. He is the author of The Atlantic Monthlys cover story, The Great Climate Flip-Flop, and of ten books, including The Cerebral Code, How Brains Think, The Throwing Madonna, The River that Flows Uphill, The Cerebral Symphony, and co-author of Conversations with Neils Brain and Lingua ex Machina.

From Publishers Weekly:

Neurobiologist and novelist (The Throwing Madonna Calvin uses a 14-day voyage through the Grand Canyonin the company of fellow scientistsas a vehicle for discoursing on earth history and evolution. This is a superb account of the river journey as a wilderness adventure. Generally, his forays into scientific subjects come naturallyhere are rock formations, fossils, Indian ruinsbut occasionally the essays seem forced. Calvin ruminates on the aquatic ape, juvenile traits, monogamy as a survival strategy, language and music in brain development, pain. He also makes trenchant remarks about the awarding of research grants and committee decision-making. All of this is deftly woven into that marvelous river trip (which, he confesses, was really four voyages); but his artifice is successfulreaders who enjoy adventure stories may discover they also enjoy good scientific writing. Fans of Stephen Jay Gould and Lewis Thomas will find Calvin equally stimulating. Illustrations. Prentice-Hall Book Clubs main selection.
Copyright 1986 Reed Business Information, Inc.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

William H. Calvin
Published by Macmillan Publishing Company (1986)
ISBN 10: 0025209205 ISBN 13: 9780025209206
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Macmillan Publishing Company, 1986. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0025209205

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
31.52
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.03
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

William H. Calvin
Published by Macmillan Publishing Company (1986)
ISBN 10: 0025209205 ISBN 13: 9780025209206
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Macmillan Publishing Company, 1986. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M0025209205

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
35.18
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

William H. Calvin
Published by Macmillan Publishing Company (1986)
ISBN 10: 0025209205 ISBN 13: 9780025209206
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Macmillan Publishing Company, 1986. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P110025209205

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
47.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.51
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds