The River That Flows Uphill: A Journey from the Big Bang to the Big Brain

4.44 avg rating
( 91 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780025209206: The River That Flows Uphill: A Journey from the Big Bang to the Big Brain

Written in the form of a scientists diary of a two-week float trip down the Colorado River through the Grand Canyon. There we find rocks of great age, fossils, dwellings of Stone Age peoples, and experience the land much as our ancestors did during all those untold generations in the dimly remembered world from which we somehow took flight.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

Written as the log of an expedition down the Colorado River through the Grand Canyon, this is an acclaimed work of popular science in the tradition of Lewis Thomas and Stephen Jay Gould which speculates on the origin and evolution of human intelligence. 18 line drawings. 15 maps.

About the Author:

William H. Calvin is a theoretical neurophysiologist at the University of Washington. He is the author of The Atlantic Monthlys cover story, The Great Climate Flip-Flop, and of ten books, including The Cerebral Code, How Brains Think, The Throwing Madonna, The River that Flows Uphill, The Cerebral Symphony, and co-author of Conversations with Neils Brain and Lingua ex Machina.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

William H. Calvin
Published by Macmillan Publishing Company (1986)
ISBN 10: 0025209205 ISBN 13: 9780025209206
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Macmillan Publishing Company, 1986. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0025209205

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
36.11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

William H. Calvin
Published by Macmillan Publishing Company (1986)
ISBN 10: 0025209205 ISBN 13: 9780025209206
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Macmillan Publishing Company, 1986. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0025209205

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
43.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.11
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

William H. Calvin
Published by Macmillan Publishing Company (1986)
ISBN 10: 0025209205 ISBN 13: 9780025209206
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Macmillan Publishing Company, 1986. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110025209205

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
57.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.33
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

William H. Calvin
ISBN 10: 0025209205 ISBN 13: 9780025209206
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800252092061.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
78.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.11
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds