The Orphans of Halfpenny Street (Children’s Home, Book 1)

4.15 avg rating
( 538 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780008118440: The Orphans of Halfpenny Street (Children’s Home, Book 1)

Call the Midwife meets Dr Barnardo’s in this gritty drama that will appeal to fans of Nadine Dorries and Kitty Neale.

When there is nowhere else to turn, St Saviour’s will give them hope...

It’s 1948 and London’s East End is still a bombed-out landscape. Sister Beatrice, who runs the St Saviour’s Children’s Home, knows that life is still a precarious existence for many children and it seems that there is no end to the constant stream of waifs and strays who appear at their door looking for a safe haven.
One such arrival is Mary Ellen whose mother is gravely ill. The one silver lining is her best friend, the tearaway Billy Baggins, also a resident of the home, but Billy seems intent on falling foul of Sister Beatrice’s strict regime.
New arrival on the staff, Angela, admires Sister Beatrice, but can see that the children need love and kindness as well as a strong hand. When an unwelcome face from Billy’s past arrives on the scene, things are brought to a head. Can the two women work together to keep Billy on the straight and narrow – or is it too late?

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Cathy Sharp is happily married and lives with her husband in a small Cambridgeshire village. They like visiting Spain together and enjoy the benefits of sunshine and pleasant walks, while at home they love their garden and visiting the Norfolk seaside.

Cathy loves writing because it gives pleasure to others, she finds writing an extension of herself and it gives her great satisfaction. Cathy says, ‘There is nothing like seeing your book in print, because so much loving care has been given to bringing that book into being.’

Review:

.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Cathy Sharp
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 0008118442 ISBN 13: 9780008118440
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. UK ed.. Language: English . Brand New Book. Call the Midwife meets Dr Barnardo s in this gritty drama that will appeal to fans of Nadine Dorries and Kitty Neale.When there is nowhere else to turn, St Saviour s will give them hope.It s 1947 and London s East End is still a bombed-out landscape. Sister Beatrice, who runs the St Saviour s Children s Home, knows that life is still a precarious existence for many children and it seems that there is no end to the constant stream of waifs and strays who appear at their door looking for a safe haven.One such arrival is Mary Ellen whose mother is gravely ill. The one silver lining is her best friend, the tearaway Billy Baggins, also a resident of the home, but Billy seems intent on falling foul of Sister Beatrice s strict regime.New arrival on the staff, Angela, admires Sister Beatrice, but can see that the children need love and kindness as well as a strong hand. When an unwelcome face from Billy s past arrives on the scene, things are brought to a head. Can the two women work together to keep Billy on the straight and narrow - or is it too late?. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780008118440

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.45
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Sharp, Cathy
Published by HarperCollins (2015)
ISBN 10: 0008118442 ISBN 13: 9780008118440
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
WYEMART LIMITED
(HEREFORD, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. All items inspected and guaranteed. All Orders Dispatched from the UK within one working day. Established business with excellent service record. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000149449

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Cathy Sharpe
Published by Harper 2015-09-10 (2015)
ISBN 10: 0008118442 ISBN 13: 9780008118440
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 2015-09-10, 2015. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-05210464

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Cathy Sharp
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 0008118442 ISBN 13: 9780008118440
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. UK ed.. Language: English . Brand New Book. Call the Midwife meets Dr Barnardo s in this gritty drama that will appeal to fans of Nadine Dorries and Kitty Neale.When there is nowhere else to turn, St Saviour s will give them hope.It s 1947 and London s East End is still a bombed-out landscape. Sister Beatrice, who runs the St Saviour s Children s Home, knows that life is still a precarious existence for many children and it seems that there is no end to the constant stream of waifs and strays who appear at their door looking for a safe haven.One such arrival is Mary Ellen whose mother is gravely ill. The one silver lining is her best friend, the tearaway Billy Baggins, also a resident of the home, but Billy seems intent on falling foul of Sister Beatrice s strict regime.New arrival on the staff, Angela, admires Sister Beatrice, but can see that the children need love and kindness as well as a strong hand. When an unwelcome face from Billy s past arrives on the scene, things are brought to a head. Can the two women work together to keep Billy on the straight and narrow - or is it too late?. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780008118440

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.41
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Cathy Sharp
Published by Harper 2015-09-10 (2015)
ISBN 10: 0008118442 ISBN 13: 9780008118440
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 2015-09-10, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # NU-HCL-00010288

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Cathy Sharp
Published by HarperCollins (2015)
ISBN 10: 0008118442 ISBN 13: 9780008118440
New Softcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2015. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # GH9780008118440

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.42
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.67
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Sharp, Cathy
Published by Harper (2015)
ISBN 10: 0008118442 ISBN 13: 9780008118440
New Paperback Quantity Available: 7
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Bookseller Inventory # mon0001682605

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Sharp, Cathy
Published by Harper (2015)
ISBN 10: 0008118442 ISBN 13: 9780008118440
New Softcover Quantity Available: 7
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2015. Book Condition: New. Call the Midwife meets Dr Barnardo's in this gritty drama that will appeal to fans of Nadine Dorries and Kitty Neale. Series: Children's Home. Num Pages: 512 pages. BIC Classification: FT. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 131 x 197 x 34. Weight in Grams: 360. . 2015. Paperback. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780008118440

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Sharp, Cathy
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0008118442 ISBN 13: 9780008118440
New Softcover Quantity Available: 7
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Book Condition: New. Call the Midwife meets Dr Barnardo's in this gritty drama that will appeal to fans of Nadine Dorries and Kitty Neale. Series: Children's Home. Num Pages: 512 pages. BIC Classification: FT. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 131 x 197 x 34. Weight in Grams: 360. . 2015. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780008118440

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Cathy Sharp
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0008118442 ISBN 13: 9780008118440
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Bookseller Inventory # B9780008118440

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book