The Lady and the Unicorn

3.67 avg rating
( 34,569 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007743995: The Lady and the Unicorn

The new novel from the author of the much-loved Girl with a Pearl Earring and Falling Angels.

The Lady and the Unicorn tapestries are a set of six medieval tapestries. Beautiful, intricate and expertly made, they are also mysterious in their origin and meaning.

Tapestries give an appearance of order and continuity, as if designed and made by one person, belying the complicated process required to create them. Weavers, patrons, designers, artists, merchants and apprentices were involved in their making, and behind them were the wives, daughters and servants who exercised influences over their men. Like the many strands of wool and silk woven together into one cloth, so these people came together in a complex dance to create the whole picture.

Jean le Viste, a newly wealthy member of the French court, commissions the tapestries to hang in his chateau. Nicolas, his chosen designer, meets le Viste's wife Genevieve and his daughter Claude, both of whom take a keen interest in the tapestries. From Paris, Nicolas moves to a weaver's workshop in Brussels. The creation of the tapestries brings together people who would not otherwise meet – their lives become entangled, and so do their desires. As they fall in love, are shunned, take revenge, find unrequited love, turn to the church or to pagan ideals, the tapestries become to each an ideal vision of life – yet all discover that they are unable to make this ideal world their own.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

From the bestselling author of Girl with a Pearl Earring comes a historical tale of love, sex and revenge.

Jean le Viste, a newly-wealthy member of the French court, commissions a series of tapestries to hang in his chateau named ‘The Lady and the Unicorn.’ Nicolas, his chosen designer, is a talented artist. He is also dangerously attractive to the women around him including le Viste's wife, Genevieve, and his daughter, Claude. Nicolas is at once smitten with Claude but will her social standing prevent her from returning his advances?

As Nicolas begins to weave the tapestries so too do the lives and desires of the people around him intertwine. As people fall in love, are shunned, take revenge, find unrequited love, turn to the church or to pagan ideals, the tapestries become to each an ideal vision of life – yet all discover that they are unable to make this ideal world their own.

Set against the historical backdrop of medieval France, Chevalier weaves together an intricate tapestry of love, revenge & art in a novel which will appeal to fans of Sarah Dunant, Rachel Hore and Philippa Gregory.

Product Description:

From the bestselling author of Girl with a Pearl Earring comes a historical tale of love, sex and revenge.

Keen to demonstrate his new-found favour with the King, rising nobleman Jean Le Viste commissions six tapestries to adorn the walls of his château. He expects soldiers and bloody battlefields. But artist Nicolas des Innocents instead designs a seductive world of women, unicorns and flowers, using as his muses Le Viste’s wife Geneviève and ripe young daughter Claude. In Belgium, as his designs spring to life
under the weavers’ fingers, Nicolas is inspired once more – by the master weaver’s daughter Aliénor and her mother Christine. They too will be captured in his threads.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Tracy Chevalier
Published by Imprint unknown
ISBN 10: 0007743998 ISBN 13: 9780007743995
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Imprint unknown. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # zk0007743998

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 58.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Chevalier, Tracy
Published by Imprint unknown (2004)
ISBN 10: 0007743998 ISBN 13: 9780007743995
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Imprint unknown, 2004. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 7743998

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 95.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds