The Lady and the Unicorn

3.66 avg rating
( 33,671 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780007743995: The Lady and the Unicorn

From the bestselling author of Girl with a Pearl Earring comes a historical tale of love, sex and revenge.

Jean le Viste, a newly-wealthy member of the French court, commissions a series of tapestries to hang in his chateau named ‘The Lady and the Unicorn.’ Nicolas, his chosen designer, is a talented artist. He is also dangerously attractive to the women around him including le Viste's wife, Genevieve, and his daughter, Claude. Nicolas is at once smitten with Claude but will her social standing prevent her from returning his advances?

As Nicolas begins to weave the tapestries so too do the lives and desires of the people around him intertwine. As people fall in love, are shunned, take revenge, find unrequited love, turn to the church or to pagan ideals, the tapestries become to each an ideal vision of life – yet all discover that they are unable to make this ideal world their own.

Set against the historical backdrop of medieval France, Chevalier weaves together an intricate tapestry of love, revenge & art in a novel which will appeal to fans of Sarah Dunant, Rachel Hore and Philippa Gregory.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

From the bestselling author of Girl with a Pearl Earring comes a historical tale of love, sex and revenge.

Keen to demonstrate his new-found favour with the King, rising nobleman Jean Le Viste commissions six tapestries to adorn the walls of his château. He expects soldiers and bloody battlefields. But artist Nicolas des Innocents instead designs a seductive world of women, unicorns and flowers, using as his muses Le Viste’s wife Geneviève and ripe young daughter Claude. In Belgium, as his designs spring to life
under the weavers’ fingers, Nicolas is inspired once more – by the master weaver’s daughter Aliénor and her mother Christine. They too will be captured in his threads.

Review:

If you think you wouldn't raise your skirts for a rakish legend about the purifying powers of a unicorn's horn, then maybe you aren't a 15th-century serving girl under the sway of a velvet-tongued court painter of ill repute. In keeping with her bestselling Girl with a Pearl Earring, and its Edwardian-era follow-up, Falling Angels, Tracy Chevalier's tale of artistic creation and late-medieval amours, The Lady and the Unicorn is a subtle study in social power and the conflicts between love and duty. Nicolas des Innocents has been commissioned by the Parisian nobleman Jean Le Viste to design a series of large tapestries for his great hall (in real life, the famous Lady and the Unicorn cycle, now in Paris's Musee National du Moyen-Age Thermes de Cluny). While Nicolas is measuring the walls, he meets a beautiful girl who turns out to be Jean Le Viste's daughter. Their passion is impossible for their world--so forbidden, given their class differences, that its only avenue of expression turns out to be those magnificent tapestries. The historical evidence on which this story is based is slight enough to allow the full play of Chevalier's imagination in this cleverly woven tale. --Regina Marler, Amazon.com

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Chevalier, Tracy
Published by Imprint unknown
ISBN 10: 0007743998 ISBN 13: 9780007743995
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Imprint unknown. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # zk0007743998

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
58.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Chevalier, Tracy
Published by Imprint unknown (2004)
ISBN 10: 0007743998 ISBN 13: 9780007743995
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Imprint unknown, 2004. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 7743998

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
109.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds