Tahir, Sabaa An Ember in the Ashes

ISBN 13: 9780007593262

An Ember in the Ashes

4.32 avg rating
( 77,257 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780007593262: An Ember in the Ashes

Set in a terrifyingly brutal Rome-like world, AN EMBER IN THE ASHES is an epic fantasy debut about an orphan fighting for her family and a soldier fighting for his freedom. It’s a story that’s literally burning to be told.

What if you were an ember, a spark that could ignite a revolution?

For years Laia has lived in fear. Fear of the Empire, fear of the Martials, fear of truly living at all. Born as a Scholar, she’s never had much of a choice.

For Elias it’s the opposite. He has seen too much on his path to becoming a Mask, one of the Empire’s elite soldiers. With the Masks’ help the Empire has conquered a continent and enslaved thousands, all in the name of power.

When Laia’s brother is taken she must force herself to help the Resistance, the only people who have a chance of saving him. She must spy on the Commandant, ruthless overseer of Blackcliff Academy. Blackcliff is the training ground for Masks and the very place that Elias is planning to escape. If he succeeds, he will be named deserter. If found, the punishment will be death.

But once Laia and Elias meet, they will find that their destinies are intertwined and that their choices will change the fate of the Empire itself.

In the ashes of a broken world one person can make a difference. One voice in the dark can be heard. The price of freedom is always high and this time that price might demand everything, even life itself.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

Set in a terrifyingly brutal Rome-like world, AN EMBER IN THE ASHES is an epic fantasy debut about an orphan fighting for her family and a soldier fighting for his freedom. It’s a story that’s literally burning to be told.

Laia is a Scholar living under the iron-fisted rule of the Martial Empire. When her brother is arrested for treason, Laia goes undercover as a slave at the empire’s greatest military academy in exchange for assistance from rebel Scholars who claim that they will help to save her brother from execution.

Elias is the academy’s finest soldier— and secretly, its most unwilling. Elias is considering deserting the military, but before he can, he’s ordered to participate in a ruthless contest to choose the next Martial emperor.

When Laia and Elias’s paths cross at the academy, they find that their destinies are more intertwined than either could have imagined and that their choices will change the future of the empire itself.

Vow your blood and body to the empire.

Keep your heart for yourself.

Review:

‘With AN EMBER IN THE ASHES, Sabaa Tahir shows us light in darkness, hope in a world of despair, and the human spirit reaching for greatness in difficult times.’
Brandon Sanderson, #1 New York Times bestselling author

‘A heart-pounding story of love and loss, with the most original world-building I’ve read all year. Deeply felt and deeply moving, I could not put it down’ Margaret Stohl, New York Times bestselling author of BEAUTIFUL CREATURES

‘This electric debut is a pulse-pounding, action-packed Romeo and Juliet story in a richly imagined world with a great twist and heroic characters you’ll root for and won’t stop thinking about’ Melissa de la Cruz, New York Times bestselling author of FROZEN and THE RING AND THE CROWN

‘AN EMBER IN THE ASHES is a spectacular page turner that asks readers to consider how far they’d go to save the ones they love. Sabaa Tahir is the next superstar in young adult fiction and her debut is as cinematic as Gladiator and as high-stakes as Game of Thrones’ Holly Goldberg Sloan, New York Times bestselling author of COUNTING BY 7S and I’LL BE THERE

‘Blew me away…This book is dark, complex, vivid, and romantic?expect to be completely transported’ MTV.com

‘Perfect for fans of Maggie Stiefvater's The Scorpio Races or Sarah Maas's Throne of Glass series… The book is already set to be a film, which will be EPIC! ‘ TeenVogue.com

‘Every review I’ve seen or heard of this book has me counting down the minutes until its release’ The Huffington Post

‘An original, well-constructed fantasy world… truly engaging’ Kirkus Reviews

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book

Shipping: 16.79
From Ireland to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Tahir, Sabaa
Published by Harper Voyager, London, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 0007593260 ISBN 13: 9780007593262
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Kelleher Rare Books
(Naas, Ireland)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Voyager, London, United Kingdom, 2015. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. First UK Edition, First Printing. Published in and edition of only 250 signed and numbered copies, with sprayed black edges as opposed to white in the regular edition, this is copy number 114. In collectors condition, clean and unmarked, unread. Signed by Author(s). Bookseller Inventory # 004949

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
79.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 16.79
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds