Flashman (The Flashman Papers, Book 1)

4.08 avg rating
( 8,742 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780007584444: Flashman (The Flashman Papers, Book 1)

A special facsimile edition of the original Flashman. Perfect for fans of The Flashman Papers.

Coward, scoundrel, imposter, and cad though Flashman may be, there is no better man to go into the jungle with. George MacDonald Fraser’s beloved series of Flashman adventures resurrects the blackguard bully of Tom Brown’s Schooldays as he survives fearful ordeals and outlandish perils across the four corners the world, his redeeming qualities being humour and shameless honesty. A vivid voice of times long gone, Flashman’s memoirs remain as fresh and enthralling as when penned – a treat for readers of all ages.

In this first instalment of The Flashman Papers, his adventures as the reluctant secret agent in Afghanistan and his entry into the exclusive company of Lord Cardigan’s Hussars culminate in Flashman’s foulest hour – his part in the historic disaster of the Retreat from Kabul.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

'The Flashman Papers do what all great sagas do – winning new admirers along the way but never, ever betraying old ones. It is an immense achievement.' Sunday Telegraph

‘Not so much a march as a full-blooded charge, fortified by the usual lashings of salty sex, meticulously choreographed battle scenes and hilariously spineless acts of self preservation by Flashman.’ Sunday Times

‘Not only are the Flashman books extremely funny, but they give meticulous care to authenticity. You can, between the guffaws, learn from them.’ Washington Post

‘A first-rate historical novelist’ Kingsley Amis

Book Description:

Flashman and the Great Game takes our man into the world of Kim, as he spies for the British, dallies with a luscious maharani and - despite spectacular acts of spinelessness - not only survives the bloodbath of the Indian Mutiny but emerges with a Victoria Cross and a knighthood.Impossible to put down and some of the greatest comic writing of the last 100 years.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

GEORGE MACDONALD FRASER
ISBN 10: 000758444X ISBN 13: 9780007584444
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Bibliophile
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. H. Bookseller Inventory # 78884

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
2.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Fraser, George MacDonald
Published by HarperCollins (2014)
ISBN 10: 000758444X ISBN 13: 9780007584444
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Pearlydewdrops
(Streat, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2014. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Shipped from the UK within 2 business days of order being placed. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000095504

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.10
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Fraser, George MacDonald
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd (2014)
ISBN 10: 000758444X ISBN 13: 9780007584444
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Enterprise Books
(Chicago, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Ltd, 2014. Hardcover, map. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. Facsimile Reprint; First Printing. New Book and DJ. NO names or ANY markings. DJ not price clipped (£14.99) ; The Flashman Papers; 526 pages. Bookseller Inventory # 58358

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
14.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.21
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds