Fiction War Kay Brellend Rosie’s War

ISBN 13: 9780007575305

Rosie’s War

4.23 avg rating
( 48 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007575305: Rosie’s War

A compelling wartime drama from the author of The Street, perfect for fans of Pam Weaver and Kitty Neale.

Rosie Gardiner is having a tough war. She’s had to leave her job as a nude at the Windmill in Soho after a horrific assault which left her pregnant, and is now living back at home with her recently remarried dad. Despite her best efforts, Rosie and her dad just can’t get along and the strain of coping as a young unmarried mother is getting to her.

As the Nazis strafe the city with V2 bombs, Rosie is determined to keep her head up through the Blitz but when a direct hit to her street cripples her father, it feels like the days have never been darker. With a final burst of resolution, John Gardiner decides to leave London to escape the bombardment and to Rosie’s mixed horror and relief, he takes her baby with him. Left alone in the East End, with the spectre of the man who assaulted her rearing his ugly head, Rosie decides to join the London Auxiliary Ambulance Service to keep her busy – and to give her hope in these tough times.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Kay Brellend, the third of six children, was born in North London but now lives in a Victorian farmhouse in Suffolk. Under a pseudonym she has written sixteen historical novels published in England and North America. Her novels are inspired by her grandmother’s reminiscences about her early life growing up in Islington.

Review:

Praise for Kay Brellend from five-star reviews on
Amazon.co.uk:

Brilliant read! Really takes you through a journey of hardship love hate etc. Was gripped from beginning to end!!!
By Woo

This book was excellent, I didn't want it to end. Reading it made me feel like I was living in the era the book was set in.
By Amanda Bicknell

What a wonderful read...having been born near this area l could see the places and people as described, could not wait to read a few more chapters each night but was so sad when l finished it.
By LondonSue

loved this book the sort you pickup and can’t put back down, the setting and characters really come to life, it's as if you can see it and breath it. Wonderful.
By K

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Kay Brellend
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007575300 ISBN 13: 9780007575305
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. UK ed.. Language: English . Brand New Book. A compelling wartime drama from the author of The Street, perfect for fans of Pam Weaver and Kitty Neale.Rosie Gardiner is having a tough war. She s had to leave her job as a nude at the Windmill in Soho after a horrific assault which left her pregnant, and is now living back at home with her recently remarried dad. Despite her best efforts, Rosie and her dad just can t get along and the strain of coping as a young unmarried mother is getting to her.As the Nazis strafe the city with V2 bombs, Rosie is determined to keep her head up through the Blitz but when a direct hit to her street cripples her father, it feels like the days have never been darker. With a final burst of resolution, John Gardiner decides to leave London to escape the bombardment and to Rosie s mixed horror and relief, he takes her baby with him. Left alone in the East End, with the spectre of the man who assaulted her rearing his ugly head, Rosie decides to join the London Auxiliary Ambulance Service to keep her busy - and to give her hope in these tough times. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007575305

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Kay Brellend
Published by Harper 2016-01-14 (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007575300 ISBN 13: 9780007575305
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 2016-01-14, 2016. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-05196708

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Kay Brellend
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007575300 ISBN 13: 9780007575305
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. UK ed.. Language: English . Brand New Book. A compelling wartime drama from the author of The Street, perfect for fans of Pam Weaver and Kitty Neale.Rosie Gardiner is having a tough war. She s had to leave her job as a nude at the Windmill in Soho after a horrific assault which left her pregnant, and is now living back at home with her recently remarried dad. Despite her best efforts, Rosie and her dad just can t get along and the strain of coping as a young unmarried mother is getting to her.As the Nazis strafe the city with V2 bombs, Rosie is determined to keep her head up through the Blitz but when a direct hit to her street cripples her father, it feels like the days have never been darker. With a final burst of resolution, John Gardiner decides to leave London to escape the bombardment and to Rosie s mixed horror and relief, he takes her baby with him. Left alone in the East End, with the spectre of the man who assaulted her rearing his ugly head, Rosie decides to join the London Auxiliary Ambulance Service to keep her busy - and to give her hope in these tough times. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007575305

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.51
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Brellend, Kay
Published by Harper (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007575300 ISBN 13: 9780007575305
New Paperback Quantity Available: 6
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Bookseller Inventory # mon0001796614

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Brellend, Kay
Published by Harper (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007575300 ISBN 13: 9780007575305
New Softcover Quantity Available: 6
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2016. Book Condition: New. A compelling wartime drama from the author of The Street, perfect for fans of Pam Weaver and Kitty Neale. Num Pages: 400 pages. BIC Classification: FT. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 130. . . 2016. Paperback. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780007575305

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Kay Brellend
Published by Harper 2016-01-14 (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007575300 ISBN 13: 9780007575305
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 2016-01-14, 2016. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-HCL-00005794

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Brellend, Kay
Published by Harper (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007575300 ISBN 13: 9780007575305
New Paperback Quantity Available: 8
Seller:
Learnearly Books
(Doncaster, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Rapidly dispatched worldwide from our clean, automated UK warehouse within 1-2 working days. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000089460

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
0.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Brellend, Kay
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0007575300 ISBN 13: 9780007575305
New Softcover Quantity Available: 6
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Book Condition: New. A compelling wartime drama from the author of The Street, perfect for fans of Pam Weaver and Kitty Neale. Num Pages: 400 pages. BIC Classification: FT. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 130. . . 2016. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780007575305

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Kay Brellend
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0007575300 ISBN 13: 9780007575305
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Bookseller Inventory # B9780007575305

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.14
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Kay Brellend
ISBN 10: 0007575300 ISBN 13: 9780007575305
New Paperback Quantity Available: 6
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Not Signed; A compelling wartime drama from the author of The Street, perfect for fans of Pam Weaver and Kitty Neale.Rosie Gardiner is having a tough war. She's had to leave her job as a nude at the Windmill in Soho after a horrific assault which left her pregnant, and is now living back at home with her recent. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780007575305_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.87
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book