Yip, Mingmei Memoirs of a Courtesan

ISBN 13: 9780007570140

Memoirs of a Courtesan

9780007570140: Memoirs of a Courtesan

The ultimate femme fatale who could bring a man to his knees, or to his doom...When Camilla, a young orphan girl in Shanghai, is adopted and brought to live in luxury, it seems like a stroke of luck. But as Camilla grows to womanhood, she realizes that her "rescue" was part of gang leader Big Brother Wang's scheme. Camilla is trained in singing, dancing, knife-throwing and contortion - all to attract the attention of Wang's enemy, the ruthless Master Lung. Forced to become Master Lung's mistress, Camilla meets two other intriguing women: Shadow a rival for Master Lung's affections and Rainbow Chang, who wields power through her incendiary gossip column. Both pose risks to Camilla's safety and status.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

Did you love Memoirs of a Geisha? Want to be swept away by an epic tale of intrigue, forbidden love and deadly rivalries? A poor orphan girl is saved by a rich man and brought Shanghai. She becomes a beautiful and sophisticated singer, the talk of the town, wanted by every man. But her destiny is not to be so simple - lies, seduction and a terrible choice must follow...For fans of Anchee Min and Memoirs of a Geisha, this is a gripping story that will seduce and enchant you.


'Memoirs of a Geisha but with a sharper, more suspenseful pace' Powell's Books 'A guilty pleasure...enjoy the exotic location and characters... This is a large, luscious box of chocolates' RTBook (4 star review) 'Beautifully written, readers will not be able to put this book down until the last page is turned' Romance Review Today

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

(No Available Copies)

Search Books:

Create a Want

If you know the book but cannot find it on AbeBooks, we can automatically search for it on your behalf as new inventory is added. If it is added to AbeBooks by one of our member booksellers, we will notify you!

Create a Want