John Burley The Hiding Place

ISBN 13: 9780007559503

The Hiding Place

3.67 avg rating
( 859 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007559503: The Hiding Place

A female psychiatrist at a state mental hospital finds herself at the center of a shadowy conspiracy in this dark and twisting tale of psychological suspense from the author of The Absence of Mercy.

Menaker State Hospital is a curse, a refuge, a prison, a necessity, a nightmare, a salvation.

When Dr. Lise Shields arrived at the correctional psychiatric facility five years ago, she was warned that many of its patients-committed by Maryland’s judicial system for perpetrating heinous crimes-would never leave.

But what happens when a place like Menaker is corrupted, when it becomes a tool to silence the innocent, conceal an injustice, contain a secret? Why is it that the newest patient does not seem to belong there, that the hospital administrator has fallen silent, and that Lise is being watched by two men with seemingly lethal intent? The answers are closer than she realizes and could cost her everything she holds dear.

In this chilling follow-up to The Absence of Mercy, author John Burley—a master at medical and psychological detail—showcases the many ways in which the dangers of the outside world pale in comparison to the horrors of the human mind.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

Menaker State Hospital is a curse, a refuge, a prison, a necessity, a nightmare, a salvation

When Dr. Lise Shields arrived at the correctional psychiatric facility five years ago, she was warned that many of its patients—committed by Maryland's judicial system for perpetrating heinous crimes—would never leave.

But what happens when a place like Menaker is corrupted, when it becomes a tool to silence the innocent, conceal injustice, contain secrets? Why is it that the newest patient does not seem to belong there, that the hospital administrator has fallen silent, and that Lise is being watched by two men with seemingly lethal intent? The answers are closer than she realizes and could cost her everything she holds dear.

In this chilling follow-up to The Absence of Mercy, author John Burley—a master of medical and psychological detail—showcases the many ways in which the dangers of the outside world pale in comparison to the horrors of the human mind.

About the Author:

John Burley is the award-winning author of The Absence of Mercy, which won the National Black Ribbon Award recognizing a new voice in suspense writing. He attended medical school in Chicago and completed his emergency medicine residency at University of Maryland Medical Center and R. Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center in Baltimore. He continues to serve as an emergency medicine physician in Northern California, where he lives with his wife, daughter, and Great Dane.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

John Burley
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 000755950X ISBN 13: 9780007559503
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. She can t reach him . but he can get to her .A chilling twisty tale of cat and mouse - perfect for fans of Linwood Barclay and Harlan Coben.Dr Lise Shields works with the most deadly criminals in America. At Menaker psychiatric hospital all are guilty and no one ever leaves. Then she meets Jason Edwards.Jason is an anomaly. No transfer order, no patient history, no paperwork at all. Is he really guilty of the horrific crimes he s been sentenced for?Caught up in a web of unanswered questions and hastily concealed injustices, the spotlight begins to shine on Lise. She s being watched, and the doors of Menaker psychiatric hospital are closing in.In Lise s quest to discover the truth, is there anywhere left to hide?. Bookseller Inventory # AWC9780007559503

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

John Burley
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 000755950X ISBN 13: 9780007559503
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. She can t reach him . but he can get to her .A chilling twisty tale of cat and mouse - perfect for fans of Linwood Barclay and Harlan Coben.Dr Lise Shields works with the most deadly criminals in America. At Menaker psychiatric hospital all are guilty and no one ever leaves. Then she meets Jason Edwards.Jason is an anomaly. No transfer order, no patient history, no paperwork at all. Is he really guilty of the horrific crimes he s been sentenced for?Caught up in a web of unanswered questions and hastily concealed injustices, the spotlight begins to shine on Lise. She s being watched, and the doors of Menaker psychiatric hospital are closing in.In Lise s quest to discover the truth, is there anywhere left to hide?. Bookseller Inventory # AWC9780007559503

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.25
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

John Burley
Published by Avon
ISBN 10: 000755950X ISBN 13: 9780007559503
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Avon. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Bookseller Inventory # B9780007559503

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
1.45
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

John Burley
Published by Avon 2015-08-27 (2015)
ISBN 10: 000755950X ISBN 13: 9780007559503
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Avon 2015-08-27, 2015. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-HCL-00010947

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Burley, John
Published by Avon (2015)
ISBN 10: 000755950X ISBN 13: 9780007559503
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Avon, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Bookseller Inventory # mon0001632343

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Burley, John
Published by AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd (2015)
ISBN 10: 000755950X ISBN 13: 9780007559503
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Rating
[?]

Book Description AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd, 2015. Book Condition: New. She can't reach him . but he can get to her . A chilling twisty tale of cat and mouse - perfect for fans of Linwood Barclay and Harlan Coben. Num Pages: 352 pages. BIC Classification: FF; FH. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 199 x 128 x 24. Weight in Grams: 264. . 2015. Paperback. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780007559503

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Burley, John
Published by Avon (2015)
ISBN 10: 000755950X ISBN 13: 9780007559503
New Paperback Quantity Available: 12
Seller:
Learnearly Books
(Doncaster, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Avon, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Rapidly dispatched worldwide from our clean, automated UK warehouse within 1-2 working days. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000077645

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
0.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Burley, John
Published by AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
ISBN 10: 000755950X ISBN 13: 9780007559503
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd. Book Condition: New. She can't reach him . but he can get to her . A chilling twisty tale of cat and mouse - perfect for fans of Linwood Barclay and Harlan Coben. Num Pages: 352 pages. BIC Classification: FF; FH. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 199 x 128 x 24. Weight in Grams: 264. . 2015. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780007559503

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

John Burley
ISBN 10: 000755950X ISBN 13: 9780007559503
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Not Signed; She can't reach him . but he can get to her .A chilling twisty tale of cat and mouse - perfect for fans of Linwood Barclay and Harlan Coben.Dr Lise Shields works with the most deadly criminals in America. At Menaker psychiatric hospital all are guilty and no one ever leaves. Then she meets Jason. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780007559503_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.87
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

John Burley
ISBN 10: 000755950X ISBN 13: 9780007559503
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST000755950X. Bookseller Inventory # ST000755950X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.20
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book