Anne Bennett A Strong Hand to Hold

ISBN 13: 9780007547760

A Strong Hand to Hold

4.24 avg rating
( 136 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007547760: A Strong Hand to Hold

Linda is 12 years old when a bomb explosion kills her family and leaves her beneath debris. Jenny crawls through a tunnel to save her. They form a friendship that lasts them through the years. But Linda falls in love with a man that Jenny cannot but hate.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Anne Bennett was born in the Horsefair district of Birmingham. The daughter of Roman Catholic Irish immigrants, she grew up in a tight-knit community. For many years she taught in schools to the north of Birmingham, before an accident put paid to that career. This gave her the chance to write full time. She has four children and five grandchildren. In 2006, after sixteen years in a wheelchair, Anne was able to walk again.

Review:

Praise for Anne Bennett:`A powerful read that will have you gripped.' Yours`[Anne Bennett is] blessed with a vivid imagination and a natural aptitude for writing' Daily Post`An affecting story, populated with rich, beautifully drawn characters.' Choice`The beauty of Anne's books is that they are about normal people and are sewn through with human emotions which affect us all' Birmingham Post

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Anne Bennett
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007547765 ISBN 13: 9780007547760
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. UK ed.. Language: English . Brand New Book. A heartbreaking tale of love and loss in a time of war, perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Annie Groves.Jenny O Leary is devastated one morning in 1940 when she receives a telegram giving her the dreadful news that one of her brothers has been killed in action. Grief threatens to engulf her, but as an ARP warden, tending to Birmingham s injured after the nightly raids, she is well-used to the suffering that thousands are enduring every day.Linda Prosser is just twelve years old and desperately close to her mother and two tiny brothers. As the bombs drop around them one fateful night, Linda takes a risk which has disastrous consequences. Terrified, and buried beneath a mass of debris after her home takes a direct hit, it is Jenny who crawls through the wreckage of the house to rescue her.So begins a friendship which is last through the years. But when Linda falls in love with a man that Jenny despises, she is faced with sacrificing her future happiness for the friend who has given her everything. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007547760

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Anne Bennett
Published by HarperCollins (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007547765 ISBN 13: 9780007547760
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
AwesomeBooks
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. A Strong Hand to Hold Brand new item sourced directly from publisher. Packed securely in tight packaging to ensure no damage. Shipped from warehouse on same/next day basis. Bookseller Inventory # 1111-9780007547760

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.20
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Anne Bennett
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007547765 ISBN 13: 9780007547760
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. UK ed.. Language: English . Brand New Book. A heartbreaking tale of love and loss in a time of war, perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Annie Groves.Jenny O Leary is devastated one morning in 1940 when she receives a telegram giving her the dreadful news that one of her brothers has been killed in action. Grief threatens to engulf her, but as an ARP warden, tending to Birmingham s injured after the nightly raids, she is well-used to the suffering that thousands are enduring every day.Linda Prosser is just twelve years old and desperately close to her mother and two tiny brothers. As the bombs drop around them one fateful night, Linda takes a risk which has disastrous consequences. Terrified, and buried beneath a mass of debris after her home takes a direct hit, it is Jenny who crawls through the wreckage of the house to rescue her.So begins a friendship which is last through the years. But when Linda falls in love with a man that Jenny despises, she is faced with sacrificing her future happiness for the friend who has given her everything. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007547760

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.29
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Bennett, Anne
Published by Harper Collins 2014-07-03 (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007547765 ISBN 13: 9780007547760
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins 2014-07-03, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007547760B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.55
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Bennett, Anne
Published by Harper (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007547765 ISBN 13: 9780007547760
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Bookseller Inventory # mon0001240891

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Anne Bennett
Published by Harper 2014-07-03 (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007547765 ISBN 13: 9780007547760
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 2014-07-03, 2014. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-HCL-00007812

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Anne Bennett
Published by HarperCollins (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007547765 ISBN 13: 9780007547760
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2014. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # GH9780007547760

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.43
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.67
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Bennett, Anne
Published by Harper (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007547765 ISBN 13: 9780007547760
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
AMM Books
(Gillingham, KENT, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. In stock ready to dispatch from the UK. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000170296

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
1.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Bennett, Anne
Published by Harper (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007547765 ISBN 13: 9780007547760
New Softcover Quantity Available: 3
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2014. Book Condition: New. A heartbreaking tale of love and loss in a time of war, perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Annie Groves. Num Pages: 480 pages. BIC Classification: FT. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 130 x 31. Weight in Grams: 340. . 2014. Paperback. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780007547760

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.59
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Bennett, Anne
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0007547765 ISBN 13: 9780007547760
New Softcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Book Condition: New. A heartbreaking tale of love and loss in a time of war, perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Annie Groves. Num Pages: 480 pages. BIC Classification: FT. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 130 x 31. Weight in Grams: 340. . 2014. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780007547760

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.73
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book