Bennett, Anne A Strong Hand to Hold

ISBN 13: 9780007547760

A Strong Hand to Hold

4.24 avg rating
( 107 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780007547760: A Strong Hand to Hold

A heartbreaking tale of love and loss in a time of war, perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Annie Groves.

Jenny O’Leary is devastated one morning in 1940 when she receives a telegram giving her the dreadful news that one of her brothers has been killed in action. Grief threatens to engulf her, but as an ARP warden, tending to Birmingham’s injured after the nightly raids, she is well-used to the suffering that thousands are enduring every day.

Linda Prosser is just twelve years old and desperately close to her mother and two tiny brothers. As the bombs drop around them one fateful night, Linda takes a risk which has disastrous consequences. Terrified, and buried beneath a mass of debris after her home takes a direct hit, it is Jenny who crawls through the wreckage of the house to rescue her.

So begins a friendship which is last through the years. But when Linda falls in love with a man that Jenny despises, she is faced with sacrificing her future happiness for the friend who has given her everything…

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Praise for Anne Bennett:

‘A powerful read that will have you gripped.’ Yours

‘[Anne Bennett is] blessed with a vivid imagination and a natural aptitude for writing’ Daily Post

‘An affecting story, populated with rich, beautifully drawn characters.’ Choice

‘The beauty of Anne’s books is that they are about normal people and are sewn through with human emotions which affect us all’ Birmingham Post

Book Description:

A tremendously warm and engaging saga from a talented new writer who was born and bred in Birmingham

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Bennett, Anne
Published by Harper (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007547765 ISBN 13: 9780007547760
New Paperback Quantity Available: 8
Seller
AMM Books
(Gillingham, KENT, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. In stock ready to dispatch from the UK. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000170296

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
1.09
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.82
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Bennett, Anne
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007547765 ISBN 13: 9780007547760
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 196 x 130 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. A heartbreaking tale of love and loss in a time of war, perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Annie Groves. Jenny O Leary is devastated one morning in 1940 when she receives a telegram giving her the dreadful news that one of her brothers has been killed in action. Grief threatens to engulf her, but as an ARP warden, tending to Birmingham s injured after the nightly raids, she is well-used to the suffering that thousands are enduring every day. Linda Prosser is just twelve years old and desperately close to her mother and two tiny brothers. As the bombs drop around them one fateful night, Linda takes a risk which has disastrous consequences. Terrified, and buried beneath a mass of debris after her home takes a direct hit, it is Jenny who crawls through the wreckage of the house to rescue her. So begins a friendship which is last through the years. But when Linda falls in love with a man that Jenny despises, she is faced with sacrificing her future happiness for the friend who has given her everything. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007547760

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Bennett, Anne
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007547765 ISBN 13: 9780007547760
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 196 x 130 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. A heartbreaking tale of love and loss in a time of war, perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Annie Groves. Jenny O Leary is devastated one morning in 1940 when she receives a telegram giving her the dreadful news that one of her brothers has been killed in action. Grief threatens to engulf her, but as an ARP warden, tending to Birmingham s injured after the nightly raids, she is well-used to the suffering that thousands are enduring every day. Linda Prosser is just twelve years old and desperately close to her mother and two tiny brothers. As the bombs drop around them one fateful night, Linda takes a risk which has disastrous consequences. Terrified, and buried beneath a mass of debris after her home takes a direct hit, it is Jenny who crawls through the wreckage of the house to rescue her. So begins a friendship which is last through the years. But when Linda falls in love with a man that Jenny despises, she is faced with sacrificing her future happiness for the friend who has given her everything. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007547760

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Bennett, Anne
Published by HarperCollins Publishers (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007547765 ISBN 13: 9780007547760
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, 2014. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # FC-9780007547760

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.80
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Bennett, Anne
ISBN 10: 0007547765 ISBN 13: 9780007547760
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800075477600000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.59
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Bennett, Anne
Published by Harper (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007547765 ISBN 13: 9780007547760
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Speedy Hen
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2014. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST0007547765. Bookseller Inventory # ST0007547765

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.42
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Bennett, Anne
Published by HarperCollins Publishers 2014-07-03, London (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007547765 ISBN 13: 9780007547760
New paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers 2014-07-03, London, 2014. paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007547760

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Bennett, Anne
Published by Harper 2014-07-03 (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007547765 ISBN 13: 9780007547760
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 2014-07-03, 2014. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-05114443

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.50
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Bennett, Anne
ISBN 10: 0007547765 ISBN 13: 9780007547760
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Not Signed; A heartbreaking tale of love and loss in a time of war, perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Annie Groves. Jenny O'Leary is devastated one morning in 1940 when she receives a telegram giving her the dreadful news that one of her brothers has been killed in action. Grief threatens to engulf her, but a. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780007547760_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.70
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.80
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Bennett, Anne
Published by Harper (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007547765 ISBN 13: 9780007547760
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2014. Book Condition: New. A heartbreaking tale of love and loss in a time of war, perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Annie Groves. Num Pages: 480 pages. BIC Classification: FT. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 130 x 31. Weight in Grams: 340. . 2014. Paperback. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780007547760

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.60
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book