Anne Bennett A Strong Hand to Hold

ISBN 13: 9780007547760

A Strong Hand to Hold

4.25 avg rating
( 126 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007547760: A Strong Hand to Hold

Jenny O?Leary is devastated one morning in 1940 when she receives a telegram giving her the dreadful news that one of her brothers has been killed in action. Grief threatens to engulf her, but as an ARP warden, tending to Birmingham?s injured after the nightly raids, she is well-used to the suffering that thousands are enduring every day.Linda Prosser is just twelve years old and desperately close to her mother and two tiny brothers. As the bombs drop around them one fateful night, Linda takes a risk which has disastrous consequences. Terrified, and buried beneath a mass of debris after her home takes a direct hit, it is Jenny who crawls through the wreckage of the house to rescue her.So begins a friendship which is last through the years. But when Linda falls in love with a man that Jenny despises, she is faced with sacrificing her future happiness for the friend who has given her everything...A heartbreaking tale of love and loss in a time of war, perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Annie Groves.This paperback book has 480 pages and measures: 19.7 x 13 x 3cm.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Praise for Anne Bennett:

‘A powerful read that will have you gripped.’ Yours

‘[Anne Bennett is] blessed with a vivid imagination and a natural aptitude for writing’ Daily Post

‘An affecting story, populated with rich, beautifully drawn characters.’ Choice

‘The beauty of Anne’s books is that they are about normal people and are sewn through with human emotions which affect us all’ Birmingham Post

Book Description:

A tremendously warm and engaging saga from a talented new writer who was born and bred in Birmingham

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Anne Bennett
ISBN 10: 0007547765 ISBN 13: 9780007547760
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800075477600000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Anne Bennett
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007547765 ISBN 13: 9780007547760
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 196 x 130 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. A heartbreaking tale of love and loss in a time of war, perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Annie Groves. Jenny O Leary is devastated one morning in 1940 when she receives a telegram giving her the dreadful news that one of her brothers has been killed in action. Grief threatens to engulf her, but as an ARP warden, tending to Birmingham s injured after the nightly raids, she is well-used to the suffering that thousands are enduring every day. Linda Prosser is just twelve years old and desperately close to her mother and two tiny brothers. As the bombs drop around them one fateful night, Linda takes a risk which has disastrous consequences. Terrified, and buried beneath a mass of debris after her home takes a direct hit, it is Jenny who crawls through the wreckage of the house to rescue her. So begins a friendship which is last through the years. But when Linda falls in love with a man that Jenny despises, she is faced with sacrificing her future happiness for the friend who has given her everything. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007547760

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.18
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Anne Bennett
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007547765 ISBN 13: 9780007547760
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 196 x 130 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. A heartbreaking tale of love and loss in a time of war, perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Annie Groves. Jenny O Leary is devastated one morning in 1940 when she receives a telegram giving her the dreadful news that one of her brothers has been killed in action. Grief threatens to engulf her, but as an ARP warden, tending to Birmingham s injured after the nightly raids, she is well-used to the suffering that thousands are enduring every day. Linda Prosser is just twelve years old and desperately close to her mother and two tiny brothers. As the bombs drop around them one fateful night, Linda takes a risk which has disastrous consequences. Terrified, and buried beneath a mass of debris after her home takes a direct hit, it is Jenny who crawls through the wreckage of the house to rescue her. So begins a friendship which is last through the years. But when Linda falls in love with a man that Jenny despises, she is faced with sacrificing her future happiness for the friend who has given her everything. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007547760

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.45
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Bennett, Anne
Published by Harper Collins 2014-07-03 (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007547765 ISBN 13: 9780007547760
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins 2014-07-03, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007547760B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.68
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Bennett, Anne
Published by Harper (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007547765 ISBN 13: 9780007547760
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
AMM Books
(Gillingham, KENT, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. In stock ready to dispatch from the UK. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000170296

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
1.09
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Anne Bennett
Published by Harper 2014-07-03 (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007547765 ISBN 13: 9780007547760
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 2014-07-03, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # NU-HCL-00007812

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Anne Bennett
Published by HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0007547765 ISBN 13: 9780007547760
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, A Strong Hand to Hold, Anne Bennett, A heartbreaking tale of love and loss in a time of war, perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Annie Groves. Jenny O'Leary is devastated one morning in 1940 when she receives a telegram giving her the dreadful news that one of her brothers has been killed in action. Grief threatens to engulf her, but as an ARP warden, tending to Birmingham's injured after the nightly raids, she is well-used to the suffering that thousands are enduring every day. Linda Prosser is just twelve years old and desperately close to her mother and two tiny brothers. As the bombs drop around them one fateful night, Linda takes a risk which has disastrous consequences. Terrified, and buried beneath a mass of debris after her home takes a direct hit, it is Jenny who crawls through the wreckage of the house to rescue her. So begins a friendship which is last through the years. But when Linda falls in love with a man that Jenny despises, she is faced with sacrificing her future happiness for the friend who has given her everything. Bookseller Inventory # B9780007547760

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Bennett, Anne
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0007547765 ISBN 13: 9780007547760
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Book Condition: New. A heartbreaking tale of love and loss in a time of war, perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Annie Groves. Num Pages: 480 pages. BIC Classification: FT. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 130 x 31. Weight in Grams: 340. . 2014. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780007547760

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.42
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Bennett, Anne
Published by Harper (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007547765 ISBN 13: 9780007547760
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2014. Book Condition: New. A heartbreaking tale of love and loss in a time of war, perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Annie Groves. Num Pages: 480 pages. BIC Classification: FT. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 130 x 31. Weight in Grams: 340. . 2014. Paperback. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780007547760

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Anne Bennett
Published by Harper (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007547765 ISBN 13: 9780007547760
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2014. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # GH9780007547760

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.20
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.90
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book