Rosie Thomas Daughter of the House

ISBN 13: 9780007512065

Daughter of the House

4 avg rating
( 1 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007512065: Daughter of the House

A captivating tour de force of love, magic and the theatre, perfect for fans of Sarah Waters, The Night Circus and Water for Elephants

The dazzling sequel to The Illusionists, from the beloved and bestselling author of The Kashmir Shawl

The year is 1910: Eliza's life has been utterly transformed since she dove head-first into the bohemian world of the Palmyra Theatre, becoming first a stage player and, since her marriage to impresario Devil Wix, a canny woman of business. She is now the mother of growing children, and in her family life as well as at the theatre she must face the challenges of a new century.

The First World War changes the world forever, and the fortunes of the Wix family change with it. Eliza’s daughter, Nancy, must find a way to keep the Palmyra afloat, and to entertain audiences who have lost husbands and sons in the conflict. Nancy is a born performer, but she is set apart—even from her beloved brothers—by her psychic gifts. She learns that she must harness her troubling powers, under the tutelage of the mysterious Mr. Feather, to keep the family and the theatre intact.

It is a dangerous path and a lonely one, but Nancy’s bold choices lead her to love, and beyond that to the recognition of what it takes to become a modern woman. As another war begins to threaten the world, she is forced into a final, fateful confrontation with her demons, and must marshal both her ingenuity and her mysterious talents to fight for the survival of friendship, independence and family.

“Love, seduction, magic and illusion collide as Rosie Thomas takes us on a spellbinding journey through an extremely shadowy world.” —DAILY EXPRESS ON THE ILLUSIONISTS

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

ROSIE THOMAS is the author of many celebrated and bestselling novels, including White, Iris and Ruby, The Kashmir Shawl, and The Illusionists, to which this novel is the sequel. She is also an avid traveller who has climbed in the Alps and the Himalayas, competed in the Peking to Paris car rally, spent time on a tiny Bulgarian research station in Antarctica, and travelled the Silk Road through Asia.

Web: RosieThomasAuthor.com

Facebook: Rosie Thomas Author

Review:

“Wonderful.... A spellbinding, romantic story.” (Woman & Home (UK))

“Lush and satisfying.... Brimming with magic, love and brilliantly realized characters.” (Sunday Mirror)

“An atmospheric tale of a woman breaking boundaries in early 20th-century London.” (Good Housekeeping)

“Vintage Thomas, with all her trademark richness and depth.... The thinking woman’s popular novelist.” (Saga)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Rosie Thomas
Published by [London] : HarperCollinsPublishers 2015 Trade Paperback (2015)
ISBN 10: 0007512066 ISBN 13: 9780007512065
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Haven
(Wellington, ., New Zealand)
Rating
[?]

Book Description [London] : HarperCollinsPublishers 2015 Trade Paperback, 2015. Book Condition: Very Good. 503 pages. Bookseller Inventory # 1044770

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
4.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 15.28
From New Zealand to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Thomas, Rosie
ISBN 10: 0007512066 ISBN 13: 9780007512065
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: Good. The book has been read but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact and the cover is intact. Some minor wear to the spine. Bookseller Inventory # GOR008553167

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
439.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds