Items related to Conspiracy (Giordano Bruno, Book 5)

Conspiracy (Giordano Bruno, Book 5)

4.18 avg rating
( 2,316 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007481248: Conspiracy (Giordano Bruno, Book 5)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

The No. 1 Sunday Times bestselling series

The fifth book in S. J. Parris’s bestselling, critically acclaimed series following Giordano Bruno, set at the time of Queen Elizabeth I

PARIS, 1585

A KING WITHOUT AN HEIR

Heretic-turned-spy Giordano Bruno arrives in Paris to find a city on the edge of catastrophe. King Henri III lives in fear of a coup by the Duke of Guise and his fanatical Catholic League, and another massacre on the streets.

A COURT AT WAR WITH GOD

When Bruno’s old rival, Father Paul Lefèvre is found murdered, Bruno is drawn into a dangerous web of religious politics and court intrigue. And watching over his shoulder is the King’s mother, Catherine de Medici, with her harem of beautiful spies.

A DEADLY CONSPIRACY IN PLAY

When murder strikes at the heart of the Palace, Bruno finds himself on the trail of a killer who is protecting a terrible secret. With the royal houses of France and England under threat, Bruno must expose the truth – or be silenced for good...

Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Hilary Mantel

Praise for S. J. Parris

‘A delicious blend of history and thriller’ The Times

‘An omnipresent sense of danger’ Daily Mail

‘Colourful characters, fast-moving plots and a world where one false step in religion or politics can mean a grisly death’ Sunday Times

‘Pacy, intricate, and thrilling’ Observer

‘Vivid, sprawling ... Well-crafted, exuberant’ Financial Times

‘Impossible to resist’ Daily Telegraph

‘Twists and turns like a corkscrew of venomous snakes’ Stuart MacBride

‘It has everything – intrigue, mystery and excellent history’ Kate Mosse

‘The period is incredibly vivid and the story utterly gripping’ Conn Iggulden

‘A brilliantly unusual glimpse at the intrigues surrounding Queen Elizabeth I’ Andrew Taylor

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

‘A delicious blend of history and thriller’ The Times

Praise for S. J. Parris:

‘A tight plot combines with subtly-realised characters and an omnipresent sense of danger ... My pleasure in the vividly textured backdrop and a cracking story was accompanied by an uneasy shudder’ Daily Mail

‘Colourful characters, fast-moving plots and a world where one false step in religion or politics can mean a grisly death.’ Sunday Times

‘Vivid, sprawling ... Well-crafted, exuberant’ Financial Times

‘Successful historical thrillers need three elements: a killer plot that weaves seamlessly into the history; an engaging protagonist; and an atmospheric sense of place. Parris nails all three – Conspiracy is a gem. The Times

‘This latest addition to the series will no doubt repeat its predecessors’ success... The authentically febrile air of suspense that Parris generates, as well as a shoal of red herrings and some impish, what-if plotting. The drawing-room style denouement, conducted as it is in a salon at the Tuileries Palace, is also executed with knowing relish.’ Observer

‘I can thoroughly recommend Conspiracy, which twists and turns like a corkscrew of venomous snakes’ Stuart MacBride

‘Impossible to resist ... Parris creates a convincing sense of the past, woven with so much intrigue that the head fairly spins’ Daily Telegraph

‘It has everything – intrigue, mystery and excellent history’ Kate Mosse

‘Parris writes with confident ease of Tudor London ... The dialogue balances nicely on a tightrope of period phrases and cut-to-the-chase colloquialisms. More, please’ The Times

‘Full of surprises ... an imaginatively satisfying addition to the many real intrigues surrounding the imprisoned Mary Stuart and the threats to Elizabeth’s security’ TLS

‘Fascinating ... The period is incredibly vivid and the story utterly gripping’ Conn Iggulden

A brilliantly unusual glimpse at the intrigues surrounding Queen Elizabeth I’ Andrew Taylor, bestselling author of The American Boy

About the Author:

No. 1 Sunday Times bestseller S. J. Parris is the pseudonym of the author and journalist Stephanie Merritt. It was as a student at Cambridge researching a paper on the period that Stephanie first became fascinated by the rich history of Tudor England and Renaissance Europe. Since then, her interest has grown and led her to create this series of historical thrillers featuring Giordano Bruno.

Stephanie has worked as a critic and feature writer for a variety of newspapers and magazines, as well as radio and television. She currently writes for the Observer and the Guardian, and lives in Surrey with her son.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780007481279: Conspiracy: A gripping spy thriller in the No. 1 Sunday Times bestselling historical crime series: Book 5

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 0007481276 ISBN 13: 9780007481279
Publisher: HarperCollins, 2017
Softcover

9781643135441: Conspiracy: A Giordano Bruno Thriller (Giordano Bruno Mysteries)

Pegasu..., 2020
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Parris, S. J.
Published by HARPER COLLINS PUBLISHERS (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007481241 ISBN 13: 9780007481248
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GoldBooks
(Austin, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: new. Seller Inventory # think_cr1_0007481241

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
66.64
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.92
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds