Parris, S. J. Treachery

ISBN 13: 9780007481200

Treachery

4.18 avg rating
( 1,074 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780007481200: Treachery

Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and The Name of the Rose, the fourth historical thriller featuring Giordano Bruno, heretic, philosopher and spy.

August, 1583. Giordano Bruno, a heretic fleeing the Inquisition, finds a new life working as a spy for Sir Francis Walsingham.

Along with his friend, Sir Philip Sidney, Bruno travels to Plymouth on the Queen’s behalf. There, they meet Sir Francis Drake, who is preparing to launch a daring expedition against the Spanish, which could turn the tide of war.

Unbeknownst to Bruno, however, Sidney plans to stowaway with Drake’s fleet and return a hero – dragging Bruno with him to the New World. But when a murder occurs aboard Drake’s own ship, fear and suspicion grip the fleet and threaten to abort the expedition before it begins.

Navigating the jealousies and loyalties of the crew, Bruno learns that someone with a deadly grudge is shadowing his investigation.

Tracking the killer through Plymouth’s menacing backstreets, he uncovers some of the darkest secrets the city is harbouring. Failure will come at the highest cost – not just for Bruno, but all of England…

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Praise for TREACHERY:

• ‘Hugely enjoyable… It’s played straight, but never humourlessly so, and there’s just enough “proper” history amid the intrigue to keep purists on side’ Guardian

• ‘With its twisting plot and vivid scene-setting, TREACHERY confirms Parris’s growing reputation as a writer of historical thrillers’ Sunday Times

• ‘An evil bookseller and a terrifying brothel lie ahead; what’s not to like? Gripping and fun’ Observer

• ‘Parris’s Giordano Bruno series has been a joy. Her Elizabethan England is loud, pungent and blessedly free of some of the genre’s more egregious clichés. She wears her research lightly: at home with the detail of the period, she is quite happy to engage in a little creative anachronism to bring the story home’ Telegraph

• ‘There are echoes of CJ Sansom’s Shardlake series here. But Parris is better than the usual run of imitators. Her prose is taut and compelling. Her wielding of the historical material is always convincing but never overwhelming’ The Times

Praise for S. J. Parris:

• ‘Impossible to resist … Parris creates a convincing sense of the past, woven with so much intrigue that the head fairly spins’ Daily Telegraph

• ‘It has everything – intrigue, mystery and excellent history’ Kate Mosse

• ‘Parris writes with confident ease of Tudor London … The dialogue balances nicely on a tightrope of period phrases and cut-to-the-chase colloquialisms. More, please’ The Times

• ‘Full of surprises … an imaginatively satisfying addition to the many real intrigues surrounding the imprisoned Mary Stuart and the threats to Elizabeth’s security’ TLS

• ‘Fascinating … The period is incredibly vivid and the story utterly gripping’ Conn Iggulden

• ‘A brilliantly unusual glimpse at the intrigues surrounding Queen Elizabeth I’ Andrew Taylor, bestselling author of The American Boy

About the Author:

S.J. Parris is the pseudonym of author and journalist Stephanie Merritt. It was as a student in Cambridge researching a paper on the period that Stephanie first became fascinated by the rich history of Tudor England and Renaissance Europe. Since then, her interest has grown and led her to create this series of historical thrillers featuring Giordano Bruno.

Stephanie has worked as a critic and feature writer for a variety of newspapers and magazines as well as radio and television. She currently writes for the Observer and the Guardian, and lives in Surrey with her son.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Parris, S. J.
ISBN 10: 0007481209 ISBN 13: 9780007481200
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2014. Book Condition: New. 153mm x 234mm x. Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and The Name of the Rose, the fourth historical thriller featuring Giordano Bruno, heretic, philosopher and spy. August, 1583. Giordano Bruno, a heretic fleeing the In.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 544 pages. 0.698. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007481200

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
22.14
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Parris, S. J.
Published by HarperCollins Publishers (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007481209 ISBN 13: 9780007481200
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Media Mall
(Fyshwick, ACT, Australia)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 15.5 x 23.5 cm. Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and THE NAME OF THE ROSE, the fourth historical thriller featuring Giordano Bruno, heretic, philosopher and spy. August, 1583. Giordano Bruno, a heretic fleeing the Inquisition, finds a new life working as a spy for Sir Francis [Url removed]g with his friend, Sir Philip Sidney, Bruno travels to Plymouth on the Queen's behalf. There, they meet Sir Francis Drake, who is preparing to launch a daring expedition against the Spanish, which could turn the tide of [Url removed]knownst to Bruno, however, Sidney plans to stowaway with Drake's fleet and return a hero ? dragging Bruno with him to the New World. But when a murder occurs aboard Drake's own ship, fear and suspicion grip the fleet and threaten to abort the expedition before it begins.Navigating the jealousies and loyalties of the crew, Bruno learns that someone with a deadly grudge is shadowing his investigation.Tracking the killer through Plymouth's menacing backstreets, he uncovers some of the darkest secrets the city is harbouring. Failure will come at the highest cost ? not just for Bruno, but all of England?. Paperback. Bookseller Inventory # MM-41008353

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
24.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 9.42
From Australia to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Parris, S. J.
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007481209 ISBN 13: 9780007481200
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Ltd, 2014. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service!. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0007481209

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
34.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Parris, S. J.
ISBN 10: 0007481209 ISBN 13: 9780007481200
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
AussieBookSeller
(SILVERWATER, NSW, Australia)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2014. Book Condition: New. 153mm x 234mm x. Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and The Name of the Rose, the fourth historical thriller featuring Giordano Bruno, heretic, philosopher and spy. August, 1583. Giordano Bruno, a heretic f.Shipping may be from our Sydney, NSW warehouse or from our UK or US warehouse, depending on stock availability. 544 pages. 0.698. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007481200

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
19.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 22.17
From Australia to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds