S. J Parris Treachery

ISBN 13: 9780007481200

Treachery

4.18 avg rating
( 1,379 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007481200: Treachery

Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and The Name of the Rose, this sequel to Sacrilege features Giordano Bruno, heretic, philosopher and spy.
     Summer, 1585: As English ships are held captive in Spain, fear mounts of an Invincible Armada, built by King Philip II, and intended to invade English shores.
     Sir Francis Drake prepares to embark on an expedition by royal commission to cross the Atlantic and seize major Spanish ports, diverting Philip's American treasure supplies to Queen Elizabeth.
     Giordano Bruno, radical philosopher and spy, accompanies his friend Sir Philip Sidney to Plymouth to oversee Drake's departure. Unbeknownst to Bruno, Sidney intends to join the mission--and he wants Bruno to go too.
     But when a ship's captain is brutally murdered, and Drake's life threatened, it becomes clear that someone plans to destroy the expedition before it begins. Bruno and Sidney hunt for the killer, but are they being lured into a trap? And when Drake's young wife and her cousin arrive, Bruno and Sidney find themselves thrown into an unexpected rivalry.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

S.J. PARRIS is the pseudonym of Stephanie Merritt. Since graduating from Cambridge, she has worked as a critic and feature writer for a variety of newspapers and magazines as well as for radio and television. She currently writes for The Observer and The Guardian and is the author of five books. Visit S.J. Parris at www.sjparris.com.

Review:

“Treachery is full of historical detail and rich with atmosphere; Parris is good on the smells and the slop of the time, the grime and the stink, the midden heaps and the taint of the pox. Yet while she knows this world well, the research never drags things down or impedes the pleasingly knotty plot. . . . The murky backstreets of Elizabethan Plymouth are colourfully evoked, and Parris is skilled at blending characters drawn from history with those of her own invention, while saturating everything with her evident fascination with the politics of the period.”
The Guardian (UK)

“S.J. Parris has created the ultimate conflicted character. . . . There is no time like Tudor England for great intrigue. . . . I am most of the way through this one and savouring every page.”
Ottawa Citizen

“[T]his is a book to make you long for filthy weather, a deep armchair and a thick blanket. . . . Her prose is taut and compelling. Her wielding of the historical material is always convincing but never overwhelming . . . the more straightforward storytelling of Treachery remains inventive and full of surprises.”
The Times

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

S J Parris
ISBN 10: 0007481209 ISBN 13: 9780007481200
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2014. Book Condition: New. Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and The Name of the Rose, the fourth historical thriller featuring Giordano Bruno, heretic, philosopher and spy. August, 1583. Giordano Bruno, a heretic fleeing the In.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 544 pages. 0.698. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007481200

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
21.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

S J Parris
ISBN 10: 0007481209 ISBN 13: 9780007481200
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
AussieBookSeller
(SILVERWATER, NSW, Australia)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2014. Book Condition: New. Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and The Name of the Rose, the fourth historical thriller featuring Giordano Bruno, heretic, philosopher and spy. August, 1583. Giordano Bruno, a heretic f.Shipping may be from our Sydney, NSW warehouse or from our UK or US warehouse, depending on stock availability. 544 pages. 0.698. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007481200

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
18.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 28.47
From Australia to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds