Michael Irwin The Skull and the Nightingale

ISBN 13: 9780007476350

The Skull and the Nightingale

2.86 avg rating
( 349 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007476350: The Skull and the Nightingale

Set in England in the early 1760s, this is a chilling and deliciously dark tale of manipulation, sex, and seduction.

When Richard Fenwick, a young man without family or means, returns to London from the Grand Tour, his wealthy godfather, James Gilbert, has an unexpected proposition. Gilbert has led a fastidious life in Worcestershire, but now in his advancing years, he feels the urge to experience, even vicariously, the extremes of human feeling—love and passion, adultery and deceit—along with something much more sinister. He has selected Fenwick to be his proxy, and his ward has no option but to accept.

But Gilbert’s elaborate and manipulative “experiments” into the workings of human behaviour drag Fenwick into a vortex of betrayal and danger where lives are ruined and tragedy is always one small step away. And when Fenwick falls in love with one of Gilbert’s pawns and the stakes rise even higher – is it too late for him to escape the Faustian pact?

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

Pub Date: 2014-04-24 Pages: 512 Language: English Publisher:. Harper Collins UK A gripping historical novel in the tradition of Perfume and The Crimson Petal & The White Set in England in the early 1760s. The Skull & The Nightingale is a chilling and deliciously dark tale of manipulation. sex. and seduction. When Richard Fenwick. a young man without family or means. returns to London from the Grand Tour. his wealthy godfather. James Gilbert. has an unexpected proposition. Gilbert has led a fastidious life in Worcestershire. but now in his advancing years. he feels the urge to experience. even vicariously. the extremes of human feeling-love and passion. adultery and deceit-along with something much more sinister. He has selected Fenwick to be his proxy. and his ward has no option but to accept. But Gilberts elaborate and manipulative experiments into the workings of human beh...

Review:

‘This is a surprising and thrilling Rake’s Progress. I enjoyed every word’ Diana Athill, author of Stet

‘An atmospheric portrait of the Georgian world’ Sunday Times

‘Rollickingly enjoyable’ Literary Review

‘Part crime thriller, part historical novel – with a heady dose of women, wine and weird company to boot – Irwin's epistolary novel is entirely captivating’ We Love This Book

‘A splendid novel: immaculately researched, morally fascinating and strangely troubling. It kept surprising me and delighting me in equal measure’ Andrew Taylor, author of The American Boy

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Irwin, Michael
Published by Blue Door
ISBN 10: 0007476353 ISBN 13: 9780007476350
New Softcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Blue Door. Book Condition: New. Set in England in the early 1760s, this is a chilling and deliciously dark tale of manipulation, sex, and seduction. Num Pages: 512 pages. BIC Classification: FV. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 198 x 131 x 32. Weight in Grams: 364. . 2014. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # KCD0012777

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Michael Irwin
Published by Blue Door 24/04/2014 (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007476353 ISBN 13: 9780007476350
New Paperback Quantity Available: 12
Seller
eBookMole LTD
(Milton Keynes, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Blue Door 24/04/2014, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New Book In Stock, All orders dispatched same day from our UK warehouse,book cover may vary. Trusted Bucks Retailer, Est 2000.Visit our Abe store. Happy reading :). Bookseller Inventory # 9780007476350

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.40
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Irwin, Michael
Published by Blue Door (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007476353 ISBN 13: 9780007476350
New Softcover Quantity Available: 2
Rating
[?]

Book Description Blue Door, 2014. Book Condition: New. Set in England in the early 1760s, this is a chilling and deliciously dark tale of manipulation, sex, and seduction. Num Pages: 512 pages. BIC Classification: FV. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 198 x 131 x 32. Weight in Grams: 364. . 2014. Paperback. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # KCD0012777

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Michael Irwin
ISBN 10: 0007476353 ISBN 13: 9780007476350
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800074763500000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.60
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Michael Irwin
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007476353 ISBN 13: 9780007476350
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 197 x 130 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Set in England in the early 1760s, this is a chilling and deliciously dark tale of manipulation, sex, and seduction. When Richard Fenwick, a young man without family or means, returns to London from the Grand Tour, his wealthy godfather, James Gilbert, has an unexpected proposition. Gilbert has led a fastidious life in Worcestershire, but now in his advancing years, he feels the urge to experience, even vicariously, the extremes of human feeling-love and passion, adultery and deceit-along with something much more sinister. He has selected Fenwick to be his proxy, and his ward has no option but to accept. But Gilbert s elaborate and manipulative experiments into the workings of human behaviour drag Fenwick into a vortex of betrayal and danger where lives are ruined and tragedy is always one small step away. And when Fenwick falls in love with one of Gilbert s pawns and the stakes rise even higher - is it too late for him to escape the Faustian pact?. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007476350

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Michael Irwin
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007476353 ISBN 13: 9780007476350
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 197 x 130 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Set in England in the early 1760s, this is a chilling and deliciously dark tale of manipulation, sex, and seduction. When Richard Fenwick, a young man without family or means, returns to London from the Grand Tour, his wealthy godfather, James Gilbert, has an unexpected proposition. Gilbert has led a fastidious life in Worcestershire, but now in his advancing years, he feels the urge to experience, even vicariously, the extremes of human feeling-love and passion, adultery and deceit-along with something much more sinister. He has selected Fenwick to be his proxy, and his ward has no option but to accept. But Gilbert s elaborate and manipulative experiments into the workings of human behaviour drag Fenwick into a vortex of betrayal and danger where lives are ruined and tragedy is always one small step away. And when Fenwick falls in love with one of Gilbert s pawns and the stakes rise even higher - is it too late for him to escape the Faustian pact?. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007476350

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Michael Irwin
Published by Blue Door 2014-04-24 (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007476353 ISBN 13: 9780007476350
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Blue Door 2014-04-24, 2014. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-05093002

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Michael Irwin
Published by Blue Door 2014-04-24 (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007476353 ISBN 13: 9780007476350
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Blue Door 2014-04-24, 2014. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-LBR-01286010

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Michael Irwin
Published by HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0007476353 ISBN 13: 9780007476350
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, The Skull and the Nightingale, Michael Irwin, Set in England in the early 1760s, this is a chilling and deliciously dark tale of manipulation, sex, and seduction. When Richard Fenwick, a young man without family or means, returns to London from the Grand Tour, his wealthy godfather, James Gilbert, has an unexpected proposition. Gilbert has led a fastidious life in Worcestershire, but now in his advancing years, he feels the urge to experience, even vicariously, the extremes of human feeling-love and passion, adultery and deceit-along with something much more sinister. He has selected Fenwick to be his proxy, and his ward has no option but to accept. But Gilbert's elaborate and manipulative "experiments" into the workings of human behaviour drag Fenwick into a vortex of betrayal and danger where lives are ruined and tragedy is always one small step away. And when Fenwick falls in love with one of Gilbert's pawns and the stakes rise even higher - is it too late for him to escape the Faustian pact?. Bookseller Inventory # B9780007476350

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Michael Irwin
Published by Blue Door (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007476353 ISBN 13: 9780007476350
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Rating
[?]

Book Description Blue Door, 2014. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # GH9780007476350

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.92
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book