Brackman, Lisa Day of the Dead

ISBN 13: 9780007469192

Day of the Dead

 
9780007469192: Day of the Dead

All she wanted was to get away. But now, she can’t escape… A pulse-pounding thriller that dives into the dark side of Mexico.

A holiday in Mexico is just what Michelle Mason needs after her husband dies, leaving behind a scandal and a pile of debt.

On the beach, she meets a handsome American ex-pat – the margaritas have kicked in and she decides: why not? But their date ends horribly when Daniel is attacked by intruders in her hotel room.

When Daniel disappears, Michelle is drawn into Mexico's dangerous underworld of corrupt policemen and powerful drug lords. What was a holiday romance suddenly becomes a matter of life and death. Can she trust Daniel, or is he responsible for the danger she is in?

Michelle has nowhere to run and no one to trust. Now, she needs to dig deep to escape her holiday nightmare alive…

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Praise for YEAR OF THE TIGER:

‘A compelling debut that takes you deep into the dangerous, complicated heart of modern China, with a tough and appealing heroine in Ellie’ Jeff Abbott, author of FEAR

‘Lisa Brackman’s novel gets off to a fast start and never lets up…Ellie is a perfect spunky heroine…Be prepared for a wild ride’ New York Times Book Review

‘An electrifying debut … The China scenes are fast paced and strikingly atmospheric, and Ellie's backstory—her and Trey's return from combat is tough, sad, and endearing—is given in doses that perfectly complement the central action … The book's exotic setting and tough heroine will definitely appeal to fans of Stieg Larsson’ Publisher’s Weekly, Starred Review

‘A remarkable debut by Lisa Brackman’ Seattle Times

‘Lisa Brackman’s debut novel is as slick and smart as an alley cat … The result is a wildly original read … Even more remarkable is her enfant terrible protagonist: 26-year-old Ellie is tough, snarky and immensely likeable. Through her voice Brackman never falls into the trite and tired trap of so many foreigners who write about an ‘exotic’ China. Beijing in Year of the Tiger is as it is in real life’ Time Out: Beijing

‘A gripping ex-pat nightmare that unfolds with superb pacing … it makes you damned glad your life is boring’ Miami Herald

‘Brackman's experience in the motion picture industry is evident. A gritty and intriguing tale of terror that draws in the reader with each page; Brackman is a new writer to watch’ Library Journal

About the Author:

Lisa Brackman has worked as an executive at a major motion picture studio, an issues researcher in a presidential campaign, and as the singer-songwriter & bassist in an LA rock band. She's lived and travelled extensively in China. Brackman is a southern California native and lives in Venice, CA. YEAR OF THE TIGER is her first novel.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Lisa Brackman
Published by HarperCollins 01/05/2012 (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007469195 ISBN 13: 9780007469192
Used Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Fun_Meister
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins 01/05/2012, 2012. Book Condition: Good. Will be shipped promptly from UK warehouse. Book is in good condition with no missing pages, no damage or soiling and tight spine. There may be some dog-eared pages showing previous use but overall a great book. Bookseller Inventory # 9053-9780007469192

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Lisa Brackman
Published by HarperCollins 01/05/2012 (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007469195 ISBN 13: 9780007469192
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
AwesomeBooks
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins 01/05/2012, 2012. Book Condition: Very Good. This book is in very good condition and will be shipped within 24 hours of ordering. The cover may have some limited signs of wear but the pages are clean, intact and the spine remains undamaged. This book has clearly been well maintained and looked after thus far. Money back guarantee if you are not satisfied. See all our books here, order more than 1 book and get discounted shipping. . Bookseller Inventory # 7719-9780007469192

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Brackman, Lisa
Published by HarperCollins (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007469195 ISBN 13: 9780007469192
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2012. Book Condition: Good. N/A. Ships from the UK. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP80321888

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
0.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.15
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Brackman, Lisa
ISBN 10: 0007469195 ISBN 13: 9780007469192
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged. Bookseller Inventory # GOR004303731

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
3.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Lisa Brackman
Published by HarperCollins 01/05/2012 (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007469195 ISBN 13: 9780007469192
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
AwesomeBooks
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins 01/05/2012, 2012. Book Condition: Good. This book is in good or better condition. It has no tears to the pages and no pages will be missing from the book. The spine of the book is still in great condition and the front cover is generally unmarked. It has signs of previous use but overall is in really nice, tight condition. Shipping is normally same day from our UK warehouse. We offer a money back guarantee if you are not satisfied. Bookseller Inventory # 9053-9780007469192

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
45.42
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds