Raptor: A Journey Through Birds

4.15 avg rating
( 60 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007459872: Raptor: A Journey Through Birds

Winner of The Royal Society of Literature Jerwood Award for Non-Fiction in 2011 and the Authors' Foundation Roger Deakin Award in 2011.

A book about how raptors and the landscapes they live in have possessed the author; “My eyes are always quivering for birds of prey. I have always been turned to their presence”.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

James Macdonald Lockhart is an associate editor of, and regular contributor to, Archipelago Magazine, and a literary agent at Antony Harwood Limited.

Review:

`Lockhart's prose is so intimate, urgent, and visceral as to make his darkly resonant ruminations almost unfailingly gripping' Independent`A hymn in praise of living, soaring, terrifying grandeur ... his exquisite, poetic language is a sensuous delight without sacrificing scientific accuracy ... A tour de force' Daily Mail`Lockhart puts the rapture back in the raptor. Raptor rips at its words, turning them into exquisite portraits of the utter wild, shaping soaring, obsessive beauty out of the British landscape and its imperial birds. A true heir to J.A. Baker's The Peregrine, and T.H. White's The Goshawk' Philip Hoare`In Lockhart's soaring debut he laces vivid prose with illuminating facts ... He elegantly depicts these creatures of the sky and, in doing so, celebrates the natural richness of the country over which they fly' Financial Times`If you publish a book on birds of prey in the tumultuous wake of Helen MacDonald's prizewinning H is for Hawk, you expect comparisons. James MacDonald Lockhart can relax. His book is outstanding ... Wild birds of prey represent the living spirit of a place- of Britain. In this delicate, complex, open-ended book, full of freshness and movement, he captures that wild spirit without ever making it feel captive' Sunday Times`Lockhart brings out both the birds' ecstatic gifts of flight but also the tragedy and triumph of their predatory lifestyle... His descriptions are as precise as they are inventive' Observer`Lockhart is stepping towards the distinguished company of the great modern literary books on birds of prey... The writing, at times, is as good as anything we have on the subject to date' Country Life`His understanding of raptor ethology shines' Nature`Any bird of prey fan will find it irresistible ... thoroughly recommended' BirdGuides`Nothing prepared me for the sustained brilliance and intensity of this book ... Warm, intimate, full of wonder and delight in the ways the birds revealed themselves' Caught by the River

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Lockhart, James Macdonald.
Published by Fourth Estate. 1 Cloth(s) (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007459874 ISBN 13: 9780007459872
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Daedalus Books
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Fourth Estate. 1 Cloth(s), 2016. hard. Book Condition: New. (Winner of the Royal Society of Literature Jerwood Award for Non-Fiction) From the sea eagle with its imposing eight-foot wingspan and the hen harrier swimming over land in the dregs of a May gale on Orkney, and from a peregrine with its third eyelid to protect its sight when diving on prey at 200 mph and the ghostly sparrowhawk in the fields around in his home in Warwickshire, James Macdonald Lockhart is fascinated by birds of prey. A childhood spent surrounded by black and white images of birds that his great-grandfather—an early pioneer of bird photography—had taken at the beginning of the last century and a boyhood holiday on the Isle of Lewis led to this magnificent hymn to raptors, which explores both the birds' biology and history, while unravelling their often complicated relationship with man; it is at once a portrait of a lifelong passion and an account of how raptors and their landscapes have possessed the author. 375. Bookseller Inventory # 72562

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 5.52
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 3.84
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

James MacDonald Lockhart
Published by Fourth Estate (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007459874 ISBN 13: 9780007459872
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Sandpiper Books Ltd
(NEWTON ABBOT, DEVON, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Fourth Estate, 2016. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 225690

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 5.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 4
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Macdonald Lockhart, James
ISBN 10: 0007459874 ISBN 13: 9780007459872
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 22112487-n

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 8.38
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 2.03
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

James Macdonald Lockhart
ISBN 10: 0007459874 ISBN 13: 9780007459872
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800074598720000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 12.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

James Macdonald Lockhart
Published by Fourth Estate 2016-02-11 (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007459874 ISBN 13: 9780007459872
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Fourth Estate 2016-02-11, 2016. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-05167548

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 11.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

James Macdonald Lockhart
Published by HarperCollins Publishers 2016-02-11, London (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007459874 ISBN 13: 9780007459872
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers 2016-02-11, London, 2016. hardback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007459872

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 13.42
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 3
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Lockhart, James Macdonald
Published by HarperCollins Publishers (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007459874 ISBN 13: 9780007459872
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 11
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, 2016. Book Condition: New. Winner of The Royal Society of Literature Jerwood Award for Non-Fiction in 2011 and the Authors' Foundation Roger Deakin Award in 2011 A stunning debut in the tradition of Robert Macfarlane and Helen Macdonald Num Pages: 304 pages. BIC Classification: WNCB. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 222 x 141. Weight in Grams: 480. . 2016. Hardcover. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780007459872

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 16.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Lockhart, James Macdonald
Published by HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0007459874 ISBN 13: 9780007459872
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 11
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Winner of The Royal Society of Literature Jerwood Award for Non-Fiction in 2011 and the Authors' Foundation Roger Deakin Award in 2011 A stunning debut in the tradition of Robert Macfarlane and Helen Macdonald Num Pages: 304 pages. BIC Classification: WNCB. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 222 x 141. Weight in Grams: 480. . 2016. Hardcover. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780007459872

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 17
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

James Macdonald Lockhart
Published by Fourth Estate (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007459874 ISBN 13: 9780007459872
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Rating
[?]

Book Description Fourth Estate, 2016. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # EH9780007459872

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 15.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 3.57
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Lockhart, James Macdonald
Published by HarperCollins Publishers (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007459874 ISBN 13: 9780007459872
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, 2016. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # FC-9780007459872

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 9.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 9
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book