Raptor: A Journey Through Birds

4.15 avg rating
( 41 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780007459872: Raptor: A Journey Through Birds

A stunning debut in the tradition of Robert Macfarlane and Helen Macdonald

Of all the birds of the British Isles, the raptor reigns supreme, sparking the imagination like no other. In this magnificent hymn to these beautiful animals, James Macdonald Lockhart explores all fifteen breeding birds of prey on these shores – from the hen harrier swimming over the land in the dregs of a May gale on Orkney, to the ghostly sparrowhawk displaying in the fields around his home in Warwickshire. This is a book that will change how we think of our own skies.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

‘Lockhart's prose is so intimate, urgent, and visceral as to make his darkly resonant ruminations almost unfailingly gripping’ Independent

‘A hymn in praise of living, soaring, terrifying grandeur … his exquisite, poetic language is a sensuous delight without sacrificing scientific accuracy … A tour de force’ Daily Mail

‘Lockhart puts the rapture back in the raptor. Raptor rips at its words, turning them into exquisite portraits of the utter wild, shaping soaring, obsessive beauty out of the British landscape and its imperial birds. A true heir to J.A. Baker's The Peregrine, and T.H. White's The Goshawk' Philip Hoare

‘In Lockhart’s soaring debut he laces vivid prose with illuminating facts … He elegantly depicts these creatures of the sky and, in doing so, celebrates the natural richness of the country over which they fly’ Financial Times

‘If you publish a book on birds of prey in the tumultuous wake of Helen MacDonald’s prizewinning H is for Hawk, you expect comparisons. James MacDonald Lockhart can relax. His book is outstanding … Wild birds of prey represent the living spirit of a place- of Britain. In this delicate, complex, open-ended book, full of freshness and movement, he captures that wild spirit without ever making it feel captive’ Sunday Times

‘Lockhart brings out both the birds’ ecstatic gifts of flight but also the tragedy and triumph of their predatory lifestyle… His descriptions are as precise as they are inventive’ Observer

‘Lockhart is stepping towards the distinguished company of the great modern literary books on birds of prey… The writing, at times, is as good as anything we have on the subject to date’ Country Life

‘His understanding of raptor ethology shines’ Nature

‘Any bird of prey fan will find it irresistible … thoroughly recommended’ BirdGuides

‘Nothing prepared me for the sustained brilliance and intensity of this book … Warm, intimate, full of wonder and delight in the ways the birds revealed themselves’ Caught by the River

About the Author:

James Macdonald Lockhart is an associate editor of, and regular contributor to, Archipelago Magazine, and a literary agent at Antony Harwood Limited.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

James Macdonald Lockhart
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007459874 ISBN 13: 9780007459872
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2016. Hardback. Book Condition: New. 222 x 141 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. A stunning debut in the tradition of Robert Macfarlane and Helen Macdonald Of all the birds of the British Isles, the raptor reigns supreme, sparking the imagination like no other. In this magnificent hymn to these beautiful animals, James Macdonald Lockhart explores all fifteen breeding birds of prey on these shores - from the hen harrier swimming over the land in the dregs of a May gale on Orkney, to the ghostly sparrowhawk displaying in the fields around his home in Warwickshire. This is a book that will change how we think of our own skies. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007459872

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

James Macdonald Lockhart
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007459874 ISBN 13: 9780007459872
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2016. Hardback. Book Condition: New. 222 x 141 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. A stunning debut in the tradition of Robert Macfarlane and Helen Macdonald Of all the birds of the British Isles, the raptor reigns supreme, sparking the imagination like no other. In this magnificent hymn to these beautiful animals, James Macdonald Lockhart explores all fifteen breeding birds of prey on these shores - from the hen harrier swimming over the land in the dregs of a May gale on Orkney, to the ghostly sparrowhawk displaying in the fields around his home in Warwickshire. This is a book that will change how we think of our own skies. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007459872

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.73
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

James Macdonald Lockhart
ISBN 10: 0007459874 ISBN 13: 9780007459872
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800074598720000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

James Macdonald Lockhart
ISBN 10: 0007459874 ISBN 13: 9780007459872
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2016. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 147mm x 223mm x. Hardcover. A stunning debut in the tradition of Robert Macfarlane and Helen Macdonald Of all the birds of the British Isles, the raptor reigns supreme, sparking the imagination like no other. In this.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 384 pages. 0.522. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007459872

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
13.51
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

James Macdonald Lockhart
Published by Fourth Estate 2015-09-24 (2015)
ISBN 10: 0007459874 ISBN 13: 9780007459872
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Fourth Estate 2015-09-24, 2015. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-05167548

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

James Macdonald Lockhart
Published by HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0007459874 ISBN 13: 9780007459872
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers. Hardback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, Raptor: A Journey Through Birds, James Macdonald Lockhart, Winner of The Royal Society of Literature Jerwood Award for Non-Fiction in 2011 and the Authors' Foundation Roger Deakin Award in 2011 A stunning debut in the tradition of Robert Macfarlane and Helen Macdonald Of all the birds of the British Isles, the raptor reigns supreme, sparking the imagination like no other. In this magnificent hymn to these beautiful animals, James Macdonald Lockhart explores all fifteen breeding birds of prey on these shores - from the hen harrier swimming over the land in the dregs of a May gale on Orkney, to the ghostly sparrowhawk displaying in the fields around his home in Warwickshire. This is a book that will change how we think of our own skies. Bookseller Inventory # B9780007459872

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

James Macdonald Lockhart
ISBN 10: 0007459874 ISBN 13: 9780007459872
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardback. Book Condition: New. Not Signed; A stunning debut in the tradition of Robert Macfarlane and Helen Macdonald Of all the birds of the British Isles, the raptor reigns supreme, sparking the imagination like no other. In this magnificent hymn to these beautiful animals, James Macdonald Lockhart explores all fifteen breeding birds of pr. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780007459872_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
13.25
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.34
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Lockhart, James Macdonald
Published by HarperCollins Publishers (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007459874 ISBN 13: 9780007459872
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, 2016. Book Condition: New. Winner of The Royal Society of Literature Jerwood Award for Non-Fiction in 2011 and the Authors' Foundation Roger Deakin Award in 2011 A stunning debut in the tradition of Robert Macfarlane and Helen Macdonald Num Pages: 304 pages. BIC Classification: WNCB. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 222 x 141. Weight in Grams: 480. . 2016. Hardcover. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780007459872

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
16.72
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Lockhart, James Macdonald
Published by HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0007459874 ISBN 13: 9780007459872
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Winner of The Royal Society of Literature Jerwood Award for Non-Fiction in 2011 and the Authors' Foundation Roger Deakin Award in 2011 A stunning debut in the tradition of Robert Macfarlane and Helen Macdonald Num Pages: 304 pages. BIC Classification: WNCB. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 222 x 141. Weight in Grams: 480. . 2016. Hardcover. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780007459872

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
16.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

James Macdonald Lockhart
Published by HarperCollins Publishers 2016-02-11, London (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007459874 ISBN 13: 9780007459872
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers 2016-02-11, London, 2016. hardback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007459872

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
13.42
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book