Damian Thompson Fix

ISBN 13: 9780007436088

Fix

3.63 avg rating
( 182 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007436088: Fix

Addictions to iphones, painkillers, cupcakes, alcohol and sex are taking over our lives. Our most casual daily habits can quickly become obsessions that move beyond our control. Damian Thompson, who has himself struggled with a range of addictions, argues that human desire is in the process of being reshaped. Shunning the concept of addiction as disease, he shows how manufacturers are producing substances like ipads, muffins and computer games that we learn to like too much and supplement tradition addictions to alcohol, drugs and gambling. He argues that addictive behaviour is becoming a substitute for family and work bonds that are being swept away by globalisation and urbanisation. This battle to control addiction will soon overshadow familiar ideological debates about how to run the economy, and as whole societies set about "fixing" themselves, the architecture of human relations will come under strain as never before. The Fix offers a truly frightening glimpse of the future and is essential reading for fans of Naomi Klein's 'No Logo', Oliver James's 'Affluenza' and Francis Wheen's 'How Mumbo-jumbo Conquered the World'.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Damian Thompson is a recovering alcoholic who continues to wrestle with an addiction to collecting Classical CDs. He's the editor of the Daily Telegraph blogs, a lead columnist in print in the Saturday Telegraph, used to be the director of the Catholic Herald and has been described by the Church Times as a 'blood-crazed ferret'. @HolySmoke

Review:

'This wonderfully honest, perceptive book... makes brilliantly clear that addiction, like war, is Hell. Thompson's courage as a reporter, and moral courage as a man, is on display throughout this book in his pitiless account of his own weakness. But even more impressive than this is his insightful analysis. Having reflected so honestly and unsparingly on his own addiction, he is in a strong position to see how addiction is warping society... Thompson's book is at once blackly funny, intellectually serious and compellingly readable.' FIVE STARS - MICHAEL GOVE, Mail on Sunday 'Thompson's book is a tour de force, written with wit and elan, but more than that, it is a delicate dissection of what it means to be addicted to something; what it is to feel out of control and beholden to something to anaesthetise you from the realities of your life. It's agonisingly honest and personal in parts but without ever seeming mawkish or self-pitying, drawing on his personal experiences of addiction to give texture and insight.' FIVE STARS - MAX PEMBERTON, The Telegraph 'Thompson's key thesis is that addiction should be thought of as behaviour, not disease. I am a practicing clinical psychologist - professor of clinical psychology at the University of Liverpool - and this is a philosophy with which I profoundly agree. Thompson has been able to put into words - to explain - not only why we tend to get addicted to harmful things, but also how we've got our collective thinking about these issues so wrong for so long. It's a book I wish I had been skilful enough to write. ... The Fix is an excellent read. It's bold and confident and, pretty much, right.' PROFESSOR PETER KINDERMAN, Head of the Institute of Psychology, Health and Society at the University of Liverpool

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Thompson, Damian
Published by Collins (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007436084 ISBN 13: 9780007436088
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Collins, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0007436084

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
26.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.02
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Damian Thompson
Published by Collins (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007436084 ISBN 13: 9780007436088
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Collins, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M0007436084

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
31.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Thompson, Damian
Published by Collins (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007436084 ISBN 13: 9780007436088
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Collins, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P110007436084

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
41.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.51
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds