JONATHAN FREEDLAND The 3rd Woman

ISBN 13: 9780007413690

The 3rd Woman

3.47 avg rating
( 366 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007413690: The 3rd Woman

An award-winning journalist delivers a chilling and unique thriller, in which a daring reporter's investigation into her sister's death draws her into the crosshairs of enemies determined to keep their secrets safe--at any cost.The United States and China have struck a shocking bargain: in return for forgiving trillions in debt, the People's Republic of China--now the world's dominant global superpower--has established a permanent military presence on US soil. Years of decline have left America economically vulnerable, and evidence of China's cultural and political dominance is everywhere.Journalist Madison Webb is obsessed with exposing the lies and corruption that have corroded her once great society. When her sister is savagely murdered, the police insist it's an isolated crime. But Madison suspects the cops are hiding something. Digging for answers, she discovers her sister's death may be one of many ... and part of a dangerous conspiracy. Even though her life is on the line, Madison refuses to give up on the story. And sooner or later, she will have to confront the consequences of exposing the powerful forces intent on hiding the truth.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Sam Bourne is a pseudonym for the award-winning journalist and broadcaster Jonathan Freedland. He writes weekly columns in both the Guardian and the London Evening Standard, as well as a monthly piece for the Jewish Chronicle. He also presents BBC Radio 4's contemporary history series, The Long View. The author of Jacob's Gift and Bring Home the Revolution, Freedland was named one of the world's most influential commentator sby the Financial Times.



Kirsten Potter, who graduated with highest honors from Boston University, has narrated numerous audiobooks and has performed for television and in theaters across the country. She has won several awards, including eleven AudioFile Earphones Awards, and been a three-time finalist for the prestigious Audie Award for best narration. Her work has been recognized by the National Foundation for Advancement in the Arts and by AudioFile magazine, among many others.

Review:

“A strikingly fresh thriller ... ingeniously realized.” (Sunday Times (London))

“A fast-paced political thriller with a murder mystery at its heart that keeps the reader gripped and rooting for the smart female lead throughout. Freedland’s best novel to date.” (Express)

“Freedland has a knack of keeping the reader gripped. The twists when they come—and boy do they come—are genuinely surprising.” (Independent)

“A killer novel...full of intrigue, plotting, and duplicity.” (Piers Morgan)

“Jonathan Freedland’s inventive, thought-provoking political context gives the good plot added bite, depth and intelligence.” (The Times (London))

“The United States’ debt to China has changed the balance of power dramatically in this convincing near-future thriller from Freedland...who keeps the pages turning and unveils a twist that few will anticipate.” (Publishers Weekly)

“Boldly imaginative.... A magnetic heroine in a heart-racing story.” (A. D. Miller, author of Man Booker-shortlisted Snowdrops)

“The United States’ debt to China has changed the balance of power dramatically in this convincing near-future thriller from Freedland . . . who keeps the pages turning and unveils a twist that few will anticipate.” (Publishers Weekly)

“An intelligent, finely crafted mystery that brilliantly channels the anxieties of our time.” (New York Times)

“A robust, intelligent thriller ... Madison is a skilfully drawn character, sympathetic and complex.” (Irish Examiner)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

JONATHAN FREEDLAND
ISBN 10: 0007413696 ISBN 13: 9780007413690
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800074136900000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Freedland, Jonathan
Published by Harper (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007413696 ISBN 13: 9780007413690
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Travel-Bookshop
(Hertfordshire, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand new books and maps available immediately from a reputable and well rated UK bookseller - not sent from the USA; despatched promptly and reliably worldwide by Royal Mail; Bookseller Inventory # ESL08169780007413690

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
1.20
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.10
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Jonathan Freedland
Published by Harper 11/02/2016 (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007413696 ISBN 13: 9780007413690
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
eBookMole LTD
(Milton Keynes, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 11/02/2016, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New Book In Stock, All orders dispatched same day from our UK warehouse,book cover may vary. Trusted Bucks Retailer, Est 2000.Visit our Abe store. Happy reading :). Bookseller Inventory # 9780007413690

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.40
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Freedland, Jonathan
Published by Harper (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007413696 ISBN 13: 9780007413690
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
HALCYON BOOKS
(LONDON, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. DISPATCHED FROM THE UK WITHIN 24 HOURS ( BOOKS ORDERED OVER THE WEEKEND DISPATCHED ON MONDAY) BY ROYAL MAIL. ALL OVERSEAS ORDERS SENT BY AIR MAIL. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000457630

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
0.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.01
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Freedland, Jonathan
Published by Harper (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007413696 ISBN 13: 9780007413690
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Learnearly Books
(Doncaster, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Rapidly dispatched worldwide from our clean, automated UK warehouse within 1-2 working days. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000090571

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
0.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Freedland, Jonathan
Published by HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0007413696 ISBN 13: 9780007413690
New Softcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers. Book Condition: New. A chilling high-concept thriller from No. 1 bestselling author and award-winning journalist Jonathan Freedland. Perfect for fans of Robert Harris. Num Pages: 464 pages. BIC Classification: FH. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 130. . . 2016. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780007413690

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.19
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Freedland, Jonathan
Published by HarperCollins Publishers (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007413696 ISBN 13: 9780007413690
New Softcover Quantity Available: > 20
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, 2016. Book Condition: New. A chilling high-concept thriller from No. 1 bestselling author and award-winning journalist Jonathan Freedland. Perfect for fans of Robert Harris. Num Pages: 464 pages. BIC Classification: FH. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 130. . . 2016. Paperback. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780007413690

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Jonathan Freedland
Published by Harper (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007413696 ISBN 13: 9780007413690
New Softcover Quantity Available: 4
Seller
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2016. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # EH9780007413690

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.07
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.56
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Freedland, Jonathan
Published by Harper (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007413696 ISBN 13: 9780007413690
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Bookseller Inventory # mon0001832491

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Jonathan Freedland
Published by HarperCollins Publishers 2016-02-11, London (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007413696 ISBN 13: 9780007413690
New paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers 2016-02-11, London, 2016. paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007413690

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book