Lost River (Cooper and Fry Crime Series, Book 10)

3.76 avg rating
( 724 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007382149: Lost River (Cooper and Fry Crime Series, Book 10)

An atmospheric new Fry and Cooper thriller for fans of Peter Robinson and Reginald Hill

A May Bank Holiday in the Peak District is ruined by the tragic drowning of an eight-year-old girl in picturesque Dovedale. For Detective Constable Ben Cooper, a helpless witness to the tragedy, the incident is not only traumatic, but leads him to become involved in the tangled lives of the Neilds, the dead girl's family.

As he gets to know them, Cooper begins to suspect that one of them is harbouring a secret - a secret that the whole family might be willing to cover up.

Meanwhile, Detective Sergeant Diane Fry has a journey of her own to make - a journey back to her roots. As she finds herself drawn into an investigation of her own among the inner-city streets of Birmingham, Fry realises there is only one person she can rely on to provide the help she needs.

But that man is Ben Cooper, and he's back in Derbyshire, where his suspicions are leading him towards a shocking discovery on the banks of another Peak District river.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

An atmospheric new Fry and Cooper thriller for fans of Peter Robinson and Reginald Hill

Review:

Praise for Dying to Sin:

'Clever, intricate plot… Cooper is an ascendant Lewis to Fry's lonely, bitter Morse in this… gripping procedural' Financial Times

Praise for Scared to Live:

'It's easy to see why Stephen Booth's novels are so popular. The Peak District's awesome scenery is an ideal background for a murder or two; he has developed his two principal characters into rounded personalities and he always gives them an intriguing mystery to investigate' Sunday Telegraph

'A modern master of rural noir' Guardian

'Booth's aim is to portray the darkness that lies below the surface… in this he succeeds wonderfully well' Daily Mail

'Ingenious plotting and richly atmospheric' Reginald Hill

Praise for Stephen Booth:

'The complex relationship between [Cooper and Fry] is excellently drawn, and is combined with an intriguing plot and a real sense of place: Stephen Booth is an author to keep an eye on' Evening Standard

'Stephen Booth makes high summer in Derbyshire as dark and terrifying as midwinter' Val McDermid

'A leading light of British crime writing' Guardian

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Stephen Booth
Published by Harper (2011)
ISBN 10: 0007382146 ISBN 13: 9780007382149
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000183844

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 0.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Stephen Booth
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2011)
ISBN 10: 0007382146 ISBN 13: 9780007382149
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 196 x 128 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. An atmospheric new Fry and Cooper thriller for fans of Peter Robinson and Reginald Hill A May Bank Holiday in the Peak District is ruined by the tragic drowning of an eight-year-old girl in picturesque Dovedale. For Detective Constable Ben Cooper, a helpless witness to the tragedy, the incident is not only traumatic, but leads him to become involved in the tangled lives of the Neilds, the dead girl s family. As he gets to know them, Cooper begins to suspect that one of them is harbouring a secret - a secret that the whole family might be willing to cover up. Meanwhile, Detective Sergeant Diane Fry has a journey of her own to make - a journey back to her roots. As she finds herself drawn into an investigation of her own among the inner-city streets of Birmingham, Fry realises there is only one person she can rely on to provide the help she needs. But that man is Ben Cooper, and he s back in Derbyshire, where his suspicions are leading him towards a shocking discovery on the banks of another Peak District river. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007382149

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Stephen Booth
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2011)
ISBN 10: 0007382146 ISBN 13: 9780007382149
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 196 x 128 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. An atmospheric new Fry and Cooper thriller for fans of Peter Robinson and Reginald Hill A May Bank Holiday in the Peak District is ruined by the tragic drowning of an eight-year-old girl in picturesque Dovedale. For Detective Constable Ben Cooper, a helpless witness to the tragedy, the incident is not only traumatic, but leads him to become involved in the tangled lives of the Neilds, the dead girl s family. As he gets to know them, Cooper begins to suspect that one of them is harbouring a secret - a secret that the whole family might be willing to cover up. Meanwhile, Detective Sergeant Diane Fry has a journey of her own to make - a journey back to her roots. As she finds herself drawn into an investigation of her own among the inner-city streets of Birmingham, Fry realises there is only one person she can rely on to provide the help she needs. But that man is Ben Cooper, and he s back in Derbyshire, where his suspicions are leading him towards a shocking discovery on the banks of another Peak District river. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007382149

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.27
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Stephen Booth
ISBN 10: 0007382146 ISBN 13: 9780007382149
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800073821490000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Stephen Booth
Published by Harper 2011-03-31 (2011)
ISBN 10: 0007382146 ISBN 13: 9780007382149
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 2011-03-31, 2011. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-04698994

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Stephen Booth
Published by HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0007382146 ISBN 13: 9780007382149
New Paperback Quantity Available: 4
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, Lost River, Stephen Booth, An atmospheric new Fry and Cooper thriller for fans of Peter Robinson and Reginald Hill A May Bank Holiday in the Peak District is ruined by the tragic drowning of an eight-year-old girl in picturesque Dovedale. For Detective Constable Ben Cooper, a helpless witness to the tragedy, the incident is not only traumatic, but leads him to become involved in the tangled lives of the Neilds, the dead girl's family. As he gets to know them, Cooper begins to suspect that one of them is harbouring a secret - a secret that the whole family might be willing to cover up. Meanwhile, Detective Sergeant Diane Fry has a journey of her own to make - a journey back to her roots. As she finds herself drawn into an investigation of her own among the inner-city streets of Birmingham, Fry realises there is only one person she can rely on to provide the help she needs. But that man is Ben Cooper, and he's back in Derbyshire, where his suspicions are leading him towards a shocking discovery on the banks of another Peak District river. Bookseller Inventory # B9780007382149

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Stephen Booth
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0007382146 ISBN 13: 9780007382149
New Softcover Quantity Available: 13
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Book Condition: New. 2011. Paperback. An atmospheric new Fry and Cooper thriller for fans of Peter Robinson and Reginald Hill Num Pages: 368 pages. BIC Classification: FF. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 132 x 197 x 23. Weight in Grams: 274. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780007382149

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.87
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Stephen Booth
Published by Harper (2011)
ISBN 10: 0007382146 ISBN 13: 9780007382149
New Softcover Quantity Available: 13
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2011. Book Condition: New. 2011. Paperback. An atmospheric new Fry and Cooper thriller for fans of Peter Robinson and Reginald Hill Num Pages: 368 pages. BIC Classification: FF. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 132 x 197 x 23. Weight in Grams: 274. . . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780007382149

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Stephen Booth
Published by Harper (2011)
ISBN 10: 0007382146 ISBN 13: 9780007382149
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2011. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # GH9780007382149

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.89
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Stephen Booth
Published by Harper (2011)
ISBN 10: 0007382146 ISBN 13: 9780007382149
New Softcover Quantity Available: 9
Seller
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2011. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780007382149_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.87
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book