Rai, Dipika Someone Else's Garden

ISBN 13: 9780007355099

Someone Else's Garden

3.66 avg rating
( 349 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007355099: Someone Else's Garden

A big, intensely involving and evocative Indian novel, perfect for fans of Vikas Swarup's Slumdog Millioniare, with its emotive and, ultimately, redemptive story.

Mamta is one of seven children and learns early on in her childhood what it means to be born female in rural India. Married to a savagely unkind and brutal husband, she flees to the city to try and make a new life for herself. Sharing her story are her mother, Lata Bai, the saintly Lokend, her ever-loving brother Prem, a soul-searching bandit and a brutal landlord. This is a redemptive story, despite the often unforgiving setting, and one that is difficult to put down.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

'Dipika Rai turns rural India into a setting for an epic tale of love and loss that feels timeless and familiar.' Jamal Mahjoub, author of The Drift Latitudes and Travelling with Djinns

About the Author:

Dipika Rai, was born and raised in New Delhi. She was educated in one of India’s most prestigious boarding schools in the foothills of the Himalayas and then went on to do an MBA before going into banking. After a career change, she worked as a journalist for many years, writing for publications including Vogue India and Marie Claire. She now divides her time between India and the island of Bali where she lives with her husband and two children. This is her first novel.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book

Shipping: 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Rai, Dipika
Published by William Collins (2011)
ISBN 10: 0007355092 ISBN 13: 9780007355099
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
W2Books
(Hereford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Collins, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. A new, unread, unused book in perfect condition with no missing or damaged pages. Shipped from UK. Orders will be dispatched within 48 hours of receiving your order. Orders are dispatched Monday â" Friday. FREE Returns service (for UK customers) for books upto 2kg please contact us for details. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000131319

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
1.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds