Dipika Rai Someone Else's Garden

ISBN 13: 9780007355099

Someone Else's Garden

3.65 avg rating
( 355 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007355099: Someone Else's Garden

A big, intensely involving and evocative Indian novel, perfect for fans of Vikas Swarup's Slumdog Millioniare, with its emotive and, ultimately, redemptive story. Mamta is one of seven children and learns early on in her childhood what it means to be born female in rural India. Married to a savagely unkind and brutal husband, she flees to the city to try and make a new life for herself. Sharing her story are her mother, Lata Bai, the saintly Lokend, her ever-loving brother Prem, a soul-searching bandit and a brutal landlord. This is a redemptive story, despite the often unforgiving setting, and one that is difficult to put down.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

The eldest of seven children,born low-caste and female in rural India,Mamta is abused and rejected by a father whocan see no reason to “water someone else’s garden” until ahusband is found for her. Seeking escape in matrimony, Mamta beginsher wedded life with hope—but is soon forced to flee her village and thehorrors of her arranged marriage to the bustle of a small city. Saved from becomingone of the nameless and faceless millions of rejected humanity by thesalvation of sublime love, Mamta struggles to find a precarious state ofacceptance and make peace with her past.

Powerfully affecting and uplifting, set against a vivid and colorful backgroundof Eastern life, Dipika Rai’s Someone Else’s Garden transcends geographicaldivides and cultural chasms to brilliantly expose the commonalityof the human condition, compelling us to seek answerswithin ourselves to humanity’s eternalquestions: Is life random?Do we have a destiny?

About the Author:

Dipika Rai, was born and raised in New Delhi. She was educated in one of India's most prestigious boarding schools in the foothills of the Himalayas and then went on to do an MBA before going into banking. After a career change, she worked as a journalist for many years, writing for publications including Vogue India and Marie Claire. She now divides her time between India and the island of Bali where she lives with her husband and two children. This is her first novel.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Rai, Dipika
Published by William Collins (2011)
ISBN 10: 0007355092 ISBN 13: 9780007355099
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
W2Books
(Hereford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Collins, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. A new, unread, unused book in perfect condition with no missing or damaged pages. Shipped from UK. Orders will be dispatched within 48 hours of receiving your order. Orders are dispatched Monday â" Friday. FREE Returns service (for UK customers) for books upto 2kg please contact us for details. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000131319

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
1.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Rai, Dipika
Published by HarperCollins Publishers (2011)
ISBN 10: 0007355092 ISBN 13: 9780007355099
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0007355092

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.27
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.02
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds