The Kill Call (Cooper and Fry Crime Series, Book 9)

3.79 avg rating
( 862 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007352678: The Kill Call (Cooper and Fry Crime Series, Book 9)

An atmospheric new Fry and Cooper thriller for fans of Peter Robinson and Reginald Hill.

On a rain-swept Derbyshire moor, hounds from the local foxhunt find the body of a well-dressed man whose head has been crushed. Yet an anonymous caller reports the same body lying half a mile away. Called in to investigate the discovery, detectives DS Diane Fry and DC Ben Cooper become entangled in the violent world of hunting and hunt saboteurs, horse theft and a little-known sector of the meat trade.

As Fry follows a complex trail of her own to unravel the shady business interests of the murder victim, Cooper realizes that the answer to the case might lie deep in the past. History is everywhere around him in the Peak District landscape - particularly in the ‘plague village’ of Eyam, where an outbreak of Black Death has been turned into a modern-day tourist attraction.

But, even as the final solution is revealed, both Fry and Cooper find themselves having to face up to the disturbing reality of the much more recent past.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

An atmospheric new Fry and Cooper thriller for fans of Peter Robinson and Reginald Hill.

Review:

Praise for The Kill Call:

‘Informative and clever’ Literary Review

‘Plenty to get your teeth into here… adds an extra edge of darkness to an already twilight tale’ Northern Echo

Praise for Dying to Sin:

‘Clever, intricate plot… Cooper is an ascendant Lewis to Fry’s lonely, bitter Morse in this… gripping procedural’ Financial Times

Praise for Scared to Live:

'It's easy to see why Stephen Booth's novels are so popular. The Peak District's awesome scenery is an ideal background for a murder or two; he has developed his two principal characters into rounded personalities and he always gives them an intriguing mystery to investigate' Sunday Telegraph

'A modern master of rural noir' Guardian

'Booth's aim is to portray the darkness that lies below the surface… in this he succeeds wonderfully well' Daily Mail

'Ingenious plotting and richly atmospheric' Reginald Hill

Praise for Stephen Booth:

'Stephen Booth creates a fine sense of place and atmosphere … the unguessable solution to the crime comes as a real surprise' Sunday Telegraph

'The complex relationship between [Cooper and Fry] is excellently drawn, and is combined with an intriguing plot and a real sense of place: Stephen Booth is an author to keep an eye on' Evening Standard

'Stephen Booth makes high summer in Derbyshire as dark and terrifying as midwinter' Val McDermid

'Sinks its teeth into you and doesn't let go … A dark star may be born!' Reginald Hill

'A leading light of British crime writing' Guardian

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Booth, Stephen
Published by Harper (2010)
ISBN 10: 0007352670 ISBN 13: 9780007352678
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Bestsellersuk
(Hereford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. No.1 BESTSELLERS - great prices, friendly customer service â" all orders are dispatched next working day. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000429724

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Stephen Booth
Published by Harper Collins Ome (2010)
ISBN 10: 0007352670 ISBN 13: 9780007352678
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Ome, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110007352670

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
44.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.30
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Booth, Stephen
Published by Harper (2010)
ISBN 10: 0007352670 ISBN 13: 9780007352678
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0007352670

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
88.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds