Spellwright: Book 1 of the Spellwright Trilogy (The Spellwright Trilogy, Book 1)

3.61 avg rating
( 3,668 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780007349197: Spellwright: Book 1 of the Spellwright Trilogy (The Spellwright Trilogy, Book 1)

A highly original and engaging debut set in a fantasy world where language holds extraordinary power, perfect for fans of Robin Hobb and Tad Williams.

Nicodemus Weal is a cacographer, unable to reproduce even simple magical texts without 'misspelling' – a mistake which can have deadly consequences. He was supposed to be the Halcyon, a magic-user of unsurpassed power, destined to save the world; instead he is restricted to menial tasks, and mocked for his failure to live up to the prophecy.

But not everyone interprets prophecy in the same way. There are some factions who believe a cacographer such as Nicodemus could hold great power – power that might be used as easily for evil as for good. And when two of the wizards closest to Nicodemus are found dead, it becomes clear that some of those factions will stop at nothing to find the apprentice and bend him to their will…

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Praise for SPELLWRIGHT:

'Blake Charlton has not only invented a fascinating world and peopled it with realistic people and wonderful, grisly monsters, but he has also created one of the few truly original magical systems we've seen in fantasy fiction… I'm fascinated to see what happens next and will be following every word with the absorption of an apprentice spellwright. You will be, too' Tad Williams

'Nicodemus Weal is a protagonist that all of us can identify with. SPELLWRIGHT features a unique system of magic and characters that are genuine inhabitants of that world. SPELLWRIGHT is a letter-perfect story: an absorbing read and recommended.' Robin Hobb

‘An enthralling tale’ Terry Brooks

'A clever conceit well executed adds a flair of originality to this wizard-in-training fantasy. A spellcaster who can't spell – in both senses of the word! Fast-paced and well-written, SPELLWRIGHT is an enjoyable read’ Kevin J. Anderson

‘SPELLWRIGHT [is] a refreshingly different fantasy novel… enjoyably well-written, with a satisfying conclusion that leaves plenty of room for the inevitable sequel’ SFX

About the Author:

Severe dyslexia kept Blake Charlton from reading fluently until he was twelve. Because of this, everyone – including Blake – believed that he would never attend college. Ten years later he graduated summa cum laude from Yale University. Blake is currently studying at Stanford Medical School. Spellwright is his first novel.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Charlton, Blake
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2011)
ISBN 10: 000734919X ISBN 13: 9780007349197
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 194 x 128 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. A highly original and engaging debut set in a fantasy world where language holds extraordinary power, perfect for fans of Robin Hobb and Tad Williams. Nicodemus Weal is a cacographer, unable to reproduce even simple magical texts without misspelling - a mistake which can have deadly consequences. He was supposed to be the Halcyon, a magic-user of unsurpassed power, destined to save the world; instead he is restricted to menial tasks, and mocked for his failure to live up to the prophecy. But not everyone interprets prophecy in the same way. There are some factions who believe a cacographer such as Nicodemus could hold great power - power that might be used as easily for evil as for good. And when two of the wizards closest to Nicodemus are found dead, it becomes clear that some of those factions will stop at nothing to find the apprentice and bend him to their will. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007349197

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.10
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Charlton, Blake
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2011)
ISBN 10: 000734919X ISBN 13: 9780007349197
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 194 x 128 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. A highly original and engaging debut set in a fantasy world where language holds extraordinary power, perfect for fans of Robin Hobb and Tad Williams. Nicodemus Weal is a cacographer, unable to reproduce even simple magical texts without misspelling - a mistake which can have deadly consequences. He was supposed to be the Halcyon, a magic-user of unsurpassed power, destined to save the world; instead he is restricted to menial tasks, and mocked for his failure to live up to the prophecy. But not everyone interprets prophecy in the same way. There are some factions who believe a cacographer such as Nicodemus could hold great power - power that might be used as easily for evil as for good. And when two of the wizards closest to Nicodemus are found dead, it becomes clear that some of those factions will stop at nothing to find the apprentice and bend him to their will. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007349197

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Charlton, Blake
Published by Harper Voyager 2011-03-03 (2011)
ISBN 10: 000734919X ISBN 13: 9780007349197
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Voyager 2011-03-03, 2011. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-04690773

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.19
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Charlton, Blake
ISBN 10: 000734919X ISBN 13: 9780007349197
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Not Signed; A highly original and engaging debut set in a fantasy world where language holds extraordinary power, perfect for fans of Robin Hobb and Tad Williams. Nicodemus Weal is a cacographer, unable to reproduce even simple magical texts without 'misspelling' - a mistake which can have deadly consequences. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780007349197_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.34
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Charlton, Blake
Published by Harper Voyager (2011)
ISBN 10: 000734919X ISBN 13: 9780007349197
New Softcover Quantity Available: 10
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Voyager, 2011. Book Condition: New. 2011. paperback / softback. Paperback. A highly original and engaging debut set in a fantasy world where language holds extraordinary power, perfect for fans of Robin Hobb and Tad Williams. Series: The Spellwright Trilogy. Num Pages: 464 pages. BIC Classification: FM. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 204 x 129 x 32. Weight in Grams: 342. . . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780007349197

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Charlton, Blake
Published by HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 000734919X ISBN 13: 9780007349197
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, Spellwright: Book 1 of the Spellwright Trilogy, Blake Charlton, A highly original and engaging debut set in a fantasy world where language holds extraordinary power, perfect for fans of Robin Hobb and Tad Williams. Nicodemus Weal is a cacographer, unable to reproduce even simple magical texts without 'misspelling' - a mistake which can have deadly consequences. He was supposed to be the Halcyon, a magic-user of unsurpassed power, destined to save the world; instead he is restricted to menial tasks, and mocked for his failure to live up to the prophecy. But not everyone interprets prophecy in the same way. There are some factions who believe a cacographer such as Nicodemus could hold great power - power that might be used as easily for evil as for good. And when two of the wizards closest to Nicodemus are found dead, it becomes clear that some of those factions will stop at nothing to find the apprentice and bend him to their will. Bookseller Inventory # B9780007349197

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Charlton, Blake
Published by Harper Voyager
ISBN 10: 000734919X ISBN 13: 9780007349197
New Softcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Voyager. Book Condition: New. 2011. paperback / softback. Paperback. A highly original and engaging debut set in a fantasy world where language holds extraordinary power, perfect for fans of Robin Hobb and Tad Williams. Series: The Spellwright Trilogy. Num Pages: 464 pages. BIC Classification: FM. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 204 x 129 x 32. Weight in Grams: 342. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780007349197

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.30
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Charlton, Blake
Published by Harper Voyager (2011)
ISBN 10: 000734919X ISBN 13: 9780007349197
New Softcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Voyager, 2011. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # GA9780007349197

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.32
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Charlton, Blake
Published by Harper Voyager (2011)
ISBN 10: 000734919X ISBN 13: 9780007349197
New paperback / softback First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Allyouneedisbooks Ltd
(Westbury, WILTS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Voyager, 2011. paperback / softback. Book Condition: new. 1st edition 1st printing trade paperback, new In stock shipped from our UK warehouse. Bookseller Inventory # 31154

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 9.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Charlton, Blake
Published by HarperCollins Publishers 2011-03-03, London (2011)
ISBN 10: 000734919X ISBN 13: 9780007349197
New paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers 2011-03-03, London, 2011. paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007349197

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book