THE LACE READER

3.46 avg rating
( 24,461 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007345823: THE LACE READER

In the tradition of The Thirteenth Tale, Brunonia Barry’s bewitching gothic novel, The Lace Reader, is a phenomenon. Called “[a] richly imagined saga of passion, suspense, and magic” by Time Magazine, it is a haunting and remarkable tale told by an unforgettable, if strangely unreliable narrator—a woman from an enigmatic Salem family who can foretell the future in patterns of lace. The Lace Reader was a runaway New York Times bestseller—hitting the top lists in major cities across the country, from Boston to Chicago to Los Angeles—and has immediately established debut author Brunonia Barry as a major force in contemporary American fiction.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Amazon Best of the Month, August 2008: Brunonia Barry dreamt she saw a prophecy in a piece of lace, a vision so potent she spun it into a novel. The Lace Reader retains the strange magic of a vivid dream, though Barry's portrayal of modern-day Salem, Massachusetts--with its fascinating cast of eccentrics--is reportedly spot-on. Some of its stranger residents include generations of Whitney women, with a gift for seeing the future in the lace they make. Towner Whitney, back to Salem from self-imposed exile on the West Coast, has plans for recuperation that evaporate with her great-aunt Eva's mysterious drowning. Fighting fear from a traumatic adolescence she can barely remember, Towner digs in for answers. But questions compound with the disappearance of a young woman under the thrall of a local fire-and-brimstone preacher, whose history of violence against Whitney women makes the situation personal for Towner. Her role in cop John Rafferty's investigation sparks a tentative romance. And as they scramble to avert disaster, the past that had slipped through the gaps in Towner's memory explodes into the present with a violence that capsizes her concept of truth. Readers will look back at the story in a new light, picking out the clues in this complex, lovely piece of work. --Mari Malcolm

From the Back Cover:

Every gift has a price . . .

Every piece of lace has a secret . . .

My name is Towner Whitney. No, that's not exactly true. My real first name is Sophya. Never believe me. I lie all the time . . .

Towner Whitney, the self-confessed unreliable narrator of The Lace Reader, hails from a family of Salem women who can read the future in the patterns in lace, and who have guarded a history of secrets going back generations, but the disappearance of two women brings Towner home to Salem and the truth about the death of her twin sister to light.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Brunonia Barry
Published by HarperPress (2010)
ISBN 10: 0007345828 ISBN 13: 9780007345823
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
smeikalbooks
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperPress, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand new book. Fast shipping form our UK warehouse in eco-friendly packaging. Fast, efficient and friendly customer service. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007345823N

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
0.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.74
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Barry, Brunonia
Published by William Collins (2010)
ISBN 10: 0007345828 ISBN 13: 9780007345823
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
cbs distribution ltd
(Brecon, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Collins, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ABC4288

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
0.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Brunonia Barry
Published by HarperPress (2010)
ISBN 10: 0007345828 ISBN 13: 9780007345823
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Bestsellersuk
(Hereford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperPress, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. No.1 BESTSELLERS - great prices, friendly customer service â" all orders are dispatched next working day. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000511623

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
1.69
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8.51
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Brunonia Barry
Published by Harper and Brothers (2010)
ISBN 10: 0007345828 ISBN 13: 9780007345823
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Zarak Books
(Norwich, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper and Brothers, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand new copy. Bookseller Inventory # 034029

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.26
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Brunonia Barry
ISBN 10: 0007345828 ISBN 13: 9780007345823
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. Drawn by family. Driven by fear. Haunted by fate. Would knowing the future be a gift or a burden? Or even a curse.?The Whitney women of Salem, Massachusetts are renowned for reading the.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 400 pages. 0.292. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007345823

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

BRUNONIA BARRY
Published by HARPERPRESS (2010)
ISBN 10: 0007345828 ISBN 13: 9780007345823
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPERPRESS, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0007345828

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
17.72
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

BRUNONIA BARRY
Published by HARPERPRESS (2010)
ISBN 10: 0007345828 ISBN 13: 9780007345823
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPERPRESS, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0007345828

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
18.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.04
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Brunonia Barry
ISBN 10: 0007345828 ISBN 13: 9780007345823
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
AussieBookSeller
(SILVERWATER, NSW, Australia)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. Drawn by family. Driven by fear. Haunted by fate. Would knowing the future be a gift or a burden? Or even a curse.?The Whitney women of Salem, Massachusetts are renowned fo.Shipping may be from our Sydney, NSW warehouse or from our UK or US warehouse, depending on stock availability. 400 pages. 0.292. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007345823

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.58
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 28.21
From Australia to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds