Balthazar Jones and the Tower of London Zoo

3.58 avg rating
( 7,572 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780007345236: Balthazar Jones and the Tower of London Zoo

A poignant, magical and completely original novel that you can’t fail to love, for fans of Joanne Harris.

Meet Balthazar Jones, Beefeater at the Tower of London. Married to Hebe, he lives and works in the Tower, as he struggles to cope with the tragic death of his son Milo, three years ago.

The Tower of London is its own magical world; a maze of ancient buildings, it is home to a weird and wonderful cast of characters - the Jones's of course, as well as Reverend Septimus Drew, the Ravenmaster, and Ruby Dore, landlady of the Tower's very own tavern, the Rack & Ruin. And, after an announcement from Buckingham Palace that the Queen's exotic animals are to be moved from London Zoo to the Tower's grounds, things are about to become a whole lot more interesting…

Komodo dragons, marmosets, and even zorillas ('a highly revered yet uniquely odorous skunk-like animal from Africa') fill the Tower's menagerie – and it is Balthazar Jones's job to take care of them. Things run far from smoothly, though – missing penguins and stolen giraffes are just two of his worries!

A touching, magical and entirely original debut.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

'From start to finish, it's an absolute delight and I enjoyed every comical, poignant and heart warming moment.' --IndieLondon

`A perfect suggestion for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society; highly recommended' --Library Journal (US)

'the book will steal your heart' --People Magazine (US)

'perfect summer confection...every-page amusing' --Denver Post (US)

'delightfully zany and touching'
--Washington Post (US)

'a delightful gem of a novel, filled with absurdity, hilarity and poignancy in equal measures.'
--New Zealand Herald

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Julia Stuart
Published by HarperCollins Publishers (2010)
ISBN 10: 0007345232 ISBN 13: 9780007345236
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, 2010. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # FC-9780007345236

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.80
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Julia Stuart
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2010)
ISBN 10: 0007345232 ISBN 13: 9780007345236
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 192 x 128 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. A poignant, magical and completely original novel that you can t fail to love, for fans of Joanne Harris. Meet Balthazar Jones, Beefeater at the Tower of London. Married to Hebe, he lives and works in the Tower, as he struggles to cope with the tragic death of his son Milo, three years ago. The Tower of London is its own magical world; a maze of ancient buildings, it is home to a weird and wonderful cast of characters - the Jones s of course, as well as Reverend Septimus Drew, the Ravenmaster, and Ruby Dore, landlady of the Tower s very own tavern, the Rack Ruin. And, after an announcement from Buckingham Palace that the Queen s exotic animals are to be moved from London Zoo to the Tower s grounds, things are about to become a whole lot more interesting.Komodo dragons, marmosets, and even zorillas ( a highly revered yet uniquely odorous skunk-like animal from Africa ) fill the Tower s menagerie - and it is Balthazar Jones s job to take care of them. Things run far from smoothly, though - missing penguins and stolen giraffes are just two of his worries! A touching, magical and entirely original debut. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007345236

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.10
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Julia Stuart
Published by HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0007345232 ISBN 13: 9780007345236
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, Balthazar Jones and the Tower of London Zoo, Julia Stuart, A poignant, magical and completely original novel that you can't fail to love, for fans of Joanne Harris. Meet Balthazar Jones, Beefeater at the Tower of London. Married to Hebe, he lives and works in the Tower, as he struggles to cope with the tragic death of his son Milo, three years ago. The Tower of London is its own magical world; a maze of ancient buildings, it is home to a weird and wonderful cast of characters - the Jones's of course, as well as Reverend Septimus Drew, the Ravenmaster, and Ruby Dore, landlady of the Tower's very own tavern, the Rack & Ruin. And, after an announcement from Buckingham Palace that the Queen's exotic animals are to be moved from London Zoo to the Tower's grounds, things are about to become a whole lot more interesting.Komodo dragons, marmosets, and even zorillas ('a highly revered yet uniquely odorous skunk-like animal from Africa') fill the Tower's menagerie - and it is Balthazar Jones's job to take care of them. Things run far from smoothly, though - missing penguins and stolen giraffes are just two of his worries! A touching, magical and entirely original debut. Bookseller Inventory # B9780007345236

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.75
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Stuart, Julia
ISBN 10: 0007345232 ISBN 13: 9780007345236
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Speedy Hen
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST0007345232. Bookseller Inventory # ST0007345232

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Julia Stuart
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2010)
ISBN 10: 0007345232 ISBN 13: 9780007345236
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 192 x 128 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. A poignant, magical and completely original novel that you can t fail to love, for fans of Joanne Harris. Meet Balthazar Jones, Beefeater at the Tower of London. Married to Hebe, he lives and works in the Tower, as he struggles to cope with the tragic death of his son Milo, three years ago. The Tower of London is its own magical world; a maze of ancient buildings, it is home to a weird and wonderful cast of characters - the Jones s of course, as well as Reverend Septimus Drew, the Ravenmaster, and Ruby Dore, landlady of the Tower s very own tavern, the Rack Ruin. And, after an announcement from Buckingham Palace that the Queen s exotic animals are to be moved from London Zoo to the Tower s grounds, things are about to become a whole lot more interesting.Komodo dragons, marmosets, and even zorillas ( a highly revered yet uniquely odorous skunk-like animal from Africa ) fill the Tower s menagerie - and it is Balthazar Jones s job to take care of them. Things run far from smoothly, though - missing penguins and stolen giraffes are just two of his worries! A touching, magical and entirely original debut. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007345236

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Stuart, Julia
ISBN 10: 0007345232 ISBN 13: 9780007345236
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800073452360000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Julia Stuart
Published by HarperCollins Publishers 2010-03-04, London (2010)
ISBN 10: 0007345232 ISBN 13: 9780007345236
New paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers 2010-03-04, London, 2010. paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007345236

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Julia Stuart
ISBN 10: 0007345232 ISBN 13: 9780007345236
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Not Signed; A poignant, magical and completely original novel that you can't fail to love, for fans of Joanne Harris. Meet Balthazar Jones, Beefeater at the Tower of London. Married to Hebe, he lives and works in the Tower, as he struggles to cope with the tragic death of his son Milo, three years ago. The Towe. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780007345236_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.80
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Stuart, Julia
Published by Harper Press
ISBN 10: 0007345232 ISBN 13: 9780007345236
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Press. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # __0007345232

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.59
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.75
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Stuart, Julia
Published by William Collins (2010)
ISBN 10: 0007345232 ISBN 13: 9780007345236
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Collins, 2010. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # GH9780007345236

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.33
From Germany to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book