The Borgia Bride

ISBN 13: 9780007335435

The Borgia Bride

3.83 avg rating
( 9,067 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007335435: The Borgia Bride

In the tradition of The Birth of Venus and The Other Boleyn Girl, Jeanne Kalogridis' The Borgia Bride is novel is about an actual historical figure, Sancha of Aragon, a young princess from Naples who marries into the decadent Court of the Borgias and finds herself caught between her dangerous passion for handsome Cesare Borgia and the ferocious jealousy of his sister Lucrezia -- who is also her brother's mistress Incest. Poison. Betrayal.Three wedding presents for the Borgia bride.
Italy 1492.Pope Alexander VI is elected. And so begins the Borgia reign of terror. Alexander murders,bribes and betrays to establish his dynasty.Rome is a hotbed of accusation and conspiracy. Every day,the River Tiber is full of new bodies.Sancha of Aragon,daughter of King Alfonso II of Naples, arrives in Rome newly wed to Alexander's youngest son, Jofre. Their marriage protects Naples against the ambitions of the French King Louis and gains Spanish support for the Borgias. But Rome is very different from her beloved Naples.The debauchery of the Borgia inner-circle is notorious: every lust is indulged and every indiscretion overlooked. It is an open secret that the beautiful and tantalizing Lucrezia Borgia is involved in sexual liaisons with both her father, the Pope, and her devastatingly handsome but sadistic brother, Cesare. Sancha is no innocent: she possesses an indomitable spirit that allows her to survive in the snake-pit, but her paternal ancestors once rivaled the Borgias in cruelty and Sancha's greatest fear is that her father's nefarious blood will dominate the sweet, humanitarian legacy of her mother. Lucrezia's vicious jealousy stings Sancha at first, but gradually the two young women develop a cautious friendship. But when Cesare's malice turns on Sancha and her beloved brother, she must summon her dark side and do whatever it takes to protect her country, her family, and herself.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Jeanne Kalogridis lives on the West Coast, where she shares a house with an adorably wiggly black Lab named Django. She is the author of The Scarlet Contessa, The Devil’s Queen, and other dark fantasy and historical novels. Born in Florida, Kalogridis has a B.A. in Russian and a master’s in linguistics, and taught English as a second language at The American University for eight years before retiring to write full-time.

From Publishers Weekly:

Against the backdrop of 15th-century Italian internecine feuds, debauchery and Vatican corruption, Kalogridis's latest historical novel (after The Burning Times) chronicles with compelling sweep the story of the ravishing and iron-willed Sancha de Aragon, princess of Naples. Illegitimate daughter to the coldhearted duke of Calabria (briefly king of Naples), she is used to establish ties to the feared and influential House of Borgia when her father betroths her to the younger scion, Jofre. Much to the dismay of her beloved younger brother Alfonso, Sancha is sent from Naples to rule with Prince Jofre in remote Squillace. War with the French will later briefly return her to Naples, but rumors of her beauty reach her lecherous father-in-law, Pope Alexander VI, who recalls her and Jofre to opulent Rome. There, she avoids the pope's advances—and her jealous sister-in-law Lucrezia's animosity—but falls into a steamy affair with her brother-in-law, the dashing Cesare, cardinal of Valencia. Cesare becomes furious when she refuses to leave Jofre, and he sets out on a warpath that includes her brother Alfonso, who has also married into the Borgia clan—to Lucrezia. Kalogridis spins a dramatic tale from a heady mix of royal power plays and passion.
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy Used View Book

Shipping: 4.89
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Kalogridis, Jeanne
ISBN 10: 0007335431 ISBN 13: 9780007335435
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: Good. The book has been read but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact and the cover is intact. Some minor wear to the spine. Bookseller Inventory # GOR005967932

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
459.42
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.89
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds