Alma Alexander The Embers of Heaven

ISBN 13: 9780007335121

The Embers of Heaven

3.34 avg rating
( 192 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007335121: The Embers of Heaven

A rich, magical saga, set in eighteenth-century China, which will appeal to fans of Joanne Harris and Amy Tan.

In The Secrets of Jin-Shei, eight women pledge themselves as sisters in the name of jin-shei, the unbreakable bond, the promise that lasts a lifetime. This sisterhood shapes their lives, their country and their world. The Embers of Heaven begins four hundred years later. In eighteenth-century Syai, and its capital city of Linh-an, things have changed beyond recognition.

On the face of it, women are more equal than they have ever been. But the men run the machines, the factories, and the technology. Women have lost the ability to weave their fates and influence the course of events. The foundation of an empire once rested on jin-shei and its customs. It connected women from every walk of life and formed a bond that empowered every woman who swore the oath. The advancement of printing, the developments of technology and the changes in society have seemed to improve the daily lives of the underclass, but women have been stripped of this sacred pact.

Amais is heir to her poet-ancestress's manuscripts and journals. The journals are all in jin-ashu, the women's tongue, taught sketchily to Amais by her mother. Amais has the clear vision of an outsider looking in. Combined with her deep and instinctive bond to her ancestors and her culture, she determines to reinvent the Women's Country and bring the jin-shei back. But just as her crusade begins, she and her family are caught up in the storm of history: the whirlwind of the Golden Rising – a people's revolution that is fated to destroy much that was once valuable, gracious and beautiful.

The Embers of Heaven is a magical epic, with delightful characters, an intriguing scenario and a real feeling of place and history. It has a wonderful combination of character, romantic lives, and spiritual quest, set against a credible historical background.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

Perfect for fans of Memoirs of a Geisha and Empress Orchid – ‘The Embers of Heaven’ is a magical epic, with delightful characters, an intriguing scenario and a real feeling of place and history. It has a wonderful combination of character, romantic lives, and spiritual quest, set against a credible historical background.

In ‘The Secrets of Jin-Shei,’ eight women pledge themselves as sisters in the name of jin-shei, the unbreakable bond, the promise that lasts a lifetime. This sisterhood shapes their lives, their country and their world. ‘The Embers of Heaven’ begins four hundred years later. In eighteenth-century Syai, and its capital city of Linh-an, things have changed beyond recognition.

On the face of it, women are more equal than they have ever been. But the men run the machines, the factories, and the technology. Women have lost the ability to weave their fates and influence the course of events. The foundation of an empire once rested on jin-shei and its customs. It connected women from every walk of life and formed a bond that empowered every woman who swore the oath. The advancement of printing, the developments of technology and the changes in society seem to have improved the daily lives of the underclass, but women have been stripped of this sacred pact.

Amais is heir to her poet-ancestress's manuscripts and journals. The journals are all in jin-ashu, the women's tongue, taught sketchily to Amais by her mother. Amais has the clear vision of an outsider looking in. Combined with her deep and instinctive bond to her ancestors and her culture, she determines to reinvent the Women's Country and bring the jin-shei back. But just as her crusade begins, she and her family are caught up in the whirlwind of the Golden Rising – a people's revolution that is fated to destroy much that was once valuable, gracious and beautiful.

Review:

Praise for ‘The Embers of Heaven’:

‘A magical tale with strong mystical elements.’
www.HagHarlotsHeroines.com

‘An intense, beautifully told tale…a rare treat.’
www.myshelf.com

Praise for Alma Alexander and her books:

‘“The Secrets of Jin-Shei” is a completely original – and a completely magical piece of literature.' Joanne Harris

'It's a beguiling notion, a secret sisterhood with its own language, enhanced by a setting in medieval China, replete with tradition, conflict and drama…the unique structure brings together a rich cast. The complex plot touches on astrology and alchemy, Taoism and concubines, and an attempt to hold power within a society fraught with intrigue…it is extraordinarily accomplished.' Financial Times

'The story is founded on the special friendships that exist among women. The strength of those friendships is the magic that winds through this tale…the device of a written language known only to women is a lovely metaphor…this is a book that will speak to many.' Robin Hobb

'In this magical novel, Alexander vividly recreates a world of Cloud Empresses, alchemists and beggar kings, but more importantly, she also gives us a group of utterly convincing and sympathetic characters, who linger in the memory long after the epic story has been told…exciting, moving and unforgettable…strongly recommended.' Image

'Beautifully written, with rich characterisation and captivating originality, it quickly draws you in and is a real page-turner.' Glasgow Evening Times

'The Last Samurai has nothing on this complex adventure.' Belfast Telegraph

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Alma Alexander
ISBN 10: 0007335121 ISBN 13: 9780007335121
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800073351210000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.26
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Alma Alexander
Published by Harper (2009)
ISBN 10: 0007335121 ISBN 13: 9780007335121
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. 482 pages. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # __0007335121

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

ALMA ALEXANDER
Published by HARPER COLLINS (2009)
ISBN 10: 0007335121 ISBN 13: 9780007335121
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Herb Tandree Philosophy Books
(Stroud, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER COLLINS, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: NEW. 9780007335121 This listing is a new book, a title currently in-print which we order directly and immediately from the publisher. Bookseller Inventory # HTANDREE0980596

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds