Parris, S. J. Prophecy

ISBN 13: 9780007317721

Prophecy

3.93 avg rating
( 3,434 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780007317721: Prophecy

A Tudor thriller featuring Giordano Bruno, renegade monk, philosopher and heretic, for fans of C. J. Sansom and The Name of the Rose

Autumn, 1583. Under Elizabeth’s rule, loyalty is bought with blood…

An astrological phenomenon heralds the dawn of a new age and Queen Elizabeth’s throne is in peril. As Mary Stuart’s supporters scheme to usurp the rightful monarch, a young maid of honour is murdered, occult symbols carved into her flesh.

The Queen’s spymaster, Francis Walsingham, calls on maverick agent Giordano Bruno to infiltrate the plotters and secure the evidence that will condemn them to death.

Bruno is cunning, but so are his enemies. His identity could be exposed at any moment. The proof he seeks is within his grasp. But the young woman’s murder could point to an even more sinister truth…

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

• ‘Impossible to resist … Parris creates a convincing sense of the past, woven with so much intrigue that the head fairly spins’ Daily Telegraph

• ‘Parris writes with confident ease of Tudor London … The dialogue balances nicely on a tightrope of period phrases and cut-to-the-chase colloquialisms. More, please’ The Times

• ‘Parris’s plot is well crafted and full of surprises, an imaginatively satisfying addition to the many real intrigues surrounding the imprisoned Mary Stuart and the threats to Elizabeth’s security’ TLS

• ‘Tense and lively, a welcome follow-up to Heresy, fully living up to its predecessor’s promise’ Daily Mail

Praise for Heresy:

• ‘Heresy has everything – intrigue, mystery, excellent history and haunting sense of place. The beginning of a wonderful new detective series’ Kate Mosse

• ‘Fascinating … The period is incredibly vivid and the story utterly gripping’ Conn Iggulden (bestselling author of Bones of the Hills and The Dangerous Book for Boys)

• ‘Heresy is a riveting read. Rich in both historical detail and ingenious twists, S. J. Parris has created a character in Giordano Bruno that will endure. A true rival to C. J. Sansom’ Sam Bourne (bestselling author of The Righteous Men)

• 'Parris paces her yarn perfectly' Daily Telegraph

About the Author:

S.J.Parris is the pseudonym of Stephanie Merritt. Born in 1974, she has worked as a critic and feature writer for a variety of newspapers and magazines as well as radio and television. She currently writes for the Guardian and the Observer.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

S. J. Parris
Published by HarperCollins Publishers (2011)
ISBN 10: 0007317727 ISBN 13: 9780007317721
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Booked Again
(Summit, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New item. Bookseller Inventory # QX-267-72-9498009

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
40.73
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8.02
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds