Crime Fiction Parris, S. J. Prophecy

ISBN 13: 9780007317714

Prophecy

3.93 avg rating
( 3,509 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780007317714: Prophecy

A Tudor thriller featuring Giordano Bruno, renegade monk, philosopher and heretic, for fans of C. J. Sansom and The Name of the Rose

Autumn, 1583. Under Elizabeth’s rule, loyalty is bought with blood…

An astrological phenomenon heralds the dawn of a new age and Queen Elizabeth’s throne is in peril. As Mary Stuart’s supporters scheme to usurp the rightful monarch, a young maid of honour is murdered, occult symbols carved into her flesh.

The Queen’s spymaster, Francis Walsingham, calls on maverick agent Giordano Bruno to infiltrate the plotters and secure the evidence that will condemn them to death.

Bruno is cunning, but so are his enemies. His identity could be exposed at any moment. The proof he seeks is within his grasp. But the young woman’s murder could point to an even more sinister truth…

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

• ‘Impossible to resist … Parris creates a convincing sense of the past, woven with so much intrigue that the head fairly spins’ Daily Telegraph

• ‘Parris writes with confident ease of Tudor London … The dialogue balances nicely on a tightrope of period phrases and cut-to-the-chase colloquialisms. More, please’ The Times

• ‘Parris’s plot is well crafted and full of surprises, an imaginatively satisfying addition to the many real intrigues surrounding the imprisoned Mary Stuart and the threats to Elizabeth’s security’ TLS

• ‘Tense and lively, a welcome follow-up to Heresy, fully living up to its predecessor’s promise’ Daily Mail

Praise for Heresy:

• ‘Heresy has everything – intrigue, mystery, excellent history and haunting sense of place. The beginning of a wonderful new detective series’ Kate Mosse

• ‘Fascinating … The period is incredibly vivid and the story utterly gripping’ Conn Iggulden (bestselling author of Bones of the Hills and The Dangerous Book for Boys)

• ‘Heresy is a riveting read. Rich in both historical detail and ingenious twists, S. J. Parris has created a character in Giordano Bruno that will endure. A true rival to C. J. Sansom’ Sam Bourne (bestselling author of The Righteous Men)

• 'Parris paces her yarn perfectly' Daily Telegraph

About the Author:

S.J.Parris is the pseudonym of Stephanie Merritt. Born in 1974, she has worked as a critic and feature writer for a variety of newspapers and magazines as well as radio and television. She currently writes for the Guardian and the Observer.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

S. J. Parris
Published by HarperCollins (2011)
ISBN 10: 0007317719 ISBN 13: 9780007317714
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 4
Seller
Greener Books
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2011. Hardcover. Book Condition: Used; Good. **SHIPPED FROM UK** We believe you will be completely satisfied with our quick and reliable service. All orders are dispatched as swiftly as possible! Buy with confidence!. Bookseller Inventory # mon0001830682

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

S. J. Parris
Published by HarperCollins (2011)
ISBN 10: 0007317719 ISBN 13: 9780007317714
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Brit Books
(Milton Keynes, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2011. Hardcover. Book Condition: Used; Good. Bookseller Inventory # mon0001510868

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

S. J. Parris
Published by HarperCollins 03/03/2011 (2011)
ISBN 10: 0007317719 ISBN 13: 9780007317714
Used Quantity Available: 2
Seller
AwesomeBooks
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins 03/03/2011, 2011. Book Condition: Very Good. This book is in very good condition and will be shipped within 24 hours of ordering. The cover may have some limited signs of wear but the pages are clean, intact and the spine remains undamaged. This book has clearly been well maintained and looked after thus far. Money back guarantee if you are not satisfied. See all our books here, order more than 1 book and get discounted shipping. . Bookseller Inventory # 7719-9780007317714

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

S. J. Parris
Published by HarperCollins 03/03/2011 (2011)
ISBN 10: 0007317719 ISBN 13: 9780007317714
Used Quantity Available: 4
Seller
Fun_Meister
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins 03/03/2011, 2011. Book Condition: Good. Will be shipped promptly from UK warehouse. Book is in good condition with no missing pages, no damage or soiling and tight spine. There may be some dog-eared pages showing previous use but overall a great book. Bookseller Inventory # 9053-9780007317714

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

S. J. Parris
Published by HarperCollins 03/03/2011 (2011)
ISBN 10: 0007317719 ISBN 13: 9780007317714
Used Quantity Available: 2
Seller
AwesomeBooks
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins 03/03/2011, 2011. Book Condition: Good. This book is in good or better condition. It has no tears to the pages and no pages will be missing from the book. The spine of the book is still in great condition and the front cover is generally unmarked. It has signs of previous use but overall is in really nice, tight condition. Shipping is normally same day from our UK warehouse. We offer a money back guarantee if you are not satisfied. Bookseller Inventory # 9053-9780007317714

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Parris, S. J.
Published by HarperCollins (2011)
ISBN 10: 0007317719 ISBN 13: 9780007317714
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2011. Book Condition: Good. N/A. Ships from the UK. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP56642331

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
0.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.16
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Parris, S. J.
Published by HarperCollins (2011)
ISBN 10: 0007317719 ISBN 13: 9780007317714
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2011. Book Condition: Fair. N/A. Ships from the UK. Former Library book. Shows definite wear, and perhaps considerable marking on inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP79155215

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
0.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.16
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

S. J. Parris
Published by HarperCollins Publishers 2011-03-03 (2011)
ISBN 10: 0007317719 ISBN 13: 9780007317714
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Bookdonors CIC
(GALASHIELS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers 2011-03-03, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. All books are pre-owned and will have been read by someone else before you. They may well show signs of minor wear and tear. Please note, cover images are illustrative only, and the actual book cover and edition can vary. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007317714-21

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
3
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Parris, S. J.
Published by HarperCollins (2011)
ISBN 10: 0007317719 ISBN 13: 9780007317714
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Reuseabook
(Stroud, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2011. Hardcover. Book Condition: Used; Very Good. Dispatched, from the UK, within 48 hours of ordering. Though second-hand, the book is still in very good shape. Minimal signs of usage may include very minor creasing on the cover or on the spine. Bookseller Inventory # CHL1759056

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.20
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Parris, S. J.
Published by HarperCollins (2011)
ISBN 10: 0007317719 ISBN 13: 9780007317714
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revival Books Ltd
(Rossendale, LANCS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2011. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Good condition is defined as: a copy that has been read but remains in clean condition. All of the pages are intact and the cover is intact and the spine may show signs of wear. The book may have minor markings which are not specifically mentioned. Most items will be dispatched the same or the next working day. Bookseller Inventory # mon0005796705

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
0.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.70
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book