Parris, S. J. Heresy

ISBN 13: 9780007317677

Heresy

3.7 avg rating
( 6,644 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780007317677: Heresy

Introducing the monk Giodarno Bruno, magician, scientist, and heretic in a new series of historical thrillers for fans of C.J.Sansom and ‘The Name of the Rose’

England, 1583

A country awash with paranoia and conspiracy – but safe haven for a radical monk on the run. Giordano Bruno, with his theories of astronomy and extraterrestrial life, has fled the Inquisition for the court of Elizabeth I. Here, he attracts the attention of Francis Walsingham, chief spymaster and sworn enemy of Catholic plotters.

Bruno is sent undercover to Oxford, where the university is believed to be a hotbed of French dissent. Bruno quickly finds himself drawn into college intrigues, and distracted by a beautiful young woman. Before long, he is investigating a hideous series of murders, each linked by a letter offering clues. The letters suggest that each victim was guilty of heresy. But is Bruno being aided or misled… or is he himself the next target? For even if the wise cannot always tell truth from heresy, someone is prepared to kill for it.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

‘Heresy has everything – intrigue, mystery, excellent history and haunting sense of place. The beginning of a wonderful new detective series’ Kate Mosse

‘Fascinating … The period is incredibly vivid and the story utterly gripping’ Conn Iggulden (bestselling author of Bones of the Hills and The Dangerous Book for Boys)

‘Heresy is a riveting read. Rich in both historical detail and ingenious twists, S J Parris has created a character in Giordano Bruno that will endure. A true rival to C J Sansom’ Sam Bourne (bestselling author of The Righteous Men)

‘Heresy is a must-read for every fan of historical thrillers. S. J. Parris transports the reader back to an extraordinary time in history by mobilizing fascinating details, suspense, and fully-drawn characters. Giordano Bruno turns out to be that rare hero, charismatic and nuanced enough to impel an encore, and to leave us asking for more from the gifted Parris’ Matthew Pearl (author of The Dante Club)

'Parris paces her yarn perfectly' Daily Telegraph

'An atmospheric and well-written historical thriller' Guardian

'Parris succeeds where much historical fiction fails' Observer

'The places and people are vividly described with a merciful absence of period language, and the solution to this exciting, well-written tale comes as a real surprise' Literary Review

About the Author:

S.J. Parris is the pseudonym of Stephanie Merritt. Born in Surrey in 1974, she has written for a variety of newspapers and magazines and is currently Deputy Literary Editor and comedy critic of the Observer.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Parris, S. J.
Published by HarperCollins (2010)
ISBN 10: 0007317670 ISBN 13: 9780007317677
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Chapel Street Books
(Petersfield, HANTS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. This is a straightforward secondhand paperback copy, in good readable condition, No significant flaws We sell high quality books at reasonable prices, shipped regularly from the UK. We are part of the Petersfield Bookshop who are members of the ABA, ILAB and PBFA. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000007275

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
0.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Parris, S. J.
Published by HarperCollins
ISBN 10: 0007317670 ISBN 13: 9780007317677
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Free State Books
(Halethorpe, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Book shows minor use. Cover and Binding have minimal wear, and the pages have only minimal creases. Bookseller Inventory # G0007317670I3N10

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
7.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Parris, S. J.
Published by HarperCollins
ISBN 10: 0007317670 ISBN 13: 9780007317677
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Motor City Books
(Brownstown, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins. Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. Book has appearance of only minimal use. All pages are undamaged with no significant creases or tears. Bookseller Inventory # G0007317670I4N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
7.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Parris, S. J.
Published by HarperCollins
ISBN 10: 0007317670 ISBN 13: 9780007317677
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Silver Arch Books
(St Louis, MO, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Book has a small amount of wear visible on the binding, cover, pages. Bookseller Inventory # G0007317670I3N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
7.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Parris, S. J.
Published by HarperCollins (2010)
ISBN 10: 0007317670 ISBN 13: 9780007317677
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
FEXL - Books Division
(Bedford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: Acceptable. This book may include some defects such moderate highlighting and notes. Cover and some pages may be creased and show discolouration. Ex-library. However the book is still readable. we ship books from UK within 1 working day. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000478843

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
12.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds