Parris, S. J. Heresy

ISBN 13: 9780007317660

Heresy

3.7 avg rating
( 6,448 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780007317660: Heresy

Introducing the monk Giodarno Bruno, magician, scientist, and heretic in a new series of historical thrillers for fans of C.J.Sansom and ‘The Name of the Rose’

England, 1583

A country awash with paranoia and conspiracy – but a safe haven for a radical monk on the run. Giordano Bruno, with his theories of astronomy and extraterrestrial life, has fled the Inquisition for the court of Elizabeth I. Here, he attracts the attention of Francis Walsingham, chief spymaster and sworn enemy of Catholic plotters.

Bruno is sent undercover to Oxford, where the university is believed to be a hotbed of French dissent. Bruno quickly finds himself drawn into college intrigues, and distracted by a beautiful young woman. Before long, he is investigating a hideous series of murders, each linked by a letter offering clues. The letters suggest that each victim was guilty of heresy. But is Bruno being aided or misled - or is he himself the next target? Stalking a cunning and determined killer through the shadowy cloisters of Oxford, Bruno realizes that even the wise cannot always tell truth from heresy. But some are prepared to kill for it…

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

‘Heresy has everything – intrigue, mystery, excellent history and haunting sense of place. The beginning of a wonderful new detective series’ Kate Mosse

‘Fascinating … The period is incredibly vivid and the story utterly gripping’ Conn Iggulden (bestselling author of Bones of the Hills and The Dangerous Book for Boys)

‘Heresy is a riveting read. Rich in both historical detail and ingenious twists, S J Parris has created a character in Giordano Bruno that will endure. A true rival to C J Sansom’ Sam Bourne (bestselling author of The Righteous Men)

‘Heresy is a must-read for every fan of historical thrillers. S. J. Parris transports the reader back to an extraordinary time in history by mobilizing fascinating details, suspense, and fully-drawn characters. Giordano Bruno turns out to be that rare hero, charismatic and nuanced enough to impel an encore, and to leave us asking for more from the gifted Parris’ Matthew Pearl (author of The Dante Club)

'Parris paces her yarn perfectly' Daily Telegraph

'An atmospheric and well-written historical thriller' Guardian

'Parris succeeds where much historical fiction fails' Observer

'The places and people are vividly described with a merciful absence of period language, and the solution to this exciting, well-written tale comes as a real surprise' Literary Review

About the Author:

S.J. Parris is the pseudonym of Stephanie Merritt. Born in Surrey in 1974, she has written for a variety of newspapers and magazines and is currently Deputy Literary Editor and comedy critic of the Observer.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book

Shipping: 17.20
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Parris, S. J.
Published by HARPER COLLINS, LONDON, UK (2009)
ISBN 10: 0007317662 ISBN 13: 9780007317660
New Soft cover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Long Acre Books
(Stevenage, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER COLLINS, LONDON, UK, 2009. Soft cover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. A NICE CLEAN AND TIGHT UK FIRST EDITION FIRST PRINT UNCORRECTED PROOF COPY OF HERESY BY S.J.PARRIS,WHICH HAS BEEN SIGNED AND LINED TO THE TITLE PAGE THIS BOOK ALSO COMES WITH A HERESY POSTCARD. ALL BOOKS DESPATCHED WRAPPED IN BUBBLE WRAP AND A STRONG CARDBOARD BOX. Signed by Author(s). Bookseller Inventory # 001209

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
44.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 17.20
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds