Fiction Modern 1st S. J. Parris Heresy

ISBN 13: 9780007317660

Heresy

3.71 avg rating
( 6,839 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007317660: Heresy

Introducing the monk Giodarno Bruno, magician, scientist, and heretic in a new series of historical thrillers for fans of C.J.Sansom and ‘The Name of the Rose’

In Elizabeth’s England, true faith can mean bloody murder...

Oxford, 1583. A place of learning. And murderous schemes.

The country is rife with plots to assassinate Queen Elizabeth and return the realm to the Catholic faith. Giordano Bruno is recruited by the queen’s spymaster and sent undercover to expose a treacherous conspiracy in Oxford – but his own secret mission must remain hidden at all costs.

A spy under orders. A coveted throne under threat.

When a series of hideous murders ruptures close-knit college life, Bruno is compelled to investigate. And what he finds makes it brutally clear that the Tudor throne itself is at stake...

Heretic, maverick, charmer: Giordano Bruno is always on his guard. Never more so than when working for Queen Elizabeth and her spymaster – for this man of letters is now an agent of intrigue and danger.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

‘Heresy has everything – intrigue, mystery, excellent history and haunting sense of place. The beginning of a wonderful new detective series’ Kate Mosse

‘Fascinating ... The period is incredibly vivid and the story utterly gripping’ Conn Iggulden (bestselling author of Bones of the Hills and The Dangerous Book for Boys)

‘Heresy is a riveting read. Rich in both historical detail and ingenious twists, S J Parris has created a character in Giordano Bruno that will endure. A true rival to C J Sansom’ Sam Bourne (bestselling author of The Righteous Men)

‘Heresy is a must-read for every fan of historical thrillers. S. J. Parris transports the reader back to an extraordinary time in history by mobilizing fascinating details, suspense, and fully-drawn characters. Giordano Bruno turns out to be that rare hero, charismatic and nuanced enough to impel an encore, and to leave us asking for more from the gifted Parris’ Matthew Pearl (author of The Dante Club)

'Parris paces her yarn perfectly' Daily Telegraph

'An atmospheric and well-written historical thriller' Guardian

'Parris succeeds where much historical fiction fails' Observer

'The places and people are vividly described with a merciful absence of period language, and the solution to this exciting, well-written tale comes as a real surprise' Literary Review

About the Author:

No. 1 Sunday Times bestseller S. J. Parris is the pseudonym of the author and journalist Stephanie Merritt. It was as a student at Cambridge researching a paper on the period that Stephanie first became fascinated by the rich history of Tudor England and Renaissance Europe. Since then, her interest has grown and led her to create this series of historical thrillers featuring Giordano Bruno.

Stephanie has worked as a critic and feature writer for a variety of newspapers and magazines, as well as radio and television. She currently writes for the Observer and the Guardian, and lives in Surrey with her son.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book

Shipping: 17.20
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

S. J. PARRIS (SIGNED AND LINED PLUS POSTCARD)
Published by HARPER COLLINS, LONDON, UK (2009)
ISBN 10: 0007317662 ISBN 13: 9780007317660
New Soft cover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Long Acre Books
(Stevenage, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER COLLINS, LONDON, UK, 2009. Soft cover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. A NICE CLEAN AND TIGHT UK FIRST EDITION FIRST PRINT UNCORRECTED PROOF COPY OF HERESY BY S.J.PARRIS,WHICH HAS BEEN SIGNED AND LINED TO THE TITLE PAGE THIS BOOK ALSO COMES WITH A HERESY POSTCARD. ALL BOOKS DESPATCHED WRAPPED IN BUBBLE WRAP AND A STRONG CARDBOARD BOX. Signed by Author(s). Bookseller Inventory # 001209

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
44.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 17.20
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds