Parris, S. J. Heresy

ISBN 13: 9780007317639

Heresy

 
9780007317639: Heresy

Introducing the monk Giordano Bruno, magician, scientist, and heretic in a new series of historical thrillers for fans of C.J.Sansom and ‘The Name of the Rose’

In Elizabeth’s England, true faith can mean bloody murder…

OXFORD, 1583. A PLACE OF LEARNING.
AND MURDEROUS SCHEMES.

England is rife with plots to assassinate Queen Elizabeth and return the country to the Catholic faith. Defending the realm through his network of agents, the Queen’s spymaster Sir Francis Walsingham works tirelessly to hunt down all traitors.

His latest recruit is Giordano Bruno, a radical thinker fleeing the Inquisition, who is sent undercover to Oxford to expose a Catholic conspiracy. But he has his own secret mission at the University – one that must remain hidden at all costs.

When a series of hideous murders ruptures close-knit college life, Bruno is compelled to investigate. And what he finds makes it brutally clear that the Tudor throne itself is at stake…

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

‘Heresy has everything – intrigue, mystery, excellent history and haunting sense of place. The beginning of a wonderful new detective series’ Kate Mosse

‘Fascinating … The period is incredibly vivid and the story utterly gripping’ Conn Iggulden (bestselling author of Bones of the Hills and The Dangerous Book for Boys)

‘Heresy is a riveting read. Rich in both historical detail and ingenious twists, S J Parris has created a character in Giordano Bruno that will endure. A true rival to C J Sansom’ Sam Bourne (bestselling author of The Righteous Men)

‘Heresy is a must-read for every fan of historical thrillers. S. J. Parris transports the reader back to an extraordinary time in history by mobilizing fascinating details, suspense, and fully-drawn characters. Giordano Bruno turns out to be that rare hero, charismatic and nuanced enough to impel an encore, and to leave us asking for more from the gifted Parris’ Matthew Pearl (author of The Dante Club)

'Parris paces her yarn perfectly' Daily Telegraph

'An atmospheric and well-written historical thriller' Guardian

'Parris succeeds where much historical fiction fails' Observer

'The places and people are vividly described with a merciful absence of period language, and the solution to this exciting, well-written tale comes as a real surprise' Literary Review

About the Author:

S.J. Parris is the pseudonym of Stephanie Merritt. Born in Surrey in 1974, she has worked as a critic and feature writer for a variety of newspapers and magazines as well as radio and television. She currently writes for the Observer.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Parris, S. J.
Published by Harper (2011)
ISBN 10: 0007317638 ISBN 13: 9780007317639
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Bookbarn International
(Bristol, SOM, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Sent from the UK within 24 hours. EXPEDITED UK DELIVERY AVAILABLE. Bookseller Inventory # BBI2276552

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.59
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Parris, S. J.
ISBN 10: 0007317638 ISBN 13: 9780007317639
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
PreLoved ltd
(AYLESBURY, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Bookseller Inventory # PL01434539B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
0.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.12
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Parris, S. J.
Published by Harper, U.S.A. (2011)
ISBN 10: 0007317638 ISBN 13: 9780007317639
Used Soft cover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Brown's Books
(burnaby, BC, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, U.S.A., 2011. Soft cover. Book Condition: Good. mass market paperback, good reading copy. Bookseller Inventory # 174441

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
4.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Parris, S. J.
ISBN 10: 0007317638 ISBN 13: 9780007317639
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
medimops
(Berlin, Germany)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: good. 259 Gramm. Bookseller Inventory # M00007317638-G

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
3.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.92
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Parris, S. J.
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0007317638 ISBN 13: 9780007317639
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Hippo Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Paperback. Book Condition: VERY GOOD. Cover and pages show some wear from reading and storage. May have light creases on the cover and binding. Some pages may contain writing and or highlighting. Bookseller Inventory # 2681831187

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
166.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds