Mercer, Patrick Dust and Steel

ISBN 13: 9780007302734

Dust and Steel

 
9780007302734: Dust and Steel

Thrilling military history from the author of To Do and Die. Perfect for fans of Andy McNabb and Richard Sharpe.

As the ship docked in Bombay, the shocking news of the rising by the Indian mutineers and their massacre of women, children and civilians reached Anthony Morgan and his company. Even so, they were hardly prepared for what they now faced in this country, so unknown to them, where they found it hard to understand who was friend or foe among the native troops.

Morgan himself has another quest. On discovering that the son he had fathered, his child's mother and her husband, Morgan's old sergeant, are captives up in the hills where the enterprising Rhani of Jansi is building up her force against old comers, he is determined to find a way to rescue them and lead them to safety.

A gripping tale of one of the great challenges to the Victorian Empire, and the difficult dilemmas of a soldier torn between orders and honor.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Praise for To Do and Die:

'A finely-drawn depiction of battle and the camaraderie of war' Daily Mail

‘Mercer's prose is muscular yet silky smooth . His depiction of the experience of battle is unsurpassed’
Saul David, author of Zulu Dawn

About the Author:

Born in 1956, Patrick Mercer read History at Oxford University before joining the Army. He commanded his battalion in Bosnia and Canada. Previously receiving a gallantry commendation, he was awarded the OBE in 1997. In 1999, Patrick Mercer accepted a post as the Defence Reporter for the Today Programme. In the 2001 election, he won the Tory seat in Newark. A respected historian, he has already published a non-fiction account of the Inkerman battle during the Crimean War.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Mercer, Patrick
Published by HarperCollins (2010)
ISBN 10: 0007302738 ISBN 13: 9780007302734
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
PAGETURNERS
(Lampeter, CERED, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. Very Good condition with no significant faults. Clearly used but very few minor defects. Will look good on your bookcase after reading but may not be suitable as a present unless hard to find elsewhere ALL ITEMS POSTED NEXT WORKING DAY. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000791966

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
0.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Mercer, Patrick
Published by UK General Books
ISBN 10: 0007302738 ISBN 13: 9780007302734
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Green Earth Books
(Portland, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description UK General Books. Paperback. Book Condition: Fair. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Bookseller Inventory # G0007302738I5N10

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
3.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Mercer, Patrick
ISBN 10: 0007302738 ISBN 13: 9780007302734
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged. Bookseller Inventory # GOR004213565

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
1.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.89
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Mercer, Patrick
ISBN 10: 0007302738 ISBN 13: 9780007302734
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Golden Bridge Books
(Ottawa, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: Used: Like New. Very lightly used, looks like new, tight with clean unmarked pages. Quality Books. Because We Care - Shipped from Canada. Usually ships within 1-2 business days. If you buy this book from us, we will donate a book to a local school. We donate 10,000+ books to local schools every year. If there are any problems, pleases ask us to resolve it amicably before leaving any feedback. Bookseller Inventory # R26268S

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
8.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 16.27
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Mercer, Patrick
Published by HarperCollins (2010)
ISBN 10: 0007302738 ISBN 13: 9780007302734
Used Soft cover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
SNOOKS BOOKS
(Banora Point, NSW, Australia)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2010. Soft cover. Book Condition: As New. Dust Jacket Condition: Very Good. 8vo - over 7¾ - 9¾" tall. "A tremendous achievement by a storyteller who knows the humour, the fear and the frenzy of men in battle" Clean intact book. Very Slight corner damage. All Orders Appreciated and dispatched within 48hrs. Bookseller Inventory # 000364

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
3.28
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 24.47
From Australia to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds