Dirty Little Secret

3.79 avg rating
( 91 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007300754: Dirty Little Secret

The final book in an espionage trilogy that has been called "as elegant as le Carré and as cynical as the twenty-first century" (Lee Child)

The "special relationship" between London and Washington is in tatters. Salim Dhar, the world's most wanted terrorist, has disappeared after an audacious attack on an American target in the United Kingdom. The CIA believes Daniel Marchant, renegade MI6 officer, was involved. But Marchant has a bigger secret: Dhar has agreed to work for MI6, promising to protect Britain from future terrorist atrocities. He has also asked for something in return: Marchant must help him with a final strike against America. Will the UK sign up to this Faustian pact or hunt them both down?

In Dirty Little Secret, a high-octane finale to a trilogy that will appeal to fans of Alex Berenson and Olen Steinhauer, Marchant wrestles with his conscience and the question: Does loyalty to one's country come above all else, whatever the price?

"Twisty and relentless. Stock has brought the literary spy novel into the twenty-first century." ―Portsmouth Herald

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

JON STOCK, a former Delhi correspondent for the London Daily Telegraph, writes a column for The Week magazine in India, and has contributed to BBC Radio 4. He is the author of Dead Spy Running as well as two previous novels. He lives in Wiltshire, UK.

From Booklist:

MI-6 operative Daniel Marchant has convinced the world’s most-wanted terrorist, his half-brother, Salim Dhar, to help protect Britain from future terrorist attacks. But Marchant clinched the deal in a Russian fighter while Dhar was shooting down a U.S. plane at a British air show. The CIA, which had already renditioned and water boarded Marchant in a black jail (Dead Spy Running, 2010), is after him again. Marcus Fielding, head of MI-6, is also on the run. The Yanks believe that Marcus is a Russian mole, although Fielding and Marchant believe the real mole is Fielding’s ambitious deputy, Ian Denton, who owes his ascension to a bull-in-a-china-shop CIA thug. Stock’s Marchant trilogy started strongly but lost momentum in Games Traitors Play (2012). Despite some very interesting bits about spooks using supermarket barcodes to pass on intel and the claim that Bush-era “enhanced interrogation techniques” are essentially still in use, this one is a bit disappointing. Too much going on; not enough narrative focus. --Thomas Gaughan

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Jon Stock
Published by Blue Door 05/07/2012 (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007300751 ISBN 13: 9780007300754
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Bahamut Media
(Reading, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Blue Door 05/07/2012, 2012. Book Condition: Good. Shipped within 24 hours from our UK warehouse. Clean, undamaged book with no damage to pages and minimal wear to the cover. Spine still tight, in good condition. Remember if you are not happy, you are covered by our 100% money back guarantee. Bookseller Inventory # 2341-9780007300754

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
0.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.79
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Jon Stock
ISBN 10: 0007300751 ISBN 13: 9780007300754
Used Quantity Available: 8
Seller
*BIG BANG BOOKS*
(Durham, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bookseller Inventory # SKU-2974848

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Jon Stock
ISBN 10: 0007300751 ISBN 13: 9780007300754
Used Quantity Available: 8
Seller
MegaBooksUK
(Wolsingham, A, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bookseller Inventory # SKU-2974848

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Jon Stock
ISBN 10: 0007300751 ISBN 13: 9780007300754
Used Quantity Available: 8
Seller
JULIES BOOKSHOP
(Consett, CO D, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bookseller Inventory # SKU-2974848

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Jon Stock
Published by Blue Door 05/07/2012 (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007300751 ISBN 13: 9780007300754
Used Quantity Available: 4
Seller
Fun_Meister
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Blue Door 05/07/2012, 2012. Book Condition: Good. Will be shipped promptly from UK warehouse. Book is in good condition with no missing pages, no damage or soiling and tight spine. There may be some dog-eared pages showing previous use but overall a great book. Bookseller Inventory # 9053-9780007300754

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.20
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Jon Stock
Published by Blue Door 05/07/2012 (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007300751 ISBN 13: 9780007300754
Used Quantity Available: 2
Seller
AwesomeBooks
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Blue Door 05/07/2012, 2012. Book Condition: Very Good. This book is in very good condition and will be shipped within 24 hours of ordering. The cover may have some limited signs of wear but the pages are clean, intact and the spine remains undamaged. This book has clearly been well maintained and looked after thus far. Money back guarantee if you are not satisfied. See all our books here, order more than 1 book and get discounted shipping. . Bookseller Inventory # 7719-9780007300754

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.20
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Jon Stock
Published by Blue Door 05/07/2012 (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007300751 ISBN 13: 9780007300754
Used Quantity Available: 2
Seller
AwesomeBooks
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Blue Door 05/07/2012, 2012. Book Condition: Good. This book is in good or better condition. It has no tears to the pages and no pages will be missing from the book. The spine of the book is still in great condition and the front cover is generally unmarked. It has signs of previous use but overall is in really nice, tight condition. Shipping is normally same day from our UK warehouse. We offer a money back guarantee if you are not satisfied. Bookseller Inventory # 9053-9780007300754

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.20
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Jon Stock
Published by Blue Door 05/07/2012 (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007300751 ISBN 13: 9780007300754
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Bahamut Media
(Reading, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Blue Door 05/07/2012, 2012. Book Condition: used-good. Shipped within 24 hours from our UK warehouse. Clean, undamaged book with no damage to pages and minimal wear to the cover. Spine still tight, in very good condition. Remember if you are not happy, you are covered by our 100% money back guarantee. Bookseller Inventory # 6545-9780007300754

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.79
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Stock, Jon
Published by Blue Door (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007300751 ISBN 13: 9780007300754
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Bookshop
(Wigtown, Scotland, D&G, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Blue Door, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: Very Good. Ships from our shop in Wigtown, Scotland's National Book Town. We are open from 9 - 5, Monday to Saturday, all year round - come and visit! A personal and efficient service from a traditional bookshop located in Wigtown, South West Scotland. Thank you for your order!. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000024653

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
8
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8.86
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Stock, Jon
Published by Blue Door 2012 (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007300751 ISBN 13: 9780007300754
Used Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Mystery Mike's
(Carmel, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Blue Door 2012, 2012. Book Condition: Fine. Dust Jacket Condition: Fine. Fine in Fine dj, UK First Edition, First Printing Hardcover Protected in clear Mylar cover. Bubble wrapped and shipped in a box. We do not stock or sell ex-library or Book Club editions. Bookseller Inventory # 58070

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
22.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.81
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book