A Corpse in Shining Armour

ISBN 13: 9780007283484

A Corpse in Shining Armour

3.66 avg rating
( 187 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007283484: A Corpse in Shining Armour

Duelling, derring-do, and dastardly deeds are all in a day's work for Liberty Lane: the plucky heroine for fans of Matthew Hawkwood and Sarah Waters's Victorian novels. London. Summer 1839. And the temperature is rising as Liberty Lane takes on her strangest case yet. Deranged aristocrat Lord Brinkburn is nearing death and his elder son, Stephen, is expecting to inherit the title. But Lady Brinkburn's sudden announcement that Stephen is illegitimate throws the family into turmoil. Tensions reach boiling point between the two brothers, one of whom stands to gain everything, and they come to blows in public - much to the amusement of London Society. Liberty is engaged privately to get to the truth of the matter, but a macabre murder raises the stakes considerably!added to which she finds her own judgement being undermined by the beguiling ways of Lady Brinkburn. She is only too aware that time is running out - one of the brothers may be next, but which will it be!?

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Praise for 'A Corpse in Shining Armour': 'I would recommend this novel for anyone who wants to read a good mystery' Woman's Own Praise for Caro Peacock: 'Great period detail and heaps of energy! feisty' Daily Mirror 'Echoes of Georgette Heyer! well-crafted! an enjoyable romp' She 'Good old-fashioned adventure! romps along at a fine pace!a thrilling murder-mystery' Easy Living 'Some well-described set pieces temper the breakneck pace of the action, and the ending is as satisfying as one could wish' The Times 'Light, easy reading for anyone who enjoys a bit of Victorian mystery' Observer 'An enjoyable historical novel' Woman's Day 'Fast-paced and lively! this historical drama will keep you intrigued -- definitely hard to put down!' My Weekly

About the Author:

Caro Peacock grew up in a farmhouse that, for most of her childhood, contained half a dozen brothers, sisters and cousins, twice as many cats and dogs, no central heating and one bathroom that stopped working every time the spring that supplied it silted up. This possibly bred the habit of curling up in a quiet place with a book and, later, a passion for travel that led to a rather disrupted education. Somewhere along the line, she acquired a great interest in Victorian history -- which she considers a much misunderstood period -- and particularly the part played in it by independently-minded women. Caro rides horses, climbs, trampolines and spends some time every year studying wild flowers in the Alps.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

(No Available Copies)

Search Books:



Create a Want

If you know the book but cannot find it on AbeBooks, we can automatically search for it on your behalf as new inventory is added. If it is added to AbeBooks by one of our member booksellers, we will notify you!

Create a Want