Mills, Mark House of the Hanged

ISBN 13: 9780007276899

House of the Hanged

3.45 avg rating
( 565 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780007276899: House of the Hanged

From the No. 1 bestseller and author of Richard & Judy pick The Savage Garden: a riveting tale of passion and murder set on the French Riviera in the 1930s for fans of Carlos Ruiz Zafon and Jed Rubenfeld

France, 1935: At the poor man’s end of the Riviera sits Le Rayol, a haven for artists, expatriates and refugees. Here, a world away from the rumblings of a continent heading towards war, Tom Nash has rebuilt his life after a turbulent career in the Secret Intelligence Service.

His past, though, is less willing to leave him behind. When a midnight intruder tries to kill him, Tom knows it is just a matter of time before another assassination attempt is made.

Gathered at Le Rayol for the summer months are all those he holds most dear, including his beloved goddaughter Lucy. Reluctantly, Tom comes to believe that one of them must have betrayed him. If he is to live, Tom must draw his enemy out, but at what cost to himself and the people he loves…?

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

‘Mills has once again delivered an evocatively well-written and researched mystery which ticks all the suspense boxes’ Daily Mail

‘[A] mesmerising new novel … his best work in an already accomplished career’ Barry Forshaw, Independent

‘Mark Mills writes beautifully … very enjoyable’ Literary Review

‘An absorbing thriller and atmospheric plot twister’ Woman & Home

‘A sumptuously stylish mystery’ Easy Living

‘A riveting, creepy tale’ City A.M

'Outstandingly good … beautifully written, cleverly plotted and highly recommended' Literary Review on The Information Officer

'A forgotten corner of World War II rediscovered and expertly revealed to us. Fascinating and shrewdly compelling – Mark Mills does it again' William Boyd on The Information Officer

'A compelling, vividly rendered slow burn of a book which culminates in an electrifying climax' Guardian on The Information Officer

'An intriguing puzzle, elegantly written…a pleasure to read…beautifully captured' Sunday Telegraph on The Savage Garden

About the Author:

Mark Mills graduated from Cambridge University in 1986. He has lived in both Italy and France, and has written for the screen. His first novel, The Whaleboat House, won the 2004 Crime Writers’ Association Award for Best Novel by a debut author. His second, The Savage Garden, received stunning reviews and was a No. 1 bestseller. His third, The Information Officer, was shortlisted for the 2009 CWA Ellis Peters Historical Award. He lives in Oxford with his wife and two children.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Mills, Mark
Published by HarperCollins (2011)
ISBN 10: 0007276893 ISBN 13: 9780007276899
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2011. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0007276893

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
2,246.93
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.22
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds