Benjamin Mee We Bought a Zoo

ISBN 13: 9780007274864

We Bought a Zoo

3.47 avg rating
( 5,565 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007274864: We Bought a Zoo

‘Chuck it all in and buy a zoo? Why not?’ Thought Benjamin Mee, unaware of the grim living conditions, creditors and escaped big cat that lay in wait...

A few years ago, Ben and his wife, Katherine, sold their small flat in Primrose Hill and moved to France to pursue their dream of restoring an old barn near Nimes.

That dream then became much, much bigger for, last October, they moved with their two young children, Ben’s 76-year-old mother and his brother, into a dilapidated zoo on the edge of Dartmoor which they had bought, and found themselves responsible for 200 animals including four huge tigers, lions, pumas, three massive bears, a tapir and a wolf pack.

Ben's new extended family now included: Solomon, an African lion and scourge of the local golf course; Zak, the rickety Alpha wolf, a broadly benevolent dictator clinging to power; Ronnie, a Brazilian tapir, easily capable of killing a man, but hopelessly soppy; and Sovereign, a jaguar who is also a would-be ninja, and has devised a long term escape plan and implemented it.

But tragedy struck when Katherine, who had had a vicious brain tuumor removed when they were living in France, began to experience symptoms again. The prognosis was poor, and so Ben found himself juggling the complexities of managing the zoo and getting it ready for re-opening, and at the same time having to care for his rapidly deteriorating wife, their two young children, and their ever growing menagerie of animals.

Ben's story will both move and entertain – charting, simultaneously, the family's attempts to improve the animals’ lives, the build-up to the Zoo’s official reopening, as well as Katherine’s decline, her final days, and how the family went on.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

We Bought a Zoo In the tradition of "Marley & Me" comes an unforgettable memoir about the mysteries of the animal kingdom, the power of family, and the triumph of hope over tragedy in this chronicle of the Mee family's purchase of the Dartmoor Wildlife Park, a dilapidated zoo in the English countryside.Weinstein Books Full description

Review:

An engaging tale from someone who dared to do something different.'
ShortList

'One of the most inspiring books I've read.'
Western Daily Press

'Mee writes movingly about his wife's fatal illness, his children coming to terms with this, his sprightly old mum and, of course, his 200 wild animals in all their diverse glory.'
Daily Mail

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Benjamin MEE
Published by HarperCollins (2008)
ISBN 10: 0007274866 ISBN 13: 9780007274864
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2008. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0007274866

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
35.59
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Benjamin MEE
Published by HarperCollins (2008)
ISBN 10: 0007274866 ISBN 13: 9780007274864
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2008. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0007274866

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
42.19
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds