The Street Philosopher

3.42 avg rating
( 301 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007272433: The Street Philosopher

An elegant, powerful novel, set in Victorian England, a time not so different from our own... perfect for fans of THE INTERPRETATION OF MURDER and THE SHADOW OF THE WIND

Ambitious young journalist Thomas Kitson arrives at the battlefields of the Crimea as the London Courier’s man on the ground. It is a dangerous place, full of the worst horrors of war but Kitson is determined to make his mark. Under the tutelage of his hard-bitten Irish boss Cracknell, and assisted by artist Robert Styles, he sets about exposing the incompetence of the army generals.

Two years later, as Sebastopol burns, Thomas returns to England under mysterious circumstances. Desperate to forget the atrocities of the Crimea, he takes a job as a ‘street philosopher’, a society writer reporting on the gossip of the day. But on the eve of the great Art Treasures Exhibition, as Manchester prepares to welcome Queen Victoria, Thomas’s past returns to haunt him in the most horrifying way...

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

487 pages. Book and Jacket appear to have hardly been read and are both in As new condition throughout. One Hundred And Fifty Years Ago, Britain Was Engaged In A War Unpopular At Home.

Review:

‘A galloping good story’
The Times

‘Lust, avarice, envy, revenge all play their part in this brilliantly told, well-paced story, which also begs the question, so relevant today, of just how close to action journalists and recorders of war should be allowed’
Daily Mail

‘Plampin’s historical research is impressive, as is his command of detail….his true gift of descriptive power’
Independent on Sunday

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Matthew Plampin
Published by HarperCollins (2009)
ISBN 10: 000727243X ISBN 13: 9780007272433
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX000727243X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.12
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Plampin, Matthew
Published by Harpercollins Publishers (2009)
ISBN 10: 000727243X ISBN 13: 9780007272433
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins Publishers, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: Brand New. 496 pages. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # zk000727243X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.87
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Matthew Plampin
Published by Harpercollins (2009)
ISBN 10: 000727243X ISBN 13: 9780007272433
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Zarak Books
(Norwich, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins, 2009. Hard Cover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 8vo - over 7¾" - 9¾" tall. Brand new copy of the novel set during the Crimean War. Bookseller Inventory # 030779

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.25
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Matthew Plampin
Published by HarperCollins (2009)
ISBN 10: 000727243X ISBN 13: 9780007272433
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 000727243X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
17.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Matthew Plampin
Published by HarperCollins (2009)
ISBN 10: 000727243X ISBN 13: 9780007272433
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P11000727243X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
63.38
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.33
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds